Is clockworkmode essential?

Guest djangocor068

Guest djangocor068

Hi, I'm a totally newbie.

I've just bought a Ascend G300 and have rooted it. After I've installed Titanium Backup to remove all vodafone stuff and was wondering if I need to install the clockworkmode as well or Titanium is sufficient for making backups and remove unwanted stuff?

Many thanks

Al

Guest runlevel5

clockwork is a must have IMO.backup and restore of complete ROMs is essential and can be a lifesaver as you start to experiment. I cannot think of a reason not to have it.also,people release custom ROMs that you flash from clockwork.

all the best.

Guest pelago

One thing against CWM is the fact that if you plug a powered-off G300 into a charger, it will boot into CWM. As I understand it, this is a limitation or a bug in the G300 itself, not in CWM. This puts me off putting CWM on my wife's G300. If you only ever charge while the device is powered-on, this isn't a problem.

One thing I'm not clear on is whether the device is actually charging or not when this happens?

Guest djangocor068

Thank you for both replies. To be honest I wanted to avoid the problem described by Pelago. Is Titanium Backup sufficient to do a full backup in case I won't install CW? Basically I've installed it just to remove the demos and vodafone stuff but I've seen that can perform a backup as well (free version).

Guest ScutulatusCrotalus

Thank you for both replies. To be honest I wanted to avoid the problem described by Pelago. Is Titanium Backup sufficient to do a full backup in case I won't install CW? Basically I've installed it just to remove the demos and vodafone stuff but I've seen that can perform a backup as well (free version).