Jump to content


Photo

Tip on setting up your o2 XDA II Mini

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#21
montjoye

montjoye

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hey !

If you want a real solutions for this, win more free memory, see this page :D

http://prooty.free.f...=page&id_page=9

its a french website, however this page is in english :D

  • 0

#22
MitchellO

MitchellO

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,122 posts
  • Location:Leonay, NSW
  • Devices:HTC Desire
Says the same thing as what i said at the beginning of this thread.

  • 0

#23
fallwood

fallwood

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
Found the file that contains the tmobile settings its customize.sa.cab. What exactly does the intellidialer and intellipad do, cant see any difference without it appart from the nasty pink and grey theme is gone from phone keypad.

  • 0

#24
bretto

bretto

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 546 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Interests:Just about everything except Rap music and Carnies....<br /><br />....small hands, smell like cabbage....
  • Devices:o2 xphone / imate 2
Hey Guys

I just fell over this thread and thought I might be able to offer some info.

I had been developing on my xda II with the normal "official" ROM from Telstra(autstralia)/Imate which is wm2003 and needed to get my device running wm2003se because my software was killing pdas with second edition on them for some reason.

After some soul searching and a heap of bad press about my app I jumped in and had a shot at it.

Im so glad I did since I managed to reproduce the incompatability problem with my app and fix it. Not to mention wm2003se provided me with much better features than I previously had.

So anway........

The way I understand it is this.

The ROM contains your standard windows stuff and the extended rom contains your desired applications that enhance windows mobile.

There are a couple of programs out there that allow you to unhide and unlock (and visa versa) your extended rom thus allowing you to access it as you would your storage card etc.

When you have it unlocked you can nominate what applications you want to install on your device when you hard reset. This is incredibly useful.

By nominate I mean get rid of any cab files that you dont want and copy any other cabs you do want to be installed. And editing the config.txt file to only install your desired items. Bare in mind the extended rom can only be 16MB in total I think.

The config.txt file is used by the auto installer and contains the list of what will be installed.

There is a fantastic thread all about this over at xda-developers.com and what applications the author considers to be required which he denotes with a *.

http://forum.xda-dev...pic.php?t=16916

Its all info about upgrading the xdaII but from what I can gather should relate to any wm2003se extended rom.

The tools for unlocking the extended rom can be obtained from there too.

Thought this might help out a bit to unlock the "mystery" of the extended rom.

Cheers


Bretto

  • 0
Cheers

Bretto

--------------------------------------------
"Lifes a garden...DIG it!"
--------------------------------------------
o2 xphone (e200) wm2003
Imate 2 (HTC Himalaya) wm2003se
O2 xda2 (HTC Himalaya) wm2005
O2 xda2 Mini (Magician) "Say hello to my little friend.."

#25
Perfectionist

Perfectionist

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 354 posts
  • Location:London - U.K.
  • Interests:Flashlights, Multi Tools, Mobile Phones &amp; Gadgets<br />Mountain Biking, Snooker &amp; Pool<br />Politics, Religion &amp; Lesbian Porn :)
  • Devices:MDA Compact 3
Does having only about 10Mb of free RAM cause any problems ??

  • 0

Perfect Device = Samsung M8920 with WinMo7 plus FM & TV Tuners !!


#26
MitchellO

MitchellO

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,122 posts
  • Location:Leonay, NSW
  • Devices:HTC Desire
No. I typically have 12mb free. I have installed a few more programs, and when you have some temp internet files I have 12mb free. No probs!

  • 0

#27
Perfectionist

Perfectionist

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 354 posts
  • Location:London - U.K.
  • Interests:Flashlights, Multi Tools, Mobile Phones &amp; Gadgets<br />Mountain Biking, Snooker &amp; Pool<br />Politics, Religion &amp; Lesbian Porn :)
  • Devices:MDA Compact 3

My Jam suddenly decided to do a hard reset on me last night, so before i started getting it back to normal i thought i'd give this ago.

Without installing anything i have an instant 15mb memory boost! i.e. only 0.94mb of storage memory is being used!!

I decided to get BT up and running so i could properly see the files in the extended rom directory. I've attached this list for those who are interested.

Right which ones to install, and which ones to not!

Mike

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>




I wanna try this !!

Does anybody know what all the T-mobile files do ??

Which ones are essential to install ??

Also, would there be any permenant damage done if I try and delete the Extended ROM folder ??

  • 0

Perfect Device = Samsung M8920 with WinMo7 plus FM & TV Tuners !!


#28
MitchellO

MitchellO

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,122 posts
  • Location:Leonay, NSW
  • Devices:HTC Desire
Why would you want to delete it? If you want to hide it, run the delete_vdisk cab and it should disappear.

I doubt it would let you delete it anyway.

  • 0

#29
cdx

cdx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:imate jam

Why would you want to delete it? If you want to hide it, run the delete_vdisk cab and it should disappear.

I doubt it would let you delete it anyway.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Ive been using these tricks for a while but I CANT get phonepad to work. I do the softreset, then install my operator settings. Then I click phonepad and it installs all the T9 stuff but then when I go to messaging and click the SIP I get keyboard etc etc but not phonepad. HELP!

  • 0

#30
MitchellO

MitchellO

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,122 posts
  • Location:Leonay, NSW
  • Devices:HTC Desire
Did you click the little arrow next to the pic of the keyboard at the bottom? If you do, a menu will appear and you should see PhonePad as an option.

  • 0

#31
cdx

cdx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:imate jam

Did you click the little arrow next to the pic of the keyboard at the bottom? If you do, a menu will appear and you should see PhonePad as an option.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

It doesnt. So what I did was a hard reset and just installed everything just to make sure. Phonepad was still not there, and when I went to the help and selected phone pad it just came up as junk. I think it might be to do with the ROM update I did, not sure.

  • 0

#32
MitchellO

MitchellO

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,122 posts
  • Location:Leonay, NSW
  • Devices:HTC Desire
I'd post my PhonePad cab, but I am on dialup atm. If you post a message tomorrow to remind me I should have broadband and will upload the file.

  • 0

#33
cdx

cdx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:imate jam

I'd post my PhonePad cab, but I am on dialup atm. If you post a message tomorrow to remind me I should have broadband and will upload the file.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

After thinking about your reply I re-installed the WWE ROM then copied the phonepad.cab to SD card. Installed the Arabic Extended ROM then as I suspected phonepad didnt work. So I then re-installed the WWE phonepad.cab and viola it worked!

Thanks

  • 0

#34
MitchellO

MitchellO

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,122 posts
  • Location:Leonay, NSW
  • Devices:HTC Desire
Great! Glad you got it working!

  • 0

#35
cdx

cdx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:imate jam

Great! Glad you got it working!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Sprite backup is a lifesaver! :D

  • 0

#36
kev51773

kev51773

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Devices:MDA Compact
So, does anyone have a definative list of what each of these cab files does,

So far I know;

Autorun - Application to initiate the installation Process
Caller_ID_T-Mobile_WWE_RC10 - Caller Id and Photo Contacts
Config - List detailing the order of the installation process
Customize.sa - T-Mobile settings
Delete_vdisk_shortcut_WWE.sa - Hides the extended rom folder
GPRSMonitor_WWE.sa - The standard crap GPRS monitor
Intellidialer_T-Mobile_WWE_RC10 - T-Mobile modded Intellidialer
Intellipad_TMO_WWE_B12 - The T-Mobile Modded T9 style text entry system
EmailWiz_UK_v1.01.0003_1011 - Setup UK email account
MMS_2.0.0.13_WWE - MMS libraries
MMS_Setting_WWE_UK - MMS UK Settings
TP_Disable - Disables Touchpad during install process
TP_Enable - Enables Touchpad at end of install process

Ones I dont know for sure, some of which sound obvious are,

Zip_Magician_T-Mobile_WWE_B12 - Is this the crap zip package?
Version_WWE_101128.sa - No idea
UA_Profile_TMO - No idea
TMO_WallPaper - I assume this is the offensive looking wallpaper
TMO_CustomizeUK_WWE_B13 - Not sure
Java 10.1.2.57_WWE - Is this is PocketPC JRE?
Backup_Restore.sa - Is this required as well as the Activesync backup option?
Camera_Patch_WWE_B15.sa - Does this provide camera function or improve it?


If anyone could explain any of the bottom section, that would be helpful, I don't really want to remove cabs without understanding the functionality I am removing.

Also does anyone have an version of intellidialer without T-Mobile's mods that they could share?

  • 0

#37
mike-oh

mike-oh

    MMmmm shiny

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,234 posts
  • Location:Leeds
  • Interests:Sky Diving, Go Karting, Travelling
  • Devices:MDA Vario II
Bump ;)

  • 0

#38
jfran

jfran

    The wapfreak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Location:leeds, UK
  • Devices:MDA Compact V, HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@jmfran

Sprite backup is a lifesaver! ;)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Is there any advantage of this over the xbbackup provided with the machine

rgds

Jim

  • 0
--
Jim

#39
MitchellO

MitchellO

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,122 posts
  • Location:Leonay, NSW
  • Devices:HTC Desire
Um, well, xBackup is a bit CR4P. I relied on it once, and it didn't work. I tried it a second time and nada.

  • 0

#40
jfran

jfran

    The wapfreak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Location:leeds, UK
  • Devices:MDA Compact V, HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@jmfran

Ones I dont know for sure, some of which sound obvious are,

Zip_Magician_T-Mobile_WWE_B12 - Is this the crap zip package?

Yes, its basic but does the trick

TMO_WallPaper - I assume this is the offensive looking wallpaper


yes you said it, you could just replace this with your favourite wallpaper if modifying the extended Rom folder and the config file

TMO_CustomizeUK_WWE_B13 - Not sure

All other forms if t-mobile customisation like the t-mobile today menu, t zones etc

Java 10.1.2.57_WWE - Is this is PocketPC JRE?


yes

Backup_Restore.sa - Is this required as well as the Activesync backup option?
Camera_Patch_WWE_B15.sa - Does this provide camera function or improve it?


Not really needed as I havent seen any difference using them.

Have also installed device manager and task manager from the guy that provided the reg edit, quite like fact that you can perform soft/hard resets directly from the screen!

rgds

jim

  • 0
--
Jim




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users