WiFi (WLAN) using SPV M3100 & Orange Livebox

Guest tilum

Hi all,

I've been visitng Modaco for several months now as a guest, but only now making my first post.

I'm not a computer expert, but I wouldn't say that I'm incompetent when it comes to computers either. Yet despite this, I just can't seem to sort my WiFi connection from my Orange SPV M3100 to my Orange Livebox. There's something not quite right here, as this should be realtively straight forward (based on the absence of any other similar posts where someone is using an Orange Livebox), please could you guys give me some advice (N.B. I'm new to the whole WiFi thing); settings are as follows:-

Orange Livebox

SSID: Tilum (originally Livebox-BCC0)

Channel number: 1

Enable Wireless LAN: ticked (i.e. on)

WEP Security Key: 7A1E0...... (26 character passkey) (obviously I ought not disclose this on this post!)

Wireless settings (under 'Advanced' tab): "WPA or WEP security" option selected

SPV M3100

WLAN (in 'Wireless' tab of 'Network Cards'): Either says "Unavailable", "Available", or "Connecting"

'Network Adaptors' tab of 'Network Cards': My network card connects to The Internet

When selecting 'Tilum' WLAN (from the 'Wireless' tab of 'Network Cards') the following settings are entered/selected:-

'General' tab: Network name Tilum; Connects to The Internet

'Network Key' tab: Authentication WPA-PSK; Data Encryption TKIP; Network Key same as WEP Security Key in Orange Livebox settings above

'802.1x' tab: Unable to alter settings from the default i.e. Use IEEE 802.1x network access control selected and EAP type is Smart Card or Certificate

1) I press the number '1' button on the Orange Livebox to put the Livebox into pairing mode and the WiFi LED changes from a constant red light to a flashing red light (i.e. Pairing Mode is active).

2) I ensure that SPV M3100 has WiFi switched on