Jump to content


Photo

Solution to adding t9 languages to SPV C500

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
71 replies to this topic

#1
dearsina

dearsina

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Location:Marylebone, London
  • Interests:I've been around since the days of the SPV (now suffixed 'Classic'). I miss the 8+1 way joystick.
  • Devices:HTC Vox
NOTE
I wrote the following instructions after successfully installing a Norwegian T9 DLL on my Orange C500. Afterwards, I tried to install a few other languages from the DLL zip attached below, without success. I decided to share it with you anyway, in case someone out there could figure out why I'm suddenly getting negative results.


Introduction
You can add additional languages to your SPV C500 by placing T9 language DLLs in the Storage area of your phone and identifying their path in the registry.

You'll need...
You’ll need the t9 language DLLs you wish to import to your phone and a Registry Editor, like PHM RegEdit:

http://www.phm.lu/pr...tphone/RegEdit/

'I told you so'
We’re not doing particularly fancy stuff, but playing with the registry should always come with a little ‘I told you so’ in case your phone decides to die and you decide to track me down to shove your now useless phone up my nose—or other body cavities for that matter. So, playing with the registry can have fatal consequences for your phone and for anybody near it.

Language DLLs
So, the first thing you need is a t9 language DLLs. I’ve attached a few to this thread in a handy little ZIP file. It contains the following languages:

Czech
Finnish
Hungarian
Norwegian
Portuguese
Swedish

Download it here: Attached File  T9LanguageDLLs.zip   471.66KB   2979 downloads

You can try your luck on a search engine to find more, but they are a little bit difficult to track down. It would be very useful if you’re sitting on other languages to share them with the rest of us by for instance attaching them to this thread.

Extracting DLLs from your phone
If you have a t9 DLL on your phone, there is a way of extracting it. Copy the file from the \Windows folder where you’ll usually find the t9 files to \Storage Card. Turn off your phone, take out the storage card and put it in a SD card reader to save them on your computer. I have also read that you can IR or BT them using SmartExplorer, but the inbuilt Explorer is sufficient enough.

You might run into trouble if you simply plug your phone into ActiveSync and try to copy the files into your computer because they are somehow marked as system files and thus notoriously difficult to do anything with.

Microsoft Langauge ID
Also, note down the language ID of your language. This is useful when playing with the registry. You can find a handy list here (Look at the LCID Hex column):

http://www.microsoft...setup/lcid.mspx


1. Store your DLL
Place your language DLL in a folder under \Storage\Application Data\

I’ve called mine t9 so the complete path becomes:

\Storage\Application Data\t9\


2. Edit the registry
Now, over to the registry goodness. There are two places you need to play with. The first one is:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\T9 Input Method\MUI\Languages

Click on the Available value and edit it. Add your language ID to the list and save. If you want to be extra fancy, place them in alphabetical order, as the list wont get sorted, it will just be read from beginning to end and your languages will be placed in that order.

Now, click back a couple of times and select the LDBs folder:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\T9 Input Method\LDBs

Here, add a New Value (String value) for each new language you are installing, the name of the Value is the Language ID and the Value Data is the path to the language file, for instance:

Value: 0414
Value Data: \Storage\Application Data\t9\T9NorwegianLdb.dll

Reset and go
Reset your phone for the above to take effect. You can now select your new language from the dropdown text type menu, for instance when writing a text message.

sina
london

  • 0

#2
crazyboy

crazyboy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
I have a mitac mio 8390 and i think this solution work too me but ther'is a big problem: i can't copy dll from my phone..
I want extract dll for italian language from another 8390 but when i copy it by phoneexplorer i receive an error.In other world the file is protect!!!
There is a solution to work around it??

  • 0

#3
dearsina

dearsina

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Location:Marylebone, London
  • Interests:I've been around since the days of the SPV (now suffixed 'Classic'). I miss the 8+1 way joystick.
  • Devices:HTC Vox

I have a mitac mio 8390 and i think this solution work too me but ther'is a big problem: i can't copy dll from my phone..
I want extract dll for italian language from another 8390 but when i copy it by  phoneexplorer i receive an error.In other world the file is protect!!!
There is a solution to work around it??

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I had some problems copying the DLL files out of the \windows folder too. What worked for me was to copy the files to \Storage first, than from there to \Storage Card, all using the inbuilt File Manager (You'll find it in the Accessories folder). Don't use ActiveSync to move the files on the computer, it won't work.

If that doesn't work, I could always extract the Italian DLL for you myself. Let me know.

sina
london

  • 0

#4
crazyboy

crazyboy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
Ok, i haven't copy italian dll.
i tested this solution with other language (portuguese and norwegian) but don't work.I see language in t9 menu but i can't write nothing...I think that dll isn't compatible with mitac 8390...I think that if i can't extract dll from another 8390 it can't work.
Thank's.

  • 0

#5
spvdk

spvdk

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
Sounds too good to be true. Will try it out as soon as time permits. Thanks a lot for sharing :D

  • 0

#6
tudor

tudor

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Location:Romania
  • Devices:SPV C600
Here are the SPV C500 - UK version languages:

Danish
Dutch
English
French
German
Italian
Spanish

See the ZIP file: Attached File  T9_C500_UK.zip   335.36KB   1928 downloads

BTW, I'm looking for the Romanian DLL - does anyone have a C500 from Orange Romania?

  • 0

#7
Martijn

Martijn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location:The Hague, Netherlands
  • Interests:Tisto<br />Cars<br />Gadgets
Thanx guys ! Works great !
Smart Explorer won't work for copying the DLL, but the built in
Windows Explorer does !

  • 0
Martijn

i-mate SP3
Qtek 9100

#8
tudor

tudor

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Location:Romania
  • Devices:SPV C600
I've just installed the Romanian DLL as per instructions of dearsina (thanks a lot!) and it works great!

Many thanks to ga!nusha for posting the Romanian T9 DLL on this post http://www.modaco.co...pic=199931&st=0.

  • 0

#9
tito2002

tito2002

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
I made all the steps 3 times , and every time didn`t work! I have T9Romanian in menu, but when i select it , i can`t write anything!!!

Where do i make mistake?

  • 0

#10
tudor

tudor

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Location:Romania
  • Devices:SPV C600

I made all the steps 3 times , and every time didn`t work!  I have T9Romanian in menu, but when i select it , i can`t write anything!!!

Where do i make mistake?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Check my post in this thread. For me it works perfectly.

Is your phone app unlocked?
Can you please post what values you have for "Available" in registry? I can create the cab for you, so it installs everything automatically.

Another idea, not sure if it matters: did you put the dll on the phone, or on the memory card?

  • 0

#11
spvdk

spvdk

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
dearsina,
This tip works just perfect for me. A big Thank You from me and all the other lost souls of Denmark, where Orange is closing down, without ever releasing a single update for the C500. Now we get to enjoy our C500s anyway :D

Edited by spvdk, 18 February 2005 - 04:28 PM.

  • 0

#12
Tomas Kocanda

Tomas Kocanda

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 463 posts
  • Location:Prague, CZ
  • Devices:Samsung i600, HTC Typhoon
I would like to ask, if anybody knows:

- is possible to edit T9AW.UDB (like using that T9Editor if there is any now)?
- is possible to edit for example T9CzechLdb.dll, remove accents in all the dictionary (as accented characters "eat" space from SMS messages so instead of 162 characters is possible to send only 70 characters with message where is accented just one) and save it and use it instead of for example Norwegian T9 or so?

Thans for ideas.

  • 0
************************
Tomas Kocanda
Prague, Czech Republic
Samsung SGH-i600 (european version of BlackJack)
Eurotel Smartphone II (HTC Typhoon)
Eurotel Smartphone (HTC Tanager)
Nokia N70, N73
************************

#13
zuf78

zuf78

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I have found some notes that *Ldb.dll like T9CzechLdb.dll should be placed in \windows directory, but than I have been searching for a while and found a way to get russian T9 (http://martin-martin....ru/MPX200.html) - this is done by changin t9ime.dll - so I think the Ldb files have to match correct version of t9ime.dll (keyboard layout) to work properly - so current procedure works for some languages but not all. Could you send me the t9ime.dll from the same version you have retrieved the T9CzechLdb.dll. Many thanks Zuf78

  • 0

#14
Tomas Kocanda

Tomas Kocanda

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 463 posts
  • Location:Prague, CZ
  • Devices:Samsung i600, HTC Typhoon

I have found some notes that *Ldb.dll like T9CzechLdb.dll should be placed in \windows directory, but than I have been searching for a while and found a way to get russian T9 (http://martin-martin....ru/MPX200.html) - this is done by changin t9ime.dll - so I think the Ldb files have to match correct version of t9ime.dll (keyboard layout) to work properly - so current procedure works for some languages but not all. Could you send me the t9ime.dll from the same version you have retrieved the T9CzechLdb.dll. Many thanks Zuf78

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Very interesting. If you can help, it would be fantastic...
OK, here are all T9xxxx files from \windows

Attached Files


  • 0
************************
Tomas Kocanda
Prague, Czech Republic
Samsung SGH-i600 (european version of BlackJack)
Eurotel Smartphone II (HTC Typhoon)
Eurotel Smartphone (HTC Tanager)
Nokia N70, N73
************************

#15
frankydvd

frankydvd

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:MPX220
Where is spanish?

  • 0

#16
Purgatory

Purgatory

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:mpx200

Very interesting. If you can help, it would be fantastic...
OK, here are all T9xxxx files from \windows

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

that's great.. but i need a turkish library. if anyone can copy from a phone which supports turkish t9 i will be appriciated. i thiink mpx 220 has ;)

Edited by Purgatory, 18 April 2005 - 12:38 AM.

  • 0

#17
Rampe

Rampe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:MPx200
I was trying my luck getting the MPx200's T9 to Finnish. No luck so far. Cannot type anything, no letters while pressing the keys.

What's the thing with those T9ime.dll's? I can't even seem to find where my T9LanguageLdb.dll files are on the phone altho they are mentioned in the registry (with no absolut path).

Edited by Rampe, 18 April 2005 - 04:47 PM.

  • 0

#18
dearsina

dearsina

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Location:Marylebone, London
  • Interests:I've been around since the days of the SPV (now suffixed 'Classic'). I miss the 8+1 way joystick.
  • Devices:HTC Vox

I was trying my luck getting the MPx200's T9 to Finnish. No luck so far. Cannot type anything, no letters while pressing the keys.

What's the thing with those T9ime.dll's? I can't even seem to find where my T9LanguageLdb.dll files are on the phone altho they are mentioned in the registry (with no absolut path).

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I remember when I did it (added languages) the second time around, the language comes up on the list, but the dll files doesn't seem to be loaded (ie. I wasn't able to write anything), which seems to be what you're experiensing. I still don't know what I did the first time to make it work. If I have time, I'll play around with it again (the phone I did it on developed an unrelated fault and I have a replacement now).

sina
london

  • 0

#19
tha_neo

tha_neo

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Interests:IT
  • Devices:SGH-i600
I know why it didnt work for any of you!
Here it is:D:D:D

If you have followed his step you should almost be done, the last thing you need to do is this:
go to
HKLocalMachine\T9 input Method\MUI\Languages
and there add in the string Available, edit and add the LCID Hex that your t9 you want to import have.
For exampel, if you want swedish you will have to add ,041d in the end of that string.

I did this and now I can use swedish T9 on my C500 with Orange ROM with WMP10:D greaaaaaaaaaat!!

  • 0
____________________________________
Using: Samsung SGH-i600
Old school: SPV E100, 6600, MPx200, C500, Qtek 8310, Qtek S200, Samsung SGH-i607, Nokia N80, SPV M3100, Nokia N73

#20
Rampe

Rampe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Location:Finland
  • Devices:MPx200
Here's what I did (and doesn't work as of yet):

Added string 040b with value "Finnish" to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/MUI/Available
Added string 040b with value "\Storage\Application Data\t9\T9FinnishLdb.dll" to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/T9 Input Method/LDBs
Added string 040b with value "Finnish" to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/T9 Input Method/MUI/LDBS

Finnish language appers in the T9 menu and I can select it. When trying to type, not letters are entered.

Phone is Motorola MPx200 with WM2003.

Any hope whatsoever?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users