LCD replacement and Internal SD upgrade

Guest gypsydigi

Guest gypsydigi

This is my second LCD replacement so i thought i would do a few things while I had the phone apart.

post-742151-1302057744_thumb.jpg

as you can see my LCD is bleeding because i fell asleep on it one night...

Now before i continue i just want to let you guys know i am a complete noob when it comes to phones and android. My phone previous to this was a sony x10 (and before that an iphone). It was my first introduction to the droid life. I didn't have the phone too long before i got rid of it for a beta testing dell streak (which i purchased about a year ago before it hit the market in both north america and europe). I have a bit tech savy and know a bit about linux. More of a linux hobbiest then thoes hardcore guys who compile kernel.

Taking the streak apart may be alittle intimidating at first, especially if you have never taken a phone apart.

I ordered my screen on ebay. It was just under $100 shipped to my door.

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewIt...em=300509628681

post-742151-1302057922_thumb.jpg

I figured while i have the phone apart i might as well replace the internal memory card to a 4GB class 10. After a lot of reading i thought this was the best way to go since i didn't have to edit a boot.img file everytime i decided to change my rom.

I orded my microsd card on ebay as well. I didn't really shop around for the best price...

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewIt...em=190502482988

post-742151-1302058249_thumb.jpg

Now that i purchased thoes... Here comes the work...

Taking the phone apart:

First thing you need is one of thoes plastic pry tools used for taking apart phones. I was lucky that it came with my screen replacement. As well as a torx screw driver.