Paul Reviews... The Q-Starz BT-Q810 GPS

Guest PaulOBrien

Guest Paul (MVP)

Introduction

810-boxside.jpg

Regular readers of MoDaCo may know that, prior to working full time on MoDaCo, I worked as a technical lead for a large UK company on a huge Telematics project. For this reason, my interest, nay enthusiasm, nay OBSESSION with GPS goes back a fair few years.

I remember how we discussed GPS and how, in a few years time, it would become a true consumer technology with commoditised hardware.

Well, I think you'll agree that time is now here. With the rise and rise of PND (Portable Navigation Devices), the huge availability of Bluetooth GPS units and the trend towards integration of GPS into mobile devices (which we are just starting to see), GPS will become more and more a part of people's everyday lives.

Selecting a GPS solution to partner your mobile device isn't the easiest task in the world, simply due to the huge amount of devices available with a wide range of prices. Today, i'm reviewing the BT-Q810 GPS from a new player in the market, Q-Starz... and I will be following this review over the coming weeks and months with similar evaluations of hardware from other suppliers.

Buying the Q-Starz BT-Q810

810-boxfront.jpg

810-bits.jpg

In the UK, the appointed reseller for the device is TechGlobe, however the device is yet to be listed on their site.

In the USA, the Q-Starz BT-Q810 is resold by Semsonsas the i-Blue 737, retailing at $89.99 at time of writing including a free vent mount - more details. Semsons ship worldwide, and come highly recommended.

Unboxing the Q-Starz BT-Q810

The GPS unit ships in a smart, compact box proudly displaying the device through a clear window, and emblazoned with the various features of the unit :)

Included in the box you will find...

• the GPS unit itself
  • a wall charger
  • a car charger
  • a 1000mAh lithium ion battery
  • a warranty card
  • a quick installation guide sheet (PDF version)