Jump to content


Photo

Backup your Typhoon ROM

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
88 replies to this topic

#41
Austin519

Austin519

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
Champ:
The ROM was placed on Bittorrent a few days ago.

Austin519

Well,  I officially have backed up my ROM, successfully restored the original ROM, and unlocked the phone I bought last week from the Cingular store.  It cost me $38 bucks to do the unlock, but I am hopeful that I will some how, by hook or crook, get a WM 5.0 ROM for the Typhoon device.  It really pisses me off that I can't get an upgrade for 2003 SE from Audiovox or Cingular.  I called audiovox and they had the balls to tell me that I would/could not get an upgrade "because the hardware won't support WM 5.0"  What BS, I have seen it running on the Typhoon.... HTC has confirmed that 5.0 will work, but they won't even SELL me an image.  This is like Dell telling me I can't upgrade my computer from Windows 98 to XP.  Keeping my fingers crossed....

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


  • 0

#42
Champ

Champ

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Cingular SMT5600

Champ:
The ROM was placed on Bittorrent a few days ago.

Austin519

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Thanks, speaking of that I installed the ROM today on my Cingular Audiovox. It was fairly easy and I encountered no hiccups. However, I may look at the ROM floating out there, my cellular service reads "310410" instead of Cingular, and somes times reads ATT Wireless, with a triangle...

So far, my favorite feature is the ability to actually get caller id on my Jabra BT800. I am dismayed that there is still no support for the EDGE network in windows mobile.

Champ

  • 0

#43
nborton

nborton

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:SMT5600
What is the size of the backup ROM file? Your instructions say 31328768 (hex: 1DE0A00), when I backup my Rom with Tera Term, I see D user size = 0x3C8C0000, Image total size = 0x1DE0800.


Now 0x1De0800 is 31328256.. both backup a .bin with no errors. Am I overthinking this because I don't want my phone to explode if I put the wrong bin file on it? or does that extra 500bits make a difference?

Also, can someone PM me a link to the cingular ROM? I have the ATT 5600 and can't believe cingular doesn't have a link to download on their website :)

Thanks

  • 0

#44
Austin519

Austin519

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
Champ:
Whaaa?! It works?!?! I wanted to get the BT800 and was afraid of that. Does it really work? With just the Cingular ROM, or the new WM5 rom?

Austin519

  • 0

#45
Tech

Tech

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,490 posts
  • Devices:E200 2xC500 SP5m Vario
great stuff.

it worked for my ROM 4.1.1.4 (I can backup).... however I was unable to connect it to my smartcard reader on my PC and do the psdread stuff....

but now, I formatted that miniSD ... I can read the miniSD (obviously its blank).

I upgraded my SPV C500 ROM to the new Uk ROM... 4.2.1.1 and did the steps again (r2sd all) and i get this error:

r2sd all
***** user area size = 0x1E680000 Bytes
R2SDBackup() - Download type = 6
usTotalBlock = 1 sizeof(SDCARD_SIGNATRUE_TABLE)=512
Load Binary NORMAL partition: data from DiskOnChip to RAM
Start to read bianry partition.
Read binary partition successfully.
Load Binary NORMAL partition: data from DiskOnChip to RAM
Start to read bianry partition.
Read binary partition successfully.
You didn't get the proper security level to download a specific image


and yes, my phone has disabled the security certificate

??

  • 0
http://www.spapps.co.uk

Visit the Spapps UK Forums!!!
Spapps UK Forums [new]
Spapps UK Forums alternative link
^^^ CLICK ME ^^^

Current Projects:

DAR~ling update tba*
WMP Remote** (need new ideas!!)

TV Remote codenamed meetu (postponed)
mini PC Controller codenamed mawk

#46
Tech

Tech

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,490 posts
  • Devices:E200 2xC500 SP5m Vario
silly Q

lets say I upgrade the OS or downgrade the SPV C500 OS
and i had already backed up using this guide the entire ROM/OS.

Would I still be able to restore the phone from that back up I made on my miniSD? Like will it restore the ROM and OS I had before when using r2sd all ?

  • 0
http://www.spapps.co.uk

Visit the Spapps UK Forums!!!
Spapps UK Forums [new]
Spapps UK Forums alternative link
^^^ CLICK ME ^^^

Current Projects:

DAR~ling update tba*
WMP Remote** (need new ideas!!)

TV Remote codenamed meetu (postponed)
mini PC Controller codenamed mawk

#47
Champ

Champ

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Cingular SMT5600

Champ:
Whaaa?!  It works?!?!  I wanted to get the BT800 and was afraid of that.  Does it really work?  With just the Cingular ROM, or the new WM5 rom?

Austin519

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Yeah - It's phat. As far as I know, only WM5 supports the bluetooth handsfree profile - which is how it communicates caller id to the headset. On WM2003 sometimes I'd get caller id, sometimes I'd get Jarbled numbers...

Edited by Champ, 22 July 2005 - 01:12 AM.

  • 0

#48
Tech

Tech

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,490 posts
  • Devices:E200 2xC500 SP5m Vario
interesting.

I cannot seem to backup my ROM. This is what happens:

I have an SPV C500 with the ROM upgraded to UK 4.2.1.1 (which has WMP10)
Followed the instructions and did r2sd all
I get this error:

"You didnt get the proper security level to download a specified image"

I have sim unlocked the phone but what do i need to do to backup the ROM?
Thanks!

  • 0
http://www.spapps.co.uk

Visit the Spapps UK Forums!!!
Spapps UK Forums [new]
Spapps UK Forums alternative link
^^^ CLICK ME ^^^

Current Projects:

DAR~ling update tba*
WMP Remote** (need new ideas!!)

TV Remote codenamed meetu (postponed)
mini PC Controller codenamed mawk

#49
Champ

Champ

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Cingular SMT5600

interesting.

I cannot seem to backup my ROM. This is what happens:

I have an SPV C500 with the ROM upgraded to UK 4.2.1.1 (which has WMP10)
Followed the instructions and did r2sd all
I get this error:

"You didnt get the proper security level to download a specified image"

I have sim unlocked the phone but what do i need to do to backup the ROM?
Thanks!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I used Patched_RUU.exe to get Typhoon DV/PVT ROM on the device and then that error will go away.

  • 0

#50
Tech

Tech

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,490 posts
  • Devices:E200 2xC500 SP5m Vario
Thanks Champ - where do i get that from?


[edit] I found it but cannot seem to do an "emergency flash"... where is this option and do I open up the nbf provided in the zipped bootloader IU?

Edited by Tech, 22 July 2005 - 01:35 AM.

  • 0
http://www.spapps.co.uk

Visit the Spapps UK Forums!!!
Spapps UK Forums [new]
Spapps UK Forums alternative link
^^^ CLICK ME ^^^

Current Projects:

DAR~ling update tba*
WMP Remote** (need new ideas!!)

TV Remote codenamed meetu (postponed)
mini PC Controller codenamed mawk

#51
Tech

Tech

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,490 posts
  • Devices:E200 2xC500 SP5m Vario
right well there is an issue with the bootloader on the 4.2.1.1 ROM... so i just emergency flashed it with the 4.1.1.4 SPL

I backed up my ROM using tera team pro (r2sd all)

but how to I get the exact file size?

and if I do psdwrite H: blah.bin I get this:

H: - USB Storage-SDC
Drive geometry: 0x3e cyls, 255 t/cyl 63 s/t 512 b/s - 486.34Mbyte
ERROR: Unable to open file typhoonrom.bin - The system cannot find the file spec
ified.

CopyFileToSDCard(typhoonrom.bin:00000000, 4, 0x0, 00000000)
ERROR: Unable to open host/destination file - The system cannot find the file sp
ecified.


any ideas?

drive H will obviously not be accessible as the way the device writes to the sd card is of a different system....

  • 0
http://www.spapps.co.uk

Visit the Spapps UK Forums!!!
Spapps UK Forums [new]
Spapps UK Forums alternative link
^^^ CLICK ME ^^^

Current Projects:

DAR~ling update tba*
WMP Remote** (need new ideas!!)

TV Remote codenamed meetu (postponed)
mini PC Controller codenamed mawk

#52
Champ

Champ

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Cingular SMT5600

right well there is an issue with the bootloader on the 4.2.1.1 ROM... so i just emergency flashed it with the 4.1.1.4 SPL

I backed up my ROM using tera team pro (r2sd all)

but how to I get the exact file size?

and if I do psdwrite H: blah.bin I get this:

H: - USB Storage-SDC
Drive geometry: 0x3e cyls, 255 t/cyl 63 s/t 512 b/s - 486.34Mbyte
ERROR: Unable to open file typhoonrom.bin - The system cannot find the file spec
ified.

CopyFileToSDCard(typhoonrom.bin:00000000, 4, 0x0, 00000000)
ERROR: Unable to open host/destination file - The system cannot find the file sp
ecified.
any ideas?

drive H will obviously not be accessible as the way the device writes to the sd card is of a different system....

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



Use a hex editor to zero out your sd card. Then, do the backup to your sd card. Use the hex editor to view the sd card - now the zeros with be replaced with data up to a point. Copy all the data up to the zeros into a new file and save the file. That will tell you how long the file size.

  • 0

#53
Tech

Tech

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,490 posts
  • Devices:E200 2xC500 SP5m Vario
Thanks for that. I was able to use psdread and it seemed to have saved the image from the card to the computer fine. however I am concerned about the file size.

its like just over 12MB and here on the article its like just under 30MB...
I dont think the image I have created has the OS on it even though I did

r2sd all

any ideas?

How would i go about making it into an NBF file afterward?

I cannot seem to get the option to restore the image from the sdcard using WM2005 (PVT/DVT bootloader)

how do I get that option up?

  • 0
http://www.spapps.co.uk

Visit the Spapps UK Forums!!!
Spapps UK Forums [new]
Spapps UK Forums alternative link
^^^ CLICK ME ^^^

Current Projects:

DAR~ling update tba*
WMP Remote** (need new ideas!!)

TV Remote codenamed meetu (postponed)
mini PC Controller codenamed mawk

#54
Tech

Tech

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,490 posts
  • Devices:E200 2xC500 SP5m Vario
so frustrating! Sorry, please can some one clarify and help me in this

trying to backup my typhoon ROM and everything using r2sd all

once that has been done, I put the sd card in my card reader. i then use:

psdread H: 0 0x02000000 somefile.img

and shows about 32MB in that file.

next, i format (normally) my miniSD card.

Next I want to restore that image. I do this:

insert miniSD in card reader

then:

psdwrite H: somefile.img

I then take that card and put it in my phone. I switch the phone into bootloader mode (hold camera key whilst plugging in usb cable)

it sees the image and asks me if i wanna download it (press the volume key) I do this and it says "update not allowed!"

what is happening? what does that mean? have i done the steps correctly?

I do not understand the part following the guide on how to get the file size when you insert the card into the card reader (because Windows will not recognize the drive and asks you to format it)


help! :)

  • 0
http://www.spapps.co.uk

Visit the Spapps UK Forums!!!
Spapps UK Forums [new]
Spapps UK Forums alternative link
^^^ CLICK ME ^^^

Current Projects:

DAR~ling update tba*
WMP Remote** (need new ideas!!)

TV Remote codenamed meetu (postponed)
mini PC Controller codenamed mawk

#55
texasaggie1

texasaggie1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Can someone please help me? I cannot figure out how to "apply the usb patch" so teraterm will work. There is absolutely no documentation. Obviously it can be done cause most of you are doing it. Thanks!

  • 0

#56
Tech

Tech

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,490 posts
  • Devices:E200 2xC500 SP5m Vario

Can someone please help me? I cannot figure out how to "apply the usb patch" so teraterm will work. There is absolutely no documentation. Obviously it can be done cause most of you are doing it. Thanks!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



I think you can also use mtty and use the same commands

  • 0
http://www.spapps.co.uk

Visit the Spapps UK Forums!!!
Spapps UK Forums [new]
Spapps UK Forums alternative link
^^^ CLICK ME ^^^

Current Projects:

DAR~ling update tba*
WMP Remote** (need new ideas!!)

TV Remote codenamed meetu (postponed)
mini PC Controller codenamed mawk

#57
johnmcd3

johnmcd3

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:SMT5600
HELP!

To see if this worked, I tried backing up my phone to a miniSD card which worked as expected (r2sd all).

As a test, I then attempted a restore from the card by pushing the volume down key, which also appeared to work, but then when I turned on the phone again it always takes me to the 3 color screen-- never WM2003SE....

Did I somehow lose the O.S.? What do I do?

Please help!

John

  • 0

#58
johnmcd3

johnmcd3

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:SMT5600

Can someone please help me? I cannot figure out how to "apply the usb patch" so teraterm will work. There is absolutely no documentation. Obviously it can be done cause most of you are doing it. Thanks!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


you don't need to apply it, it's already there. just select USB from the serial dropdown list.

  • 0

#59
johnmcd3

johnmcd3

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:SMT5600

HELP!

To see if this worked, I tried backing up my phone to a miniSD card which worked as expected (r2sd all).

As a test, I then attempted a restore from the card by pushing the volume down key, which also appeared to work, but then when I turned on the phone again it always takes me to the 3 color screen-- never WM2003SE....

Did I somehow lose the O.S.?  What do I do?

Please help!

John

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Fixed my phone. Apparently the backup as is requires some more massaging to load the OS after loading the SPL. See thread of explaination: http://www.spv-devel...p=2801#post2801

John

  • 0

#60
favetta82

favetta82

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:SDA T-Mobile
Hi there,

maybe i'm alittle bit out of topics but anyway i would aprreciate ur help:

SDA t-mobile
windows mobile 2003 (Windows Ce 4.2)
SIM Unlocked

I try everithign to get a rom image but nothing worked!

What can i do?

I tried to use the tera pro sw (but i cannot start in engeneering mode)
I tried to copy the files but....

Moreover if anyone have a rom image with italian T9 would be great.

Thank u very much

PAOLO


Fixed my phone.  Apparently the backup as is requires some more massaging to load the OS after loading the SPL.  See thread of explaination: http://www.spv-devel...p=2801#post2801

John

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users