U8800 - is it a good idea to buy it?

Guest XphX

Hey there,

quite some time passed since my last visit on modaco (and on xda-developers too). Back then I was customizing my WinMo-6.5-phone, a samsung omnia which I still have. Now I finally have some money to spend on a new phone; the omnia really isn't that great anymore because of the os being simply old. Modaco looks very different now... I remember spending weeks on customizing and I really got tired of doing that in the end. now i want to start flashing again etc., i can't wait to start. i am not a developer and therefore won't be able to help much, but I will at least have a look at this forum every few days and help if I can.

At first I was not sure if I should go for the Motorola Defy or the U8800 - sadly all the Defys seem to need to be replaced sooner or later, i guess you know the story. I just do not want to buy a phone that will probably need to be replaced within the next few weeks. it will be my only phone and I depend on it. Also the screen seems to break easily.

What do you think about this? Next week I will wait for a few ebay-auctions to finish and if that does not work out, I'll just buy it at amazon for 230 euros (that is the maximum i can spend, and the phone will have to do for the next 2 years at least).

I can see that there is already a android-2.3.4 version available for the u8800, the Oxygen-ROM. I think i will try that out first. I want to have a very minimal configuration and then start looking for all the programs i might need - i never had an android phone before and it sure is going to be fun to find out every little detail of android and the u8800.

Just wanted to share my thoughts with you,

XphX

PS: Is there even one average citizen who bought the u8800? I bet not :D

Guest Tripov

I am happy with mine and it looks like the community is growing, not as fast as ZTE blade's but similar !