Huawei G300 Stockrom or custom rom

Guest kido44

Guest kido44

Hi I'm new to android & have just bought a g300.

I want to update the rom from gingerbread to either ice cream sandwich or jelly bean but don't know which rom to install.

I want the screen to be as responsive as possible and it to be quick especially when Internet browsing.

Which is the best way to update the rom? A stock rom or custom rom?

What's the main difference.

Thank you

Guest dalyer

I want to update the rom from gingerbread to either ice cream sandwich or jelly bean but don't know which rom to install.

If you want to get off GB then you probably need to do the stock ICS update OTA to get the 2030 baseband. Although there now seem to be some post GB ROMs that can operator on the 109808 baseband which is a recent development...

Which is the best way to update the rom? A stock rom or custom rom?

This question seems to get asked about once a week. There is no "best" ROM. Different people have different preferences, requirements, priorities. Best to read up about the different ROMs available and maybe try one or two and see which you prefer and which suits your specific needs.

Be aware that there is a suspicion that unlocking the bootloader MAY cause some phones to experience the sporadic 3G reboot problem. However there is no authoritative info on this so far as far as I can see.

Edited by dalyer

Guest kido44

Hi dalyer

I didn't mean best rom sorry I meant most stable way.

i.e. isn't a stock rom update a official approved update where as a custom rom is a developers rom?

So what I mean is can I get the best responsiveness and speed by updating to ice cream sandwich using a official stock rom?

Or am I getting confused?

Guest TangerineTractor

Logically, you're going to go to At least ICS.