Jump to content


Photo

"Press OK to continue loading the content....."

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
Mr_Man

Mr_Man

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Salisbury, Wiltshire
  • Interests:Mobile technology
  • Devices:MDA Vario III
Can anyone tell me why I'm getting the Message "Press OK to continue loading the content of this page" when loading any Modaco page?

This also happens on CoolSmartphone but other sites seem to load fine.

I'm using an Orange SPV M2000.

Edited by Mr_Man, 13 March 2005 - 09:25 AM.

  • 0
SPV 1, E200, C600, M2000, SP5m, M600, M3100, MDA Vario III, MDA Vario IV

#2
smeg36

smeg36

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Location:Miami Beach
  • Devices:Sprint Touch Pro
If I remember correctly, it happens on sites with some sort of flash plug-in. It gets pretty annoying.

  • 0
Device: Sprint Touch Pro

#3
Chaser81

Chaser81

    I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 798 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:HTC One
  • Twitter:@@Chaser81
Happens on my I-Mate Jam as well. I just hit OK and ignore it.

  • 0
Phone-ography:

Current: iPhone 4

Past: iPhone 3G, iPhone, HTC TyTn II, HTC Touch, Nokia N95, Motorola Z8, Qtek 8500, T-Mobile MDA Vario, SonyEricsson W900i, SPV C550, SonyEricsson K750i, Nokia 9300, I-Mate Jam, C500, Moto V600, SonyEricsson P900, P800, Treo 600, SPV e200, Nokia 1100, Nokia 6230, SonyEricsson K700i, T610, Nokia 7650, SonyEricsson T68, T29, Moto T250, Nokia 8310, Samsung A100, SPV Classic, Moto V50, Nokia 7110, Vodafone EuroTel

Stress is when you wake up screaming and then realise you havent fallen asleep yet!

#4
Disco Stu

Disco Stu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,184 posts
  • Location:Coventry, UK
  • Interests:techno, Leeds United
  • Devices:HTC Touch Dual / SPV E650
Me too, but then I have a vague worry about what exactly I'm allowing to load

  • 0

#5
Chaser81

Chaser81

    I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 798 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:HTC One
  • Twitter:@@Chaser81
"Press OK to continue loading this page... And kill a small child"

  • 0
Phone-ography:

Current: iPhone 4

Past: iPhone 3G, iPhone, HTC TyTn II, HTC Touch, Nokia N95, Motorola Z8, Qtek 8500, T-Mobile MDA Vario, SonyEricsson W900i, SPV C550, SonyEricsson K750i, Nokia 9300, I-Mate Jam, C500, Moto V600, SonyEricsson P900, P800, Treo 600, SPV e200, Nokia 1100, Nokia 6230, SonyEricsson K700i, T610, Nokia 7650, SonyEricsson T68, T29, Moto T250, Nokia 8310, Samsung A100, SPV Classic, Moto V50, Nokia 7110, Vodafone EuroTel

Stress is when you wake up screaming and then realise you havent fallen asleep yet!

#6
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,436 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@@paulobrien
I think it's Flash related!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#7
Mr_Man

Mr_Man

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Salisbury, Wiltshire
  • Interests:Mobile technology
  • Devices:MDA Vario III
Thanks, glad I know it's not just me, but very annoying all the same.

  • 0
SPV 1, E200, C600, M2000, SP5m, M600, M3100, MDA Vario III, MDA Vario IV

#8
tudor

tudor

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Location:Romania
  • Devices:SPV C600
It's a patent-related issue. Web developers can overcome this by embedding a java script to load the content instead of just putting it as a flash object in html.

It affects Internet Explorer on WM2003 or later, as far as I know.

Have a look on this for more details.

  • 0

#9
Matt Kirby

Matt Kirby

    Gadget Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Location:London - England
  • Interests:Gadgets & technology
  • Devices:Touch HD
That patent was nulified although has this month been sent back to trial, see this story on The Register (it also has links to previous items in the story)

Basically Eolas lodged a patent for automatically invoking items in a webpage, and got the patent.

At this point it looked like webmasters had a choice between inserting "Click here to view content" on websites to get round the patent (by avoiding the "automatically" part), or license the technology from Eolas.

At one point Microsoft was instructed to pay Eolas $521m for infringing the patent, appealed that decision and then lost. Microsoft was (and still is) challenging the patent, citing "prior art" (in other words Eolas was trying to patent something that others had done already).

Then last March the orginal patent was nullified (due to the prior art arguement), therfore meaning that Microsoft wouldn't have to pay and that webmasters didn't have to recode everything.

The latest is that the appeals court has reversed part of an earlier ruling in the Eolas Vs Microsoft case, therfore sending the whole thing back to court.

Currently webmasters don't have to put "click here to view" messages, because the whole thing is still up in the air.

Fun fun fun!

  • 0
The internet is a series of toobs...

#10
tudor

tudor

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Location:Romania
  • Devices:SPV C600

Currently webmasters don't have to put "click here to view" messages, because the whole thing is still up in the air.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

It's not webmasters that put the message, it's Internet Explorer firing the messages if the content is embedded in the html. The webmasters have to use the javascript trick to avoit the message.
Here's an example of how to do it found on this page:

For example, the following tags in a page today:

<object classid="clsid:02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B"
codebase="http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab#version=6,0,2,0";
width="320" height="256" align="middle">
<param name="src" value="sample.mov" >
<param name="autoplay" value="true" >
<param name="bgcolor" value="black">
<embed src="sample.mov" autoplay="true" width="320" height="256"
align="middle" pluginspage="http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/"; >
</embed>
</object>

would be replaced with:

<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
  QT_WriteOBJECT('sample.mov', '320', '256', '',
     'autoplay', 'true',
     'bgcolor', 'black',
     'align', 'middle');
</script>

and would generate the following at runtime:

<object classid="clsid:02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B"
width="320" height="256"
codebase="http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab#version=6,0,2,0";
align="middle" >
<param name="src" value="sample.mov">
<param name="autoplay" value="true" >
<param name="bgcolor" value="black">
<embed src="sample.mov" width="320" height="256"
pluginspage="http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/";
align="middle" autoplay="true" bgcolor="black" > </embed>
</object>

  • 0

#11
Matt Kirby

Matt Kirby

    Gadget Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Location:London - England
  • Interests:Gadgets &amp; technology
  • Devices:Touch HD
Yep, you're right - my mistake!

I've got a feeling that it's only one version of IE thats affected, and I think that the update concerned from Microsoft was only available for a short time - although that's worth checking, cause my memory is a bit hazy on this one!

Firefox, AOL, Mozilla, Opera, et al, are unaffected, cause Eolas hasn't sued them for infringing the patent (yet?).

  • 0
The internet is a series of toobs...

#12
Disco Stu

Disco Stu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,184 posts
  • Location:Coventry, UK
  • Interests:techno, Leeds United
  • Devices:HTC Touch Dual / SPV E650
PPC owners.
Press OK no more !
http://pocketgear.co...il.asp?id=17303
:D

  • 0

#13
smeg36

smeg36

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Location:Miami Beach
  • Devices:Sprint Touch Pro
I noticed yesterday that Modaco no longer get the Press OK message. Nice.

  • 0
Device: Sprint Touch Pro




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users