MoDaCo is undergoing planned maintenance. Site functionality may be reduced - follow @modaco or @paulobrien on Twitter for updates.

  • Announcements

    • Reminder - MoDaCo position on illegal content

      ILLEGAL CONTENT I'd like to just reaffirm MoDaCo's position regarding piracy and illegal content in the light of some recent questions / postings. Posts will be censored by myself or my moderation team if the contain or link to: Illegal / pirated / cracked software or sites that host such software
      Nintendo emulators / ROMs or sites hosting them (in light of Nintendo's legal stance)


      CUSTOM ROMS

      You may discuss and post links to custom device ROMs on MoDaCo, provided the following rules are adhered to: ROMs must not be hosted directly in topic via the MoDaCo attachment system
      ROMs must not contain any illegal 3rd party software (this includes trial versions included without permission)
      ROMs must give full credit to the original author
      This decision has been taken in light of the huge amount of interest in this area of device customisation within the community, and member feedback! Please note that custom ROM discussion should be kept in specific device sub-areas, (e.g. Kaiser.MoDaCo.com for Kaiser based devices). ISSUES If you have any issues with this policy, please contact me directly via PM. P
    • Support MoDaCo by signing up to a MoDaCo Silver or Gold membership

      To sign up to an annual MoDaCo Silver subscription which will eliminate all ads from the site (as well as giving you access to the MoDaCo Online Kitchens for Android) for only £9.99 using PayPal, Credit or Debit Card, ensure you are logged in to the site, and then click the link below, which will take you directly to the subscription store! You can also sign up to an annual MoDaCo Gold subscription for £29.99, which adds the benefits listed below! PURCHASE A MODACO SUBSCRIPTION - FREE Titanium Backup Mobile for Android worth $5.99! - FREE 1 year PrivateInternetAccess.com worth $39.95! - FREE 1 year LastPass Premium worth $12! - FREE CalcConvert for Pocket PC from Binaryfish worth $17.95! - FREE Calendar Bar for Pocket PC from OmegaOne worth $9.99! - FREE CamerAware for Pocket PC and Smartphone from MoDaCo worth £19.99 / $30! - FREE Chronos for Pocket PC from ActiveKitten worth $14.95! - FREE CodeWallet Pro for Smartphone and Pocket PC from DeveloperOne worth up to $24.95! - FREE Concentrix for Pocket PC from eSoft Interactive worth $9.95! - FREE FlexMail for Pocket PC and Smartphone from WebIS worth up to $59.90! - FREE FTouchSL for Pocket PC from Vekoff s.r.o. worth 10 euro / $12.50! - FREE Jewel Challenge for Pocket PC from eSoft Interactive worth $9.95! - FREE John Cody's Alerts Pro for Smartphone from Omnisoft worth $14.95! - FREE LingvoSoft Talking Dictionary 2008 English <-> Dutch for Pocket PC from Lingvosoft worth $49.95! - FREE LingvoSoft Talking Dictionary 2008 English <-> French for Pocket PC from Lingvosoft worth $49.95! - FREE LingvoSoft Talking Dictionary 2008 English <-> German for Pocket PC from Lingvosoft worth $49.95! - FREE LingvoSoft Talking Dictionary 2008 English <-> Italian for Pocket PC from Lingvosoft worth $49.95! - FREE LingvoSoft Talking Dictionary 2008 English <-> Spanish for Pocket PC from Lingvosoft worth $49.95! - FREE LingvoSoft Dictionary English <-> Dutch for Smartphone from Lingvosoft worth $49.95! - FREE LingvoSoft Dictionary English <-> French for Smartphone from Lingvosoft worth $49.95! - FREE LingvoSoft Dictionary English <-> German for Smartphone from Lingvosoft worth $49.95! - FREE LingvoSoft Dictionary English <-> Russian for Smartphone from Lingvosoft worth $49.95! - FREE LingvoSoft Dictionary English <-> Turkish for Smartphone from Lingvosoft worth $49.95! - FREE Note2Self for Pocket PC and Smartphone from WebIS worth up to $19.90! - FREE Opera 8.60 for Pocket PC and Smartphone from Opera Software worth up to $48! - FREE Pocket Informant for Pocket PC and Smartphone from WebIS worth up to $59.90! - FREE Pocket Launcher for Pocket PC and Smartphone from Conduits worth $9.95! - FREE PTab for Pocket PC and Smartphone from z4soft worth up to $60! - FREE Resco Explorer for Pocket PC and Smartphone from Resco worth up to $49.90! - FREE Safemode for Pocket PC from monocube worth $12.95 - FREE SplashPhoto for Pocket PC and Smartphone from SplashData worth up to $59.90! - FREE Sprite Backup for Pocket PC and Smartphone from Sprite Software worth $29.95! - FREE Teksoft Glyphs UI for Pocket PC and Smartphone from Teksoft €9.95! - FREE Teksoft HeadsetRemote for Pocket PC and Smartphone from Teksoft €4.95! - FREE Traffic Jam for Pocket PC from eSoft Interactive worth $9.95! - FREE unlock (1 per year) from imei-check.co.uk - DISCOUNT of 10% at MoDaCo FairDeal - DISCOUNT of 10% at Semsons.com - FORUM - AD FREE SITE - FORUM - custom rank / title - FORUM - double competition entries - FORUM - double post attachment space - FORUM - no search flood control - FORUM - priority event registration - FORUM - triple PM space
    • Reminder: Selling items on the forum directly is not allowed

      Please note that selling items on the forum directly is not allowed by the forum rules. There is a forum for eBay auctions whereby you can list the items on eBay and link to them there. This is the ONLY forum for this type of activity. You may also advertise links to the eBay forum in your signature. Please note that selling directly in contravention of these rules will result in a warning / suspensions / ban.

Mobile Broadband dongles

216 posts in this topic

Posted · Report post

Looks like i may have to have a look online for a huawei usb dongle and then i can sort out any data sim after that.

Anyone tried the other makes of dongles yet to see if any other make also works.

There are plenty of unlocked full speed huawei dongles on ebay going to cheap so it may not be a problem to find a good deal.

Jason.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Looks like i may have to have a look online for a huawei usb dongle and then i can sort out any data sim after that.

Anyone tried the other makes of dongles yet to see if any other make also works.

There are plenty of unlocked full speed huawei dongles on ebay going to cheap so it may not be a problem to find a good deal.

Jason.

I have an e169g I will try it when I get home!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Thanks to all for the great work. I am desperate to mobile internet on my Vega and have been looking at the following options...

http://threestore.three.co.uk/broadband/ option three looks promising on a 1 month contract or alternatively...

http://threestore.three.co.uk/broadband/?mifi=1 option 1 means spending £39.99 on the modem but as I understand it I would be able to connect to the wifi hotspot after changing the wifi-supplicant file (Ad-hoc) I think.

Any views on either option would be appreciated.

Nelson

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Mifi on three should actually be Infrastructure - you can get about £20 back of the £39.99 through quidco.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Aargh!

My Orange huawei e1752 does not work, when you get to the selecting network part, it comes up with an error message.

Mega disappointed :P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited) · Report post

My huawei K4505 doesn't work... yet.

Maybe just maybe it's because it intends to start the cd-rom.

I haven't found the AT commands to disable cd-rom for this dongle yet, but this topic may help to others.

Source http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=914350

You must disable the CD-ROM drive with AT^U2DIAG=0 on the modem before you can use it on the folio.

Connect your USB modem to your PC, find out the COM port used by the modem and then connect via putty to the COM port and send AT^U2DIAG=0.

Here is a tutorial how to send AT commands using Windows: http://3g-modem.wetpaint.com/page/ex...+under+Windows

Also disable the PIN check on your SIM card.

Edited by Melted
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Its nice to know that these dongles work, but when I decided to get a Vega, I also splashed out on a mifi router (£50 on eBay) which is essentially a wifi access point with a 3G connection. I simply took the SIM out of my 3G dongle, inserted it into the mifi box and away it went

+ no "ugly" dongle sticking out of the top (mifi router stays in pocket)

+ guaranteed to work (although I will now try the above method)

+ works with any wifi device

- mifi box is good for only 4-5 hours (requirement for mains point thereafter for charging)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Mifi on three should actually be Infrastructure - you can get about £20 back of the £39.99 through quidco.

Thanks for the info

Nelson

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

The K3520 on vodafone works great

Sending this message using it to get online. :P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

My huawei K4505 doesn't work... yet.

Maybe just maybe it's because it intends to start the cr-rom.

I haven't found the AT commands to disable cd-rom for this dongle yet, but this topic may help to others.

Source http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=914350

You must disable the CD-ROM drive with AT^U2DIAG=0 on the modem before you can use it on the folio.

Connect your USB modem to your PC, find out the COM port used by the modem and then connect via putty to the COM port and send AT^U2DIAG=0.

Here is a tutorial how to send AT commands using Windows: http://3g-modem.wetpaint.com/page/ex...+under+Windows

Also disable the PIN check on your SIM card.

Melted.

Keep us updated with how you get on

Nelson

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Melted - Same problem with the E169 not working - I will try disabling he cd drive on it and see what happens.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Fantasic, huawei E176 working like a charm on O2. It did take a couple of attempts to locate a network and showed two O2's for some reason the second one works best.

Note, typing this connected using the dongle, result.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited) · Report post

Some additional news for those with ZTE based modems (like the one Three network do). My modem is network unlocked since I got it when I flashed it with updated firmware - your mileage may vary.

Vega is on Pauls R7 firmware from a couple of days ago.

I managed to get mine to the point of the now I can see the list of networks and register on Three (my sim card provider on this device)

In addition to the notes here you have to disable the inbuilt CD drive "Autorun" thing

Figure out the com port by plugging the modem into your PC - check in the Device manager, should show up as ZTE NMEA Device - mine was COM6

Download PUTTY and use serial mode, enter your com port in the above step.

You should see a black screen periodically updating with +ZUSIMR:2 or similar.

Enter the command:

AT+ZCDRUN=8

Don't worry if the screen scrolls with a new message, just enter the text anyway.

You should get the message "Close autorun state result(0:FAIL 1:SUCCESS):1

OK"

If you get 0 returned instead, close PUTTY, use the safely remove hardware button on your Windows task bar and eject the CD device. Then retry.

Now follow the steps previously posted for adding an account and you should see your detected 3G network providers, from here I can select Three and it tells me it's registered and I get a 3G data signal bar appear in the Android status bar (with my Wifi off :P )

From here on though I am stuck. I cannot actually get to the internet using browser at this point.

Airplane mode setting works and disables the 3G connection (change of light on the dongle in addition to the status bar)

Was going to play further, but my Vega is out of battery and making me upset with it - on charge and attempting to use it is a disaster of touch screen hit and miss <sigh>

Edited by Bobbler
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

There was one thing I forgot to say when I chose the provider all I got was the bars without the 3g symbol. I had to do a manual profile. Basically for 3uk is just the name of the profile and the apn 3internet

Hope this helps some of you

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited) · Report post

There was one thing I forgot to say when I chose the provider all I got was the bars without the 3g symbol. I had to do a manual profile. Basically for 3uk is just the name of the profile and the apn 3internet

Hope this helps some of you

If your on mobile broadband its always been three.co.uk as the apn for me?

Also - the Huawei e169 works once you have disabled the cd drive on on it. One thing I noticed is that if the vega goes in to standby the connection will hang and you have to remove/reinsert the usb dongle.

I wonder if there is a way of stripping the pcb out of the plastic usb casing and soldering it direct to the usb port internally. In theory the I'd guess the vega would ignore it when it was in slave mode and then auto pick it back up again in host mode?

On my netbook there was an unconnected usb header on the motherboard that you could solder stuff directly too - does the vega have somthing like this?

Edited by huwwatkins
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited) · Report post

I have a working, surfing conection via an Huawei E220 3G dongle on my Vega.

...................

BB.

Wow, that really is brilliant. :P

This works for a 3 UK E156G dongle (one of the black small stick ones). The only extra thing I had to do, as noted by others, was add in the APN for 3 (3internet) by hand.

Having a WiFi+3G tablet at the Vega's price is rather nice.....

Edited by professordes
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Mine works with E220 dongle.

I am wondering if it would be possible to gain access internally to the usb ports that are for the dock? If it were possible then it would not be a hard job to fit a usb dongle inside the vega. The usb ports that are on the dock are already Host ports and we would not need to loose our slave port.

Does anyone have a pinout for the docking connector? I am guessing that at least one usb port would be accessible internally by connecting from the back of the dock connector.

I have also seen a usb dongle GPS in Maplin for £19.99. Wonder if that would work? if so then could fit that internally aswell and have full 3g & GPS.

Your thoughts?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Some additional news for those with ZTE based modems (like the one Three network do). My modem is network unlocked since I got it when I flashed it with updated firmware - your mileage may vary.

Vega is on Pauls R7 firmware from a couple of days ago.

I managed to get mine to the point of the now I can see the list of networks and register on Three (my sim card provider on this device)

In addition to the notes here you have to disable the inbuilt CD drive "Autorun" thing

Figure out the com port by plugging the modem into your PC - check in the Device manager, should show up as ZTE NMEA Device - mine was COM6

Download PUTTY and use serial mode, enter your com port in the above step.

You should see a black screen periodically updating with +ZUSIMR:2 or similar.

Enter the command:

AT+ZCDRUN=8

Don't worry if the screen scrolls with a new message, just enter the text anyway.

You should get the message "Close autorun state result(0:FAIL 1:SUCCESS):1

OK"

If you get 0 returned instead, close PUTTY, use the safely remove hardware button on your Windows task bar and eject the CD device. Then retry.

Now follow the steps previously posted for adding an account and you should see your detected 3G network providers, from here I can select Three and it tells me it's registered and I get a 3G data signal bar appear in the Android status bar (with my Wifi off :P )

From here on though I am stuck. I cannot actually get to the internet using browser at this point.

Airplane mode setting works and disables the 3G connection (change of light on the dongle in addition to the status bar)

Was going to play further, but my Vega is out of battery and making me upset with it - on charge and attempting to use it is a disaster of touch screen hit and miss <sigh>

I got was the bars without the 3g symbol. I had to do a manual APN but the 3g symbol not appear. I tried with a ZTE MF626 unlocked and two SIM from two companys. I can't navigate but is near i hope

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited) · Report post

I got was the bars without the 3g symbol. I had to do a manual APN but the 3g symbol not appear. I tried with a ZTE MF626 unlocked and two SIM from two companys. I can't navigate but is near i hope

I've got stuck at the network search screen with my ZTE MF112 - I even got to a bootloop after restarting.... had to reflash my POV

I gave it another try: when I turn off 3G and Data connection, it can search and find the network - but as soon as I turn back 3G or data connection, I got the error message not able to connect

I had no problems with my huawei E220 though, it was working like charm

Edited by Uzi74
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited) · Report post

This is my first post here, so if I've posted in the wrong please, let me know and I'll happily move it.

Cheers,

BB.

Brilliant!

OK - I have ZTE MF 112 dongle on 3 UK. Following BakedBeans recipe everything goes fine, when selecting available networks I get 3,3,3, T-Mobile UK, O2-UK, vodafone UK and T-Mobile UK so the Vega is obviously reading stuff from the ether via the dongle.

If I select two of the 3 options it tries to register, dongle light goes red and it fails. If I select the other 3 option I get "Registered on Network", signal strength icon in message bar but no 3G icon.

At first there was nothing under "Access Point Names", so have tried

Name = dongle, APN = three.co.uk, Username = guest, Password = guest all the rest <Not set>

Name = dongle, APN = three.co.uk all the rest <Not set>

Name = dongle, APN = 3internet, Username = guest, Password = guest all the rest <Not set>

Name = dongle, APN = 3internet all the rest <Not set>

no success

So near and yet so far - any suggestions?

BTW first option is how the dongle works on Linux, except I also have Number = *99#, cant see an obvious Android field to load that.

BTW 2 - have tried to disable the CD-ROM on this dongle without success, it is still visible on Linux. But (IMHO) irrelevant as witness by the progress above and the fact it works on Linux.

Edited by dukla2000
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Brilliant!

OK - I have ZTE MF 112 dongle on 3 UK. Following BakedBeans recipe everything goes fine, when selecting available networks I get 3,3,3, T-Mobile UK, O2-UK, vodafone UK and T-Mobile UK so the Vega is obviously reading stuff from the ether via the dongle.

If I select two of the 3 options it tries to register, dongle light goes red and it fails. If I select the other 3 option I get "Registered on Network", signal strength icon in message bar but no 3G icon.

At first there was nothing under "Access Point Names", so have tried

Name = dongle, APN = three.co.uk, Username = guest, Password = guest all the rest <Not set>

Name = dongle, APN = three.co.uk all the rest <Not set>

Name = dongle, APN = 3internet, Username = guest, Password = guest all the rest <Not set>

Name = dongle, APN = 3internet all the rest <Not set>

no success

So near and yet so far - any suggestions?

BTW first option is how the dongle works on Linux, except I also have Number = *99#, cant see an obvious Android field to load that.

BTW 2 - have tried to disable the CD-ROM on this dongle without success, it is still visible on Linux. But (IMHO) irrelevant as witness by the progress above and the fact it works on Linux.

Maybe the ZTE drivers on kernel Linux don't setup properly? All people with ZTE dongle have signal and registered on network but don't have 3G symbol. Maybe the data communication is not working

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

I suspect I might get my huawei e1752 working by disabling the cd-rom feature, but that will also turn off the sd card in it, which I use with my laptop, so I think I'll stick to tethering via phone for now.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

I have to say even the Huawei E220 is working, it is not flawless. I'm having problems after waking it up after stand-by, have to unplug-plug in again the modem cable. To build up the connection takes relatively long time. And it worth to mention it seems it is draining the battery fast.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited) · Report post

I suspect I might get my huawei e1752 working by disabling the cd-rom feature, but that will also turn off the sd card in it, which I use with my laptop, so I think I'll stick to tethering via phone for now.

You don't have to disable the CD-ROM - I know my Linux (kernel 2.6.34) has the 'switcher' module in it - detects the CD-ROM mode of the dongle then switches it automatically to modem mode. Obviously this Android kernel (2.6.32) also has it. Been frantically scouring my Linux logs to find the name of the module and can't find it which is a bit frustrating but the log below shows it in progress (on my PC):

2011-02-11 09:11:38	server	modem-manager	(ttyUSB1) closing serial device...

2011-02-11 09:11:38	server	modem-manager	(ZTE): GSM modem /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:12.1/usb5/5-2 claimed port ttyUSB1

2011-02-11 09:11:38	server	modem-manager	Added modem /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:12.1/usb5/5-2

2011-02-11 09:11:38	server	modem-manager	(ttyUSB2) closing serial device...

2011-02-11 09:11:38	server	modem-manager	Exported modem /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:12.1/usb5/5-2 as /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/21

2011-02-11 09:11:38	server	modem-manager	(ZTE): GSM modem /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:12.1/usb5/5-2 claimed port ttyUSB2

2011-02-11 09:11:51	server	modem-manager	(ttyUSB0) closing serial device...

2011-02-11 09:12:41	server	modem-manager	(ttyUSB2) opening serial device...

2011-02-11 09:12:41	server	modem-manager	Modem /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/21: state changed (disabled -> enabling)

2011-02-11 09:12:41	server	modem-manager	Modem /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/21: state changed (enabling -> enabled)

2011-02-11 09:12:41	server	modem-manager	Registration state changed: 1

2011-02-11 09:12:41	server	modem-manager	Modem /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/21: state changed (enabled -> registered)

2011-02-11 09:12:41	server	modem-manager	Modem /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/21: state changed (registered -> connecting)

2011-02-11 09:12:41	server	modem-manager	Modem /org/freedesktop/ModemManager/Modems/21: state changed (connecting -> connected)

2011-02-11 09:12:41	server	pppd[7078]	Plugin /usr/lib64/pppd/2.4.5/nm-pppd-plugin.so loaded.

2011-02-11 09:12:41	server	pppd[7078]	pppd 2.4.5 started by root, uid 0

2011-02-11 09:12:41	server	pppd[7078]	Using interface ppp0

2011-02-11 09:12:41	server	pppd[7078]	Connect: ppp0 <--> /dev/ttyUSB2

2011-02-11 09:12:41	server	pppd[7078]	CHAP authentication succeeded

2011-02-11 09:12:41	server	pppd[7078]	CHAP authentication succeeded

2011-02-11 09:12:48	server	pppd[7078]	Could not determine remote IP address: defaulting to 10.64.64.64

2011-02-11 09:12:48	server	pppd[7078]	local  IP address 92.40.200.16

2011-02-11 09:12:48	server	pppd[7078]	remote IP address 10.64.64.64

2011-02-11 09:12:48	server	pppd[7078]	primary   DNS address 217.171.135.1

2011-02-11 09:12:48	server	pppd[7078]	secondary DNS address 217.171.132.1

Maybe the ZTE drivers on kernel Linux don't setup properly?
Yeah, something like that, but only for this 2.6.32 Android flavour, as I say at 2.6.34 on my PC they are fine.

ps - Both { APN = 3internet } and { APN = three.co.uk, Username = guest, Password = guest } work on my PC. Did a bit of googling and testing and 3internet has no censoring/parental controls whereas three.co.uk does. Also got my fastest ever speedtest download last night on 3internet - 5.6Mbps, may just be coincidence.

Edited by dukla2000
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

I have tried a huawei e1750 on t-mobile and no matter what i tried no luck at all no conection.

Jason.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now

MoDaCo is part of the MoDaCo.network, © Paul O'Brien 2002-2015. MoDaCo uses IntelliTxt technology.