Jump to content


Photo

how to upgrade smartphone 2002-->smartphone 2003 for spv?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1
nease

nease

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
is it possible?
if it is, then how to?
who can tell me detail?

  • 0

#2
squall

squall

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,618 posts
  • Location:Fife, Scotland
  • Interests:Smartphones
Not possible really. A few people have managed to do this (its really not easy) but theres not enough memory to run the newer OS satisfactorly. Not to mention its not something that can be done by 99.9% of smartphone users

Posted from my SmartPhone!

  • 0
Regards
Ian

#3
awarner

awarner

    Staff Team Leader

  • Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,506 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Interests:Life the universe and everything in it :)

    Lumia 925 one hell of a camera phone
  • Devices:Lumia 925 a real phone at last
  • Twitter:@ashwarner
2003 for the SPVE100 is not publically available and the only version
that is around is a beta test copy and not complete.

  • 0
Twitter me @ashwarner

Windows Phone 7 Expert.
Windows Phone Business Specialist



#4
meatgrinder

meatgrinder

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 290 posts
yep, many games wont run, only a few mb ram free, runs pretty poor :P

ow, and its irreversible, no way to change back if u do change it.

Dave

  • 0
ex-member of the MSMobilenews.com team!

Check out the site here!

#5
BrAGoL

BrAGoL

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,964 posts
  • Location:kYuSi, PiLiPpHiNeS
there is a way to get out of it... :P

Posted from my SmartPhone!

  • 0
"Do not follow where the path may lead.
Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail."

#6
nease

nease

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Someone upgrades spv from sp2002 to sp2003 successfully, and the rest of memory is over 5MB, most of program which run on sp2003 can run on upgraded spv. The version of sp2003 is a beta test copy. hehe.

  • 0

#7
kalinte

kalinte

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 453 posts
it has been done but the the 2003 want built for the E-100 so they usually revert back to 2002.

  • 0

#8
lanrover

lanrover

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
Ok. I have an SPVX1 (a.k.a canary) a hand me down and it had WM2003 some beta version. I have been trying to go back to the Orange ROM for this but have been very unsuccessful. I have tried the Qtek and Imate and yet not sucessful.
If you know how to do this can you post it. BTW I only have the Boxwave sync cable with me and a laptop with Active sync 3.7.1 installed. Is this possible with these 2 to get the downgrade to the WM2002 ROM ? I am able to get to the Canary bootloader and after that I start the TRRU.exe or the CA....exe but both fail after about 20 seconds. Am I missing something ?
Thanks

  • 0
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't...

#9
castravete

castravete

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
so is there any posibilities that it would work the sp2003 on a spv classic i am interesed for the java stuff because the ibm (mitac one) works bad and only a few apps are running on the phone and also it kill the memory on the phone i found the upgrade to 2003 but it seems that is for compal and i would not like to risk the phone even that i am a electronist and i fix this kind of stuff (gsm and many others)anyone who wants the sp2003 for compal email me

  • 0

#10
castravete

castravete

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Someone upgrades spv from sp2002 to sp2003 successfully, and the rest of memory is over 5MB, most of program which run on sp2003 can run on upgraded spv. The version of sp2003 is a beta test copy. hehe.

have u done it?

  • 0

#11
BrAGoL

BrAGoL

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,964 posts
  • Location:kYuSi, PiLiPpHiNeS
downgrade your BL to .99 and below...

Posted from my SmartPhone!

  • 0
"Do not follow where the path may lead.
Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail."

#12
castravete

castravete

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
u cant install sp 2003 on spv spve100 because of the memory its too small it has only 16 mb of sd ram the chinede model dopod 515 have 32 mb of sdram and sp2003 mayghbe a way to change the sdram from the phone PHISICALLY!!!!!!! I WOULD DO IT SOON PROBABLY

  • 0

#13
squall

squall

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,618 posts
  • Location:Fife, Scotland
  • Interests:Smartphones
in theory that may be possible, provided the current mobile hardware knew how to handle it, and you are nifty with surface soldered components.

Ignoring all that the major issue you'd have is getting the extra memory. Id guess it would be cheaper to buy a c500

  • 0
Regards
Ian

#14
castravete

castravete

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
i have tried to get the same memory chip that the HTC use but it seems to be unavailable but it exists and the biggest one is 128 MB i will try to find one if i could and is no problem 4 me to change the BGA processors and many other circuits i am an microelectron ist not a boot-maker:-))

  • 0

#15
castravete

castravete

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
ohh and i cant buy a C500 because i live in a east europeean country ROMANIA and the orange company here does not comercialize this kind of phone or any of the spv

  • 0

#16
skechers

skechers

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi everyody. I come from China. I am using the Orange SPV with Smartphone 2002 with version 3.0 (build 13258). Also using the same Chinese model Dopod 515 with smartphone 2003 with version 4.20.0
(build 13237) which free-upgraded from Dopod company last month.I find out SPV show Total Storage 7.05 MB. Total Memory 12.63 MB. And Dopod 515 show Total Storage 8.44 MB. Total Memory 21.81 MB.
I think that's why SPV can not upgrade to smartphone 2003......... ^_^

  • 0

#17
ray72ro

ray72ro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
2003 on 2002 is working really bad (less battery life, less free memory, working slow). I tried to come back to WN2002 but unsuccessful. Now I have BL 2.00-2003. Can somebody tell me how to do that? I have a QTEK 7070.
Thanks a lot!

  • 0

#18
spvclassic786

spvclassic786

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
EDIT

  • 0

#19
SpvClassicuser2

SpvClassicuser2

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

EDIT

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



I try to install wm2003 on my spv classic but first you have to downgrade
now i am running bootloader 1.6. But how can i downgrade ...

  • 0

#20
squall

squall

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,618 posts
  • Location:Fife, Scotland
  • Interests:Smartphones
there are posts on downgrading on modaco, but if you cant figure it out i would suggest its best not to try to upgrade to 2003, its not easy to do, and you dont want to be left with a papaerweight do you :)

  • 0
Regards
Ian




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users