New G300 User - Few Questions...

Guest HuaweiAscend

Guest HuaweiAscend

Hi guys,

I'm new to the G300... I've spent a lot of time lurking and reading here, but wondered if anyone could answer a few questions?

Firstly, I got the G300 from Tesco, and unlocked it via a code on eBay, to use my T-Mobile (contract) SIM.

It's a nice phone, and I'm fairly impressed.

Initially, I did root it, but then installed the B888 ROM which I've not rooted.

The ROM seems decent, and I can see no major issues with it, which is good - obviously, for me the main perk was the debranding and removal of the Vodafone bloatware (not much use to a T-Mobile user!).

I understand than ICS is on it's way, and that there's a Chinese ROM already in circulation, however I see this has a Chinese bootscreen and some Chinese apps installed?

Are there any videos or images of this, so I know what to expect if I were to update?

Also, the B888 ROM, unofficial (well, official but not for the UK, if I'm correct?), is this one which cannot be downgraded easily? Obviously, if the forthcoming ICS UK update needs a downgrade, or to install from B885, will I be able to do this?

Are there any issues I should be aware of with the B888 ROM? As I've mentioned, all seems fine so far, I've had the handset a week now.

One issue I do have, is the Voicemail prompts - I get the prompt fine, but it shows 222 as the number, and although I see a setting, I cannot change the number, I receive an error message?

I know all of this stuff will have been covered, but I've read that many posts that my head's a mess with it all!

I do have limited experience of custom ROMs and CWM, use and installation more than anything, I initially had a rooted HTC Magic a couple of years ago, and until last week, I owned a ZTE Crescent (T-Mobile Vivacity) for a few weeks, which I'd installed CM7 on.

Sorry for boring you all, but hopefully you guys can be kind enough to help me out!

Cheers,

HuaweiAscend

Guest Davidoff59