• Announcements

    • Reminder - MoDaCo position on illegal content   07/30/15

      ILLEGAL CONTENT I'd like to just reaffirm MoDaCo's position regarding piracy and illegal content in the light of some recent questions / postings. Posts will be censored by myself or my moderation team if the contain or link to: Illegal / pirated / cracked software or sites that host such softwareNintendo emulators / ROMs or sites hosting them (in light of Nintendo's legal stance)CUSTOM ROMS You may discuss and post links to custom device ROMs on MoDaCo, provided the following rules are adhered to: ROMs must not contain any illegal 3rd party software (this includes trial versions included without permission)ROMs must give full credit to the original authorISSUES If you have any issues with this policy, please contact PaulOBrien directly via PM.
    • Reminder: Selling items on the forum directly is not allowed   07/30/15

      Please note that selling items on the forum directly is not allowed by the forum rules. There is a forum for eBay auctions whereby you can list the items on eBay and link to them there. This is the ONLY forum for this type of activity. You may also advertise links to the eBay forum in your signature. Please note that selling directly in contravention of these rules will result in a warning / suspension / ban.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

app auto updates and the open with dialogue

3 posts in this topic

Posted · Report post

any way to tell android to keep its file type associations and not throw that dialogue after any app update?

it's pointless and confusing for many users, they don't know to check that box to stop it asking, and/or they choose the wrong app and then have no idea how to clear defaults.

thanks.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

hmm not sure if i posted in wrong place, or no one else bothered by this?

i meant really for family i set phones up for, but just today i was prompted on pressing Home for launcher choice several times for no apparent reason.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited) · Report post

Normally if you have more than one app that can do a task it will prompt you to which one - you just tick the box to use as default & it won't ask you again*

*If an apps permissions have changed, it may ask you again - but only because something has changed in the app so you are given the option to allow or deny it. Repeat the step above & it won't ask you again - that is, until the app has an update that requires your permission. It's for your security!

You don't have to have apps updating from the play store automatically - if you do, they will only prompt for your attention if the apps' permissions have changed, & they want you to review it first before allowing or denying it.

I think you need to point this question at the makers of the apps, as they're the ones who develop the app & give it new permissions, that of course, require yours ;)

Edited by nvkid909
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

MoDaCo is part of the MoDaCo.network, © Paul O'Brien 2002-2015. MoDaCo uses IntelliTxt technology.