Jump to content


Photo

Free non permanent sim unlock for e200 - patched rom

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
90 replies to this topic

#41
weeluke

weeluke

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi,
Ok, i have a little problem

i downloaded all the needed stuff patched it when i was using the flash util then it froze, now my e200 comes up with "press any key to enter bootloader" when ya press a key it comes up with 3colours all saying "Smart Doc v1.07.02 Doc"
once this screen comes up i cannot turn the phone off normalyi have to take the battery out, so i reflashed it now it works ok


thanks
weeluke

  • 0

#42
gladel

gladel

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 246 posts
I've finally SIM unlocked my mobile! Even switched to i-Mate ROM. Unfortunately, there seemed to be a glitch. Whenever I'm checking my balance via SIM services (Filipinos familiar with SMART Menu -> Buddy Balance), instead of displaying the operator service, it displays a name from my contact list. What seemed go wrong?

  • 0

#43
squall

squall

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,618 posts
  • Location:Fife, Scotland
  • Interests:Smartphones
I would post a new thread so the question gets more attention

As a thought:

Sometimes the caller id etc act funny if a full number is stored in another number, ie 901 was my voice mail number, and i had a contact who had 901 in there phone number, when the voice mail phoned me it showed as coming from my contact

  • 0
Regards
Ian

#44
nattysmad

nattysmad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
hi i have a e200 and its unlocked but i cant get internet on it as o2 say they need the mader of it to send right info to phone can u help me with it
thanks happy new year

  • 0

#45
squall

squall

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,618 posts
  • Location:Fife, Scotland
  • Interests:Smartphones
you need to change teh settings to allow the phone to connect to the o2 internet.

The quick way of doing it is to see this thread http://www.modaco.co...ic.php?t=119575

  • 0
Regards
Ian

#46
Coolboy1982

Coolboy1982

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 344 posts
  • Location:Oxford

8. Go back to the folder you extracted the rom to in step 3 and run the file called ROMUpdateUtility.exe

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



Stupid question, but is taht the same as the file called VoUpgradeUt.exe in my UK update I just downloaded?

  • 0

#47
squall

squall

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,618 posts
  • Location:Fife, Scotland
  • Interests:Smartphones
ok the orange update its called ROMUpdateUtility.exe but just try them all until you get the one that runs the update!

  • 0
Regards
Ian

#48
Coolboy1982

Coolboy1982

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 344 posts
  • Location:Oxford

ok the orange update its called ROMUpdateUtility.exe but just try them all until you get the one that runs the update!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



Thanks.
Already did it.
In the Orange UK update it was the VoUpgradeUt.exe, as I had thought.
Worked a treat.

  • 0

#49
shooms

shooms

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
weeeeeeeeeee fantastic :D most impressed - thanks :D

A quickie - I'm now using a UK vodafone SIM - do I need to change settings on the E200 to access

MMS
MSN
Web browsing

Thanks for any tips :P

  • 0

#50
squall

squall

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,618 posts
  • Location:Fife, Scotland
  • Interests:Smartphones
yes you do, the settings you need can be found in the the gprs settings repository

This is in the articles section of modaco

  • 0
Regards
Ian

#51
shooms

shooms

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

yes you do, the settings you need can be found in the the gprs settings repository

This is in the articles section of modaco

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Thanks fella - still issues with me MMS setup but have replied on the thread over there :D

  • 0

#52
srikanthrv

srikanthrv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:orange e200
[quote name='squall' date='Oct 31 2004, 23:17']
This guide enables you to use the E200 with a sim card from any network by modifying the Rom, IE the operating systems.
1. Install a zip program such as winace or winrar
2. Download the latest Update for your country from your orange site.
¬
¬
¬
....................................................................

Should there be a SIM inside for unlocking or is it enough if the phone is switched ON and it says "SIM not found or INVALID SIM".

In this condition can we unlock the phone....
(this is bcoz i lost my SIM Boo Hoo!!!!)

Edited by srikanthrv, 24 February 2005 - 06:53 PM.

  • 0

#53
srikanthrv

srikanthrv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:orange e200

I just tried this but could not get it to work.
I had already installed the ROM update on my E200. I downloaded the ROm update and the sim unlock software to a folder on my desktop as explained, however when i go to run the sim unlock it flashes on and off the screen in the blink of an eye?????
Anyone else experienced this or have any suggestions????

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



HI,
I also experienced the same problem.
Did you find a solution for it.
Strange even SQUALL or any member has not replied to your query....
If you have found out the solution please share it with me.
Thanks
srikanthrv

  • 0

#54
squall

squall

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,618 posts
  • Location:Fife, Scotland
  • Interests:Smartphones
sorry i haveny been about much recently...

you should be able to do it without the sim card, if you run the update from the bootloader

enter the bootloader by holding power & record button on start up

  • 0
Regards
Ian

#55
srikanthrv

srikanthrv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:orange e200

sorry i haveny been about much recently...

you should be able to do it without the sim card, if you run the update from the bootloader

enter the bootloader by holding power & record button on start up

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



hi squall,
Thanks for replying..

when i try to run the update from bootloader screen, my pc says the "SPV is not connected".but when i switch on and go to the "missing SIM card screen" then it shows that the spv is connected.
Wat shud i do so that the spv is rescognised by my pc when it is in bootloader screen?

And can i run the update from WIN98se??

Hope u resolve my issues.
Thanks

Edited by srikanthrv, 28 February 2005 - 03:55 PM.

  • 0

#56
squall

squall

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,618 posts
  • Location:Fife, Scotland
  • Interests:Smartphones
nope! you need windows xp / 2000

  • 0
Regards
Ian

#57
RaveDisc

RaveDisc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Squall, where can I find the update for my SPV E200 ? I searched on orange.ch (I'm from switzerland) and I didn't find any update, then I searched on orange.com, and it's the same thing... :S

  • 0

#58
squall

squall

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,618 posts
  • Location:Fife, Scotland
  • Interests:Smartphones

  • 0
Regards
Ian

#59
RaveDisc

RaveDisc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

try http://www.orange.ch...s=1110032854592

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Thanx !
I've done what you said in the first page of the topic (spv unlock etc.)
But the uptade is very long ! They say approx. 15-30minutes ! And the update has already past 30minutes... is it normal ?
:'( I hope it'll work... I hate orange...

edit : "Checking the information on your spv e200 ... please wait...
Please don't disconnect your spv e200 from your pc or the power
supply until the upgrade is completed"

I think it's normal, but the processus is being too long !

Edited by RaveDisc, 05 March 2005 - 02:56 PM.

  • 0

#60
187Cop

187Cop

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:E200

Thanx !
I've done what you said in the first page of the topic (spv unlock etc.)
But the uptade is very long ! They say approx. 15-30minutes ! And the update has already past 30minutes... is it normal ?
:'( I hope it'll work... I hate orange...

edit : "Checking the information on your spv e200 ...  please wait...
          Please don't disconnect your spv e200 from your pc or the power
          supply until the upgrade is completed"

I think it's normal, but the processus is being too long !

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


How did things turn out?

I'm going to try this proceedure pretty soon and want to know what to expect in terms of how long the update should be processing.

Also, does this method continue to work after a hard reset? (Is it only a new ROM flash that invalidates the SIM unlock?)

Thanks!

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users