Am I really getting HSDPA on my T-Mobile Pulse?

Guest jrec

Hi there,

I'm a relative Android Newbie, though used WinMo/PPC for almost ten years. Have got to grips with my contract Pulse (Web and Walk Plus, 3GB allowance, stock 1.5 ROM) and have managed to iron out most problems. However, I have deep suspicions on the speeds I'm getting from T-Mobile and the network protocols being used.

I sit next to a colleague at work who bought a Samsung Galaxy Portal (also Android 1.5) from T-Mobile at the same time I got my Pulse. Same WnW Plus tariff. He routinely gets an H appearing as his connected network, but my Pulse stays resolutely on 3G. For a while, and researching on this forum, I thought it was just a foible of the Pulse that it just didn't acknowledge an HSDPA connection but that it was connecting at the higher speed when it could. But using Xtremelabs speedtest from the market it's clear that I'm getting basic 3G speeds (approx 320kbps downlink, c180kbps uplink) whereas he is getting (albeit slow) HSPDA speeds (c800+ downlink), but definitely faster than 3G. Out of the city centre he's up into the Mbit range whereas I remain at c320kbps whereever I have 3G coverage. And it always just says 3G.

I called 150 for the normal script-based complete lack of help. However, as I'm WnW Plus I should have HSDPA on my tariff. I certainly have the 3GB allowance. So, questions:

1. Is there something wrong in the internal Pulse settings? On paper its hardware is faster than the Portal (7.2Mbps for the Pulse vs. 3.6Mbps for the Samsung). But H never shows and speedtest is stuck at 3G speeds

2. Despite WnW+ being on my contract account, should I keep at Customer Service to enable something, even though they claim I'm on right settings for HSDPA?

3. Does a custom ROM make any difference?

Whatever, it's certainly disappointing to be surfing at not vastly dissimilar speeds to my old EDGE WinMo connection on Vodafone.

Any and all expertise/alternate experiences appreciated!