3 and T-Mobile Network Sharing Deal

Guest battletank

Guest battletank

I've just seen that 3 and T-Mobile have today announced that they will share their 3G network in the UK. (see here)

The impact of this for a customer is quite exciting - a much better network, and presumably much faster growing. It'll be interesting to see if and how Vodafone and O2 respond.

Guest Paul (MVP)

I would love to see all the networks sharing all their towers, less towers, better coverage for everyone... Do networks really need to differentiate on coverage nowadays rather than features, pricing etc?

P

• 2 weeks later...
Guest humph12345

I am an Engineer working in the Industry and this deal throws up several problems.

The first being compatability of equipment, 3 use Nokia in the north and NEC in the south. T-mobile use Nokia. None of these vendors can deal with the frequencys allocated to both operators. Most equipment can only handle 2 frequencies at the moment.

Second, T-mobiles 2G network is mainly in the same cabins as their 3G network, these sites wil have to remain, so the only sites to go will be 3's. Also where both operators are already on the same site, the lanlord is likely to stick out for a larger rent when going from 2 to 1 cabin.

Third, most sites are leased on a minimum 10 year contract, if you wish to close a site and it has 4 years to run, then you will have to buy out the remaining years, so the only savings will be in power and the like.

At the end of the day, there are plenty of stumbling block. Just look at the agreement between Vodafone and Orange, this has come to a grinding halt over the fine print.

It will be good for the vendors who will have to supply new equipment to allow this to go ahead, my money is on Ericsson winning that work. It will be good for the Operators profits, but I doubt it will be good for the customer.

Guest humph12345

Coverage is no longer the issue really, but capacity.