Jump to content


Photo

Dade's M2000 Review

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
165 replies to this topic

#81
ichilton

ichilton

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts

I have an SPV E200 with a "service provider"

SPV M2000

Seen Orange are the only company to do the SPV, it's not hard to work out who "service provider" is :-)

The reply was "they are in stock" (03/02/05).
The man at the "service provider" said someone would call me within 2 days to arrange delivery -nobody called.
Today (07/02/05) the "service provider" tell me that the M2000 has not been in stock in 2005 at all yet. I find that difficult to believe as my colleague at work came in today with a brand spanking new M2000 from a central business shop.
I called the "service provider" again and they said "the stock of M2000's are for new customers only".


Yep - I and others have had the same exact same problems with the same "service provider" - see the other threads in this forum.

--ian

  • 0

#82
Rob.P

Rob.P

    No.1 the larch

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 988 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hampshire, UK
  • Interests:Media, Technology
  • Devices:Galaxy Note II
  • Twitter:@Patchworkcow

...the stock of M2000's are for new customers only.


:lol: "Brand new customers only", how true the advert is now :(

  • 0
Interesting Times

(SPV>E200>C500>Qtek9100>Vario2>Touch Dual>Touch Pro2>Desire HD)

#83
JamShady

JamShady

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:SPV M2000

:(  "Brand new customers only", how true the advert is now  :D

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I'm finally getting mine tomorrow for free on ED50 (other phones on my contract push our spend up :lol:) as they came into stock for upgrades yesterday

Problem is, I want an XDA IIi now :D

Ah well, not bad for free

  • 0

#84
sganatra

sganatra

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Devices:p900
Hopefully my upgrade should arrive today aswell, i ordered it yesterday.
Gave them my work address and keep hoping that everytime the phone rings its from despatch saying its here!

  • 0

#85
ichilton

ichilton

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts

Gave them my work address and keep hoping that everytime the phone rings its from despatch saying its here!

If you call Orange and ask for their delivery reference number for the parcel, you can then go to: http://www.parceline...h.do?carrier=pl and use the "By Delivery Postcode and Sender Reference." section to find out where your parcel is.

--ian

  • 0

#86
sganatra

sganatra

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Devices:p900
will do!
thanks for that!

  • 0

#87
Cornetto

Cornetto

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Hi

I have had SPV M2000 for a few weeks. Generally works well. However, can be problems uploading (email attachments such as pics from phone) or to ftp server (unix or PC, doesn't matter).

Connection fine, then upload starts, then stalls, then error about no network (yet definately present, and if no email to upload, just downloads, will work fine). Its not due to bad reception or other obvious thing. Only way I have found to to get it to upload is to do registry hack suggested because of Mobile 2003 SSL bug.

Open the PHM Editor (Programs>>PHM Regedit), Locate HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Inbox, Create a new DWORD value ForceOffSSL and give it a value of 1, Base=Decimal (tap Edit, and New DWORD Value). Soft-reset device. It now uploads OK from email. Open ftp client and it will upload OK as well.

At some point though, the above has to be repeated to get uploads to work again. So I am not sure what is wrong. Orange support didn't have a clue. :lol:

  • 0

#88
Cornetto

Cornetto

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Decided to try to get Orange to sort out problem with sending attachments and ftp uploads. Regarding SPV M2000, can send small email without attachment 40% of time, but can only send with attachment (e.g. pic from phone) 5% of time. Always downloads fine, and that includes large attachments. Happens in any location and with good network reception. Error is just a timeout response.

Customer support have agreed that settings are correct. Now referred to their technical support for fix or decision that handset is faulty. Although they will then offer replacement in 28 days, that is too long, and I will go for reversing upgrade, cancelling with Orange, and signing up with O2 for XDAIIs. At least then I can try a different network.

  • 0

#89
p1tse

p1tse

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
is the m2000 the same as the xda IIs and MDA III, apart from different network provider? are the problems found on those?

so the problem with joystick, may cause problems to fast tapping games (doh)

also are these good with sat nav, like TOMTOM either bluetooth or cable?

looking to get one of these
thanks

  • 0

#90
foldcroft

foldcroft

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
Can anyone help, I dont work in a business that would require the spv m2000, but i am intetrested in this phone am i wasting my time. Or could a non business users make use of this phone.
many thanks

  • 0

#91
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II
I'm a non business user and I've had no regrets at all about getting the MDA III (T-Mobiles version of the M2000). If you've not had a Pocket PC before it'll take a little getting used to (it works in different ways even to Smartphone devices).

  • 0

#92
fraser

fraser

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,811 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:HTC Hermes
Yeah, wot Pondrew said. If you know your way around a PC, you'll be right at home after a short while. I've only had mine a couple of weeks, couldn't be without it!

  • 0

#93
foldcroft

foldcroft

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
What about when you used it for making/taking calls is it not too large, thanks for the other comments.

  • 0

#94
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II
I'd recommend investing in a bluetooth headset although I don't find it too difficult using the MDA III for calls...

One thing though that I did discover this week is that the old bug of ' causing text messages to be fragmented is present on the MDA III. What this bug does is makes the Blue Angel split text messages into smaller bits. As a result if you composed a text with 155 characters, even though it's less then the max length of a text, it will split it so everytime you entered ' it registers it as the start of a new text.

Sorry about the clumsy description!

  • 0

#95
vix2000

vix2000

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:laptop
Hi. I'm looking at getting either the M2000 or Motorola A1000. I have read all your reviews and am confused about one thing. I have a wifi network at home and work. Does this mean that I will be able to access the internet in the same way as I do on my laptop through my broadband subscription, and if so, do I get charged by orange/3g for the service? Excuse my ignorance but I have no knowledge of smart phones/pda's. Any info gratefully recieved.

  • 0

#96
fraser

fraser

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,811 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:HTC Hermes

Does this mean that I will be able to access the internet in the same way as I do on my laptop through my broadband subscription, and if so, do I get charged by orange/3g for the service?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Yes, you can, and no, you don't get charged. That's the attraction!! :D

  • 0

#97
Norky

Norky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
I went into the Orange shop today, seeing if I could upgrade my MPx200 to an M2000. I checked the website beforehand which was saying £99. I got laughed at by the shop assistant (sorry, 'phone trainer').

It seems that even though I shell out ~£25 a month on GPRS, SMS messages and insurance, because I only pay the minimum line rental (Talk 30 on Orange) they want the full £350 for an upgrade. I've been paying them £35 a month for 2 years, and they want £350 for an upgrade?!

Can anyone give me any advice on how to get an M2000 any cheaper?

  • 0

#98
MrOrangeShop

MrOrangeShop

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
Phone retentions or change your talkplan. Otherwise no chance!

  • 0

#99
Norky

Norky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Phone retentions

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Wassat?

O2 will give me the phone on a new contract for £180, if I tell Orange this if I threaten to leave (which I may do) will they offer me a special deal as mentioned earlier?

  • 0

#100
fraser

fraser

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,811 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:HTC Hermes

O2 will give me the phone on a new contract for £180, if I tell Orange this if I threaten to leave (which I may do) will they offer me a special deal as mentioned earlier?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Yes, but they know that some customers are aware of this. You need to try and get the PAC code and pretty much go through the motions. Look out another deal on O2, tell them you are switching to it and want to keep your number.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users