Jump to content


Photo

SPV M2000 - Vodafone

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1
pupton

pupton

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:england
  • Devices:Nexus 4
Is there a cab installer anywhere that will install the Vodafone network settings on my M2000?

  • 0

#2
pupton

pupton

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:england
  • Devices:Nexus 4
doh. found it

  • 0

#3
nickwaring

nickwaring

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

doh. found it

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Where did you find it?? I've been looking for exactly this!

  • 0

#4
p1tse

p1tse

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
what's a cab installer?
as i am looking to get a m2000 for a vodafone sim, so any info, links on what is required would be appreciated.
(i'm new to all this, so not to clued up on terms etc.)

  • 0

#5
fraser

fraser

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,811 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:HTC Hermes
A cab installer is one you copy to the phone then run from there. Tends to be smaller tweaks etc. Most larger, mature or commercial software gets installed on the PC and activesync installs it on the phone for you. You can download ActiveSync from the web, in fact I'd recommend that over the one on the disk, it will likely be more up-to-date on the Microsoft website. That's why you need the cradle (refering to my reply in your other topic).

One good thing about cab installers is that you can download them on the phone and install them directly, without needing a PC.

  • 0

#6
dazultra2000

dazultra2000

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:South UK
  • Devices:K850i/TyTN II
Can't you get a VPA3? Aren't they supposed to be out yet?

A cab installer is a .cab file that you can run on the device to install software contained within it (sort of like a self-extractable zip file).

If you get an M2000, you'll need to unlock it. £20.

  • 0
Previously owned phones: Maxon MX3204, Ericsson PH337, GA628, GF768, A1018, T18, T20s, A2628s, R320s, R380s, T65, T68m, SonyEricsson T68i, T300, T310, T610, T630, Z200, P800, P900, P910i, K700i, W800i, W900i, K800i, K850i Sony J70, Bosch 509, Philips Savvy, Motorola C520, m3788, T191, V600, V80, Panasonic X70, Nokia 3210, 3310, 6310i, NGage, 7600, N80 Sagem myX-5, Orange SPV, SPV C500, SPV C550, SPV M2000, SPV M5000, Amoi S6, HTC TyTN II

#7
p1tse

p1tse

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
where can this be unlocked for £20?

so would a cab installer be needed on m2000 on vodafone?

  • 0

#8
fraser

fraser

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,811 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:HTC Hermes
Search for "M2000 unlock" and ye will find. No, a cab installer isn't needed, it just configures it for you. It's not all that hard, honest! There are already posts describing the vodafone GPRS settings, do a little searching for "vodafone GPRS settings" and you should find them.

  • 0

#9
p1tse

p1tse

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
thanks again, the novice in me is feeling silly. but wanna be safe than sorry.

  • 0

#10
boyo69

boyo69

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts
Hi

attached is the Vodafone UK Contract customisation cab file....it will install all the Voicemail, SMS and GPRS/WAP details for Vodafone

you will need to ensure your M2000 is unlocked and ready to put in a Vodafone SIM......details to unlock this can be searched on this forum

hope it helps

ps i can get hold of pretty much all the UK mobile carrier cab files for both PAYG and Contract (Monthly).............i am a registered member of the club Imate site and they are all on there...........

Attached Files


  • 0

#11
dazultra2000

dazultra2000

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:South UK
  • Devices:K850i/TyTN II
You got the Orange one handy? I updated my Radio ROM and it wiped all the settings out. Was most infuriating!

  • 0
Previously owned phones: Maxon MX3204, Ericsson PH337, GA628, GF768, A1018, T18, T20s, A2628s, R320s, R380s, T65, T68m, SonyEricsson T68i, T300, T310, T610, T630, Z200, P800, P900, P910i, K700i, W800i, W900i, K800i, K850i Sony J70, Bosch 509, Philips Savvy, Motorola C520, m3788, T191, V600, V80, Panasonic X70, Nokia 3210, 3310, 6310i, NGage, 7600, N80 Sagem myX-5, Orange SPV, SPV C500, SPV C550, SPV M2000, SPV M5000, Amoi S6, HTC TyTN II

#12
boyo69

boyo69

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts
here you go !

Attached Files


  • 0

#13
p1tse

p1tse

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
hi thanks
was directed to cab files to xda-developers.com
is this the same thing, or is one better than the other?

also why does one want the orange cab files, when a m2000 is already orange, unless your using it for IIs or MDA III?

  • 0

#14
boyo69

boyo69

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts
you would use the Orange customisation cab files when you :-

(a) have bought an unlocked device (QTEK 9090, Imate PDA2k etc) and wish to use an Orange SIM

(:D you love playing around with ROM updates from other suppliers and have turned your phone into something else - thus erasing the Orange settings !!

Imate are particularly good as they list all of the UK (and worldwide) mobile carriers settings in individual Cab files.........rather than you manually setting up the various settings, the file can be extracted and installed to do it all for you

hope this explains !

  • 0

#15
p1tse

p1tse

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
what is the site to i-mate (require a bit more reading)

  • 0

#16
dazultra2000

dazultra2000

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:South UK
  • Devices:K850i/TyTN II

also why does one want the orange cab files, when a m2000 is already orange, unless your using it for IIs or MDA III?


(:D you love playing around with ROM updates from other suppliers and have turned your phone into something else - thus erasing the Orange settings !!


The above is correct, as what I said in my post, I updated my radio ROM, which wiped my GPRS settings - which messed things up slightly for my work VPN connection!

  • 0
Previously owned phones: Maxon MX3204, Ericsson PH337, GA628, GF768, A1018, T18, T20s, A2628s, R320s, R380s, T65, T68m, SonyEricsson T68i, T300, T310, T610, T630, Z200, P800, P900, P910i, K700i, W800i, W900i, K800i, K850i Sony J70, Bosch 509, Philips Savvy, Motorola C520, m3788, T191, V600, V80, Panasonic X70, Nokia 3210, 3310, 6310i, NGage, 7600, N80 Sagem myX-5, Orange SPV, SPV C500, SPV C550, SPV M2000, SPV M5000, Amoi S6, HTC TyTN II

#17
boyo69

boyo69

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts

what is the site to i-mate (require a bit more reading)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


www.clubimate.com

but you need to be a member to access the mobile cabs and other downloads.....this means you would have registered either a PDA2k or Imate Jam device to become a member (I have done both, yes, I know, Gadget freak !!!)

  • 0

#18
sonny1

sonny1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Hi

attached is the Vodafone UK Contract customisation cab file....it will install all the Voicemail, SMS and GPRS/WAP details for Vodafone

you will need to ensure your M2000 is unlocked and ready to put in a Vodafone SIM......details to unlock this can be searched on this forum

hope it helps

ps i can get hold of pretty much all the UK mobile carrier cab files for both PAYG and Contract (Monthly).............i am a registered member of the club Imate site and they are all on there...........


  • 0

#19
sonny1

sonny1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi

I am a new member and not sure where i am supposed to enter my reply as i cant se a reply box, please forgive me in advance.

My question is for Boy69 if i may, i have a m2000 which was on Orange, i looked at your post and the cab file, i copied it to my m2000 but i just dropped it into my documents, then ran it, did i do this right or was it meant to go somewhere else and run. I then put my vodafone sim in and got a text from vodafone to say they have sent me settings and that i should pin 1234 to save, but the m2000 doesnt seem to have an option to do this, any help on this would be much appreciated. Thanks





Hi

attached is the Vodafone UK Contract customisation cab file....it will install all the Voicemail, SMS and GPRS/WAP details for Vodafone

you will need to ensure your M2000 is unlocked and ready to put in a Vodafone SIM......details to unlock this can be searched on this forum

hope it helps

ps i can get hold of pretty much all the UK mobile carrier cab files for both PAYG and Contract (Monthly).............i am a registered member of the club Imate site and they are all on there...........


  • 0

#20
fraser

fraser

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,811 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:HTC Hermes
Hi sonny,

Watch out for older cab installers as the settings may have changed and they may not work now.

I don't use this phone anymore and I think this forum has pretty much gone quiet these days with very few posts over the last year. You'd be better posting any questions you have in one of the generic pocket pc forums here, I think the cab files are the same for most devices in this case.

Good luck!

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users