Jump to content


Photo

where to get 5600 casing

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
coyspiracy

coyspiracy

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 136 posts
i need a new case for my 5600. does anyone know where i can buy one for a good price. i sent it to audiovox, but they're charging me way to much. $60 dollars just to replace the faceplate..haillzz nah!!. i ll do it myself...

  • 0

#2
mobile-distortion

mobile-distortion

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Devices:SE P905

i need a new case for my 5600. does anyone know where i can buy one for a good price. i sent it to audiovox, but they're charging me way to much. $60 dollars just to replace the faceplate..haillzz nah!!. i ll do it myself...

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I would try getting a "dummy" display phone off eBay and try that.

  • 0

#3
bz999

bz999

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Austin, TX - USA
  • Devices:SMT5600

I would try getting a "dummy" display phone off eBay and try that.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Has anybody out there confirmed that a dummy case will indeed work. :-k :-k


Becasue for the 5-6 bucks on ebay .. it is a steal!!!! :)/

Thanks
Matt

  • 0

#4
ad241

ad241

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Devices: blackjack.

Has anybody out there confirmed that a dummy case will indeed work.  :-k  :-k
Becasue for the 5-6 bucks on ebay .. it is a steal!!!!  :)/

Thanks
Matt

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I read ppl used dummy cases for their c500s. So, i'm guessing it will work for 5600's as well.

  • 0

#5
bz999

bz999

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Austin, TX - USA
  • Devices:SMT5600

I read ppl used dummy cases for their c500s. So, i'm guessing it will work for 5600's as well.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Awesome!!! Well I guess Ill be a 5600 guinnea pig!

Thanks

Ill post back to let you know how things go!!!

  • 0

#6
tmoneypenny

tmoneypenny

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Audiovox SMT5600
Regarding the dummy cases... does anyone know if the buttons work? They're not just part of the cover, are they?

  • 0

#7
Chris Edwards

Chris Edwards

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
  • Devices:HTC Vox / BlackBerry 8700

  • 0
Chris Edwards
PocketMatrix.com

#8
Abecedarian

Abecedarian

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Devices:Audiovox SMT 5600

i need a new case for my 5600. does anyone know where i can buy one for a good price. i sent it to audiovox, but they're charging me way to much. $60 dollars just to replace the faceplate..haillzz nah!!. i ll do it myself...

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I wouldn't if I were you. There is only one thing I am absolutely certain will void your warranty, and that is taking your phone apart. You never know when you might want your warranty; if your phone loses the ability to receive sound from a headset (mine did), you'll be hard pressed to find a solution on any of the boards. I've been holding off switching to another plan that could save me $30/month in no small part because of how valuable I consider it to be!

Your choice, but forking up the $60 could save you $400 later down the road.

  • 0
I'm contemplating a switch to Cingular, so any backup SMT5600 Cingular or AT&T ROMs would be great. Feel free to contact me! (*cough* PM *cough*)

#9
bz999

bz999

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Austin, TX - USA
  • Devices:SMT5600

Regarding the dummy cases... does anyone know if the buttons work?  They're not just part of the cover, are they?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Dummy phone arrived today. I read over various articles on how to disasseble it. At first, I was ready to just whip out tools and bust the damn thing open. However, all is needed is a razor blade and some patience.

I was able to replace the:
1. Front Cover
2. Keypads
3. Back Upper Piece (black w/ ms logo)

NOT ABLE:
1. Silver/Middle (contains phone info .. serial.. etc)
2. Joystick (dummy phone piece doesnt have tabs t hook on)
3. Back Bottom Piece/Slider (weight superglued to it)

That being said...

I suppose every piece besides the joystick can potentially be replaced if need be, however, in my situation, it wasn't worth time to replace the parts of the phone that will only look new for about a week or so.

In conclusion...

SUCCESS !!! My phone looks brand new. Screen is dust free. Overall.. makes me feel a heck of a lot cooler in the long run!

and yes .. disassembling your phone voids the warranty! However, those of us who are on cingular and have insurance ($5/month).. if your phone ever breaks/gets stolen/lost/dropped in lake/"GET THE POINT" .. you can get a brand new phone for a $50 deductible !! Finally.. cingular can actually benefit me somehow!!

THE END! :shock:

-matt

  • 0

#10
bills1974

bills1974

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Devices:Cingular 8525
Just an FYI, you may think you have insurance (aka someone in the store sold it to you). However, Cingular is not offering insurance on any of the Smartphones, PDA's or RAZR. I had an MPX220 (SMT5600 coming today) and saw some posts on the MPX220 board regarding this issue. I thought I had insurance as I said I wanted it when the sales associate sold it to me when I purchased the MPX. Four months later when I called, Cingular said that it wasn't on my plan and told me the phones that it's not offered on...you may want to give them a call and double check...

Dummy phone arrived today. I read over various articles on how to disasseble it. At first, I was ready to just whip out tools and bust the damn thing open. However, all is needed is a razor blade and some patience.

I was able to replace the:
1. Front Cover
2. Keypads
3. Back Upper Piece (black w/ ms logo)

NOT ABLE:
1. Silver/Middle (contains phone info .. serial.. etc)
2. Joystick (dummy phone piece doesnt have tabs t hook on)
3. Back Bottom Piece/Slider (weight superglued to it)

That being said...

I suppose every piece besides the joystick can potentially be replaced if need be, however, in my situation, it wasn't worth time to replace the parts of the phone that will only look new for about a week or so.

In conclusion...

SUCCESS !!! My phone looks brand new. Screen is dust free. Overall.. makes me feel a heck of a lot cooler in the long run!

and yes .. disassembling your phone voids the warranty! However, those of us who are on cingular and have insurance ($5/month).. if your phone ever breaks/gets stolen/lost/dropped in lake/"GET THE POINT" .. you can get a brand new phone for a $50 deductible !! Finally.. cingular can actually benefit me somehow!!

THE END!  :shock:

-matt

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


  • 0

#11
FlipediS

FlipediS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Just an FYI, you may think you have insurance (aka someone in the store sold it to you).  However, Cingular is not offering insurance on any of the Smartphones, PDA's or RAZR.  I had an MPX220 (SMT5600 coming today) and saw some posts on the MPX220 board regarding this issue.  I thought I had insurance as I said I wanted it when the sales associate sold it to me when I purchased the MPX.  Four months later when I called, Cingular said that it wasn't on my plan and told me the phones that it's not offered on...you may want to give them a call and double check...

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


That’s weird because I to had the Mpx220 and had it insured and then called it in because it was not taking a charge and they sent me a new 5600 for the 50$ deductible. And had no problems. All they did was give me the name and number of the insurance company they use and I called them up and was its way.

  • 0

#12
bills1974

bills1974

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Devices:Cingular 8525

That’s weird because I to had the Mpx220 and had it insured and then called it in because it was not taking a charge and they sent me a new 5600 for the 50$ deductible.  And had no problems.  All they did was give me the name and number of the insurance company they use and I called them up and was its way.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



You actually could have saved yourself the $50 as they're doing it through their warranty program, that's how I got my 5600. Told them my MPX wasn't working and people I know were getting the 5600 instead...they said the MPX is backordered and sent the 5600 right out to me with a return shipping label for the MPX...As far as the insurance goes though, I'm extremely surprised that you had it...

  • 0

#13
jmun2098

jmun2098

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Devices:mpx220

You actually could have saved yourself the $50 as they're doing it through their warranty program, that's how I got my 5600.  Told them my MPX wasn't working and people I know were getting the 5600 instead...they said the MPX is backordered and sent the 5600 right out to me with a return shipping label for the MPX...As far as the insurance goes though, I'm extremely surprised that you had it...

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


yeah your right....i dont know why they made you pay 50 dollars when everyone else is getting the smt5600 for free through cingular warranty exchange program...and as far as insurance goes, i dont think you have it thats impossible becuase they dont offer it on these phones....if you call cingular and ask them about insurance they will say you should not have it and they will reinburst you for all the months you have been paying insurance for.

Edited by jmun2098, 26 July 2005 - 08:48 PM.

  • 0

#14
bz999

bz999

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Austin, TX - USA
  • Devices:SMT5600

yeah your right....i dont know why they made you pay 50 dollars when everyone else is getting the smt5600 for free through cingular warranty exchange program...and as far as insurance goes, i dont think you have it thats impossible becuase they dont offer it on these phones....if you call cingular and ask them about insurance they will say you should not have it and they will reinburst you for all the months you have been paying insurance for.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


in my situation. i went to cingular with a att smt5600 unlocked. i had my last phone stolen but didnt use the insurance because it was a pos motorola flip entry phone. the guy at the front desk entered all the info off of the phone and assured me that it was covered since i didnt purchase the phone under an "agreement plan" with them.

i have called cingular. they have looked up the info on file for the phone and say it is covered.

i guess ill just have to wait and see if i ever lose it .. whether or not they end up covering me or not. cingular is a huuuuge company and believe me (jmun2098) i favor your answer vs what anybody at cingular tells me.

thanks for info everybody!!! btw. wm5 this phone rocks!! i dont see y people are having soo many probs??? i just got my 1gb atp card in mail. the new media syncing features rock!!!

  • 0

#15
Maxrom

Maxrom

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:MDA Compact III

Dummy phone arrived today. I read over various articles on how to disasseble it. At first, I was ready to just whip out tools and bust the damn thing open. However, all is needed is a razor blade and some patience.

I was able to replace the:
1. Front Cover
2. Keypads
3. Back Upper Piece (black w/ ms logo)

NOT ABLE:
1. Silver/Middle (contains phone info .. serial.. etc)
2. Joystick (dummy phone piece doesnt have tabs t hook on)
3. Back Bottom Piece/Slider (weight superglued to it)


Thats good news - my phone is looking a bit tired, so I bought a new dummy phone to use as a donor. However, I'm having real trouble getting the battery cover off - is it glued down? How did you get your cover off without damaging it?

  • 0
SmartGPS PRO is now available with POI support, data logging and more!

Get SmartGPS PRO now!

SmartGPS PRO includes QVGA support, POI notifications (including support for the UK speed camera database), Waypoints, GPS Logging, Distance calculations, Compas and a Day/Night colour scheme!

Visit smartphone.maxrom.com for support, updates and to get SmartGPS PRO!

#16
Maxrom

Maxrom

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:MDA Compact III
Ok, I've just finished swapping my C500's case with that from a dummy phone, and it now looks good as new :)

For me, the dummy phone was good for the battery cover, the front fascia, and keypad. The rocker switch (as mentioned earlier) cannot be used. The silver middle section of the phone can be used, but due to some warping of my dummy phones plastic (possibly caused by myself getting a little too heavy handed taking it apart) I reused the one my phone originally had. I also opted not to use the top part of the rear plastic cover as I didnt have the patience to try and transplant the aerial contained in it.

The dummy phone's battery cover, and top rear cover were glued on, so I used a sharp Stanley knife (craft knife) to slide into the joins and seperate the pieces.

Using the dummy phone as a donor is a bit of a fiddly job, but the results are worth the effort. While I had the C500 all apart, I also took the opportunity to clean up some of the dust inside it too, which is a good job done. No chance of any replacements from Orange to fix the dust problem for me, as it's a second hand phone, but for £5 and a bit of effort, it now looks sweet ;)

  • 0
SmartGPS PRO is now available with POI support, data logging and more!

Get SmartGPS PRO now!

SmartGPS PRO includes QVGA support, POI notifications (including support for the UK speed camera database), Waypoints, GPS Logging, Distance calculations, Compas and a Day/Night colour scheme!

Visit smartphone.maxrom.com for support, updates and to get SmartGPS PRO!

#17
lancelot4

lancelot4

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:spv c550

Regarding the dummy cases... does anyone know if the buttons work? They're not just part of the cover, are they?

I replaced the front and back of my c550 (pretty similar to c600) with a dummy case from a phone shop (free!). The dummy case is complete apart from the fact that the joystick was a fake. The buttons are part of the front fascia, and are working fine on my phone. Because I replaced the front back and middle of the phone with the dummy one, I had to unglue the speaker and the camera, but you just need to be careful. They often glue the battery cover closed to stop people taking them off in the shop, so you may need a bit more thumb power to get the back off the dummy.
Hope this helps

  • 0

#18
Awacs

Awacs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Devices:HTC S730

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users