AotW: CellTrack

Guest PaulOBrien

Guest Paul [MVP]

AotW: CellTrack

This week's app is CellTrack from SPV-Developers, a new Open Source application for your enjoyment!

celltrack1.pngcelltrack2.pngcelltrack3.png

You'll find details of the application below, and we've tracked down Martin (a.k.a. Zone-MR), one of the lead developers on the application to give us the lowdown ;)

Hi Martin, and thanks for speaking to MoDaCo! Please introduce yourself!

I'm a 2nd-year Electronics student at Newcastle University. I'm fascinated by embedded systems and mobile technology. I spend most of my free time coding various software projects.

Describe CellTrack in your own words

CellTrack is a utility which runs on Windows Mobile based phones. It gathers information on the cell-towers in range of your phone, and is able to approximate your location based on this.

There are many uses for this location information. For example, CellTrack can report it's location to a web-server, so you can display your latest whereabouts on your website, e.g.:

zone-mr.png

You will also be able to instruct the software to perform certain actions when your location changes.

What can we expect for CellTrack going forwards?

CellTrack is in the early stage of development, and the current version is little more than a proof-of-concept. There are many features which will appear in future versions, such as:

* Automatically performing certain actions when your location changes. For example, diverting all your calls to your ground-line when you are at home.

* Notification when people of interest are nearby. For example, it could notify you if you happen to be in the same place as another MoDaCo member.

* 'Virtual Graffiti' - so you can leave notes, which can later be seen by anyone who walks into the same area.

* Support for more phones. Currently only the SPV C500, SMT5600, and SDA-series phones are supported.

How can MoDaCo members get involved in the application's development?