Build-in SiRF III GPS receiver for Blackjack II

Guest Wizkid69

Guest Wizkid69

I'm still a newbie to my Blackjack handheld.

Can somebody clarify me that Blackjack II does not have a Build-in SiRF III GPS receiver?

I read the article from here:

http://www.intomobile.com/2007/11/26/unloc...of-telenav.html

First I thought my device has a GPS recievier, but when I was talking to Samsung Tech support level III (for my ActiveSyn connection issue). I asked him about this and he said there is no GPS hardware embeded inside the Blackjack phone. You will need to get an external GPS receiver to work with the map software in your phone.

So if that's the case, Paul's hack article on http://www.modaco.com/content/Smartphone-S...-GPS-ACTIVATED/

Would be just be the "soft" fixed at the API level to open up the COM port for communicating with an external GPS device?

Guest JDMinPDX

Can somebody clarify me that Blackjack II does not have a Build-in SiRF III GPS receiver?

First I thought my device has a GPS recievier, but when I was talking to Samsung Tech support level III (for my ActiveSyn connection issue). I asked him about this and he said there is no GPS hardware embeded inside the Blackjack phone. You will need to get an external GPS receiver to work with the map software in your phone.

So if that's the case, Paul's hack article on http://www.modaco.com/content/Smartphone-S...-GPS-ACTIVATED/

Would be just be the "soft" fixed at the API level to open up the COM port for communicating with an external GPS device?

IT DOES. Whoever you talked to over at Samsung is a moron. The BJ I doesnt have GPS. The II, does. Not sure why someone who works for the phone manufacturer would tell you that.

Edited by JDMinPDX

Guest Wizkid69
Go outside in a clear area and run GPS Test. It can take anywhere between 2 and 10 minutes to obtain a signal.

VERY COOL!

I got it to work after I left the GPSTest running in my car for about 15 minutes.

Google Maps is working now with GPS.