O2 XDA mini-S newbie

Guest b6x

Good evening all.

I'm new to this XDA business after recently migrating from an old iPAQ, so please go easy on me. A few teething problems I've been having that I'd appreciate some assistance on...

1) please tell me there's a way to stop that green LED flashing every 5 seconds? It's doing my head in. I wouldn't mind so much if you could trust the LED, however it seems to sometimes flash orange when I dont have messages, and green when I do. And the "no limit" notification option just doesn't work.

2) I've installed the wireless 'g' hack and the XDA connects fine to my "g only" configured router - however the range seems very very poor. (Another room less than 10 metres away and the signal is next to useless). I've slid the slider to "best performance" however that seems, to me, to make very little if any difference.

3) Battery life seems pretty poor. Must admit I was expecting a bit better than 2 days of average use. Can you buy better, higher capacity, batteries for these things?

4) ActiveSync - is it me not looking hard enough, or has Microsoft removed the Backup/Restore function from ActiveSync 4.0?

5) BlueTooth identifcation to other devices - how can I configure that? It seems to have just inherited the first line of my Owner information and is therefore broadcasting my name out to everyone within 10 metres of me.

6) How can I remove the four or five "last used" programs being listed in the Start Menu; just above the "Programs" and "settings" items

I did have a load of issues but thats all I can remember for now. Thanks in advance for any advice you guys can give.

Regards,

b6x

Edited by b6x

Guest zombiefly
5)  Go to Start -> Settings -> About -> Device ID tab

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

on my vario, the id on the device id tab has nothing to do with the bluetooth broadcast name. It uses the first line of the owner information, which is worse than useless