gwes.exe using lots of CPU

Guest Weesals

Guest Weesals

I'm getting very frustrated with my Omnia wasting 40% of my CPU whenever I touch the touchscreen, my old iPaq 2210 never lagged at all when using the touch screen. So after searching for most of today, I found this site claiming to be able to significantly lower the CPU usage for another device

http://eten-users.eu/index.php?showtopic=14129

Except I'm not very experienced with these hacks, has anyone tried it on the Omnia? If I try it, could it break my Omnia? Or has anyone else found another way to stop it using so much CPU?

It makes almost all games unplayable and even lags out most of the stock Samsung programs (when scrolling, it goes slow and jumpy until you let go and let it slide on its own)

If anyone reading this has upgraded to Windows Mobile 6.5, could you post if it fixed the lag for you? I dont really want to risk flashing, but if it will fix this, I probably will

Thanks

Guest Weesals

"Gwes is the Graphical Windowing and Event Subsystem. It’s one little program that draws all the controls on the device like scrollbars, buttons, and checkboxes. It also handles passing window messages back and forth between applications and manages the WndProcs of all of the programs on the device that are displaying UI." http://blogs.msdn.com/windowsmobile/archiv...pologizing.aspx

If youve got the Program "Task Manager", run that and go Menu->View->Processes and it should come up in the list. Hold your finger on the screen anywhere for a while (it only updates every 5 seconds) and you should see gwes.exe jump up to 40%

Or run an intensive game and push down on the touchscreen while playing