Jump to content


Photo

m2000 silent incoming call issue

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#21
ingster

ingster

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Touch Dual
I've contacted orange last week regarding this problem and oh surprise surprise they've never heard of this problem, now i'm waiting for orange technical division to get back to me about this but apparently there's a clause of them supplying me with an equivalent handset, well to my thinking, i'd need a handset with qwerty keyboard, wifi, b'tooth and touchscreen, so... as jimbob managed to get an XDA exec sorted through o2 i should be able to get an M5000, here's hoping!

  • 0
Posted Image

#22
fraser

fraser

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,811 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:HTC Hermes

I've contacted orange last week regarding this problem and oh surprise surprise they've never heard of this problem

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Personally, I would have called them on that bull the moment they attempted it. It's a well know issue that's been around for almost a year. Several of their customers have had numerous replacements over this issue. The person that told you that it was new the them was either incompetent, a new start, or lying. Either way, ask to speak to someone else who can help you.

  • 0

#23
ingster

ingster

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Touch Dual

Personally, I would have called them on that bull the moment they attempted it. It's a well know issue that's been around for almost a year. Several of their customers have had numerous replacements over this issue. The person that told you that it was new the them was either incompetent, a new start, or lying. Either way, ask to speak to someone else who can help you.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I know, i called them again today and the tech team apparently did try to call me back - surprising though my phone's been on all weekend and no call! Anyway they want me to give them 3 days worth of information about where it goes wrong (location of myself), what time it goes wrong, where the caller is, what type of phone they're on (landline/mobile etc) and what i do to resolve the solution, :evil: not a happy bunny seeing as i explained this all to muppet no.1 nearly two weeks ago!

  • 0
Posted Image

#24
ingster

ingster

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Touch Dual
Not to say that people who work for orange are muppets i'm just infuriated by non-communication!

  • 0
Posted Image

#25
DJ2liveBS

DJ2liveBS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:SPV M2000
Surely this is a problem with the phone and therefore as I believe it the company that sold it to you should be held responsible. As long as it is within its warranty period they should at least help out or offer a replacement.

Just my two pence worth.

P.S. I have this issue and orange tech support are looking into it. Or so they keep saying.

  • 0

#26
abz2003

abz2003

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I am on my 5th M2000 all with the same fault but Orange are mucking me about, They know there is a fault but wont take responsibility for it. If the handset is faulty 3 times with the same fault you can request the next handset up, but they wont let you as they are trying to give me a p910, m500 or a treo 650 which all dont have wifi so are inferior handsets. It seems ike this handset is going down the same road as the mpx200 and should be recalled! :cry:

  • 0

#27
imt21

imt21

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
Never had this problem until I updated to the new ROM on the Orange website.

Wish I hadn't bothered now.

  • 0

#28
fUNKUS

fUNKUS

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Location:Manchester
  • Devices:MDA Compact II
typical attitude of comanies who only care about you when you ask them to close your account. As usual we have to trawl through all this stuff on google cos the massive corporations get to say 'i didn'n do it'.......grrrrrrrr

I also have this problem.......

will post if bt idea works

  • 0

#29
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II

I also have this problem.......

will post if bt idea works

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

fUNKUS, this problem seems all but eliminated on later roms (version 1.4 onwards) so the providers do seem to be making inroads. When I had my MDA III the problem occured much less after updating to the i-mate 1.40 rom and then stopped occuring altogether after I updated to the latest T-Mobile rom version 1.42.

I was more agrieved by the lack of an official update route to WM5. It's what made me decide the time had come to part with the MDA III :)

  • 0

#30
fUNKUS

fUNKUS

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Location:Manchester
  • Devices:MDA Compact II
Well it wasn't bluetooth it turns out it was a hardware issue with the headset socket. When you remove the 3 band plug a little switch should pop in where the plug used to be enabling the speakers. It seems that this switch gets stuck sometimes, all you need to do is use a paperclip to wiggle the switch free and it will click in :) (i used a plastic coated wire to stop the audio connections being scratched)

I know someone will have posted this on the forum already but i expect a few people who think they have this bluetooth issue and cannot fix it probably have this switch issue.

Hope this helps
fUNKUS

Ps: im putting off swapping the rom for now, untill the t-mobile rom sends me over the edge. A couple of tweaks have sped it significantly, and you know the old addage 'if it aint broke...' hehe.
pps:having said that my rom details are the same as yours eccept for the last figure in ExtROM which is 110.....does that mean im up to date anyway?

Edited by fUNKUS, 13 February 2006 - 07:50 PM.

  • 0

#31
LaurenceSilvester

LaurenceSilvester

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I have the same problem as however I have had it with phones that have not had the plugin headset so obviously not a switch problem. orange are also denying that it is a known problem with these phones. this forum alone seems to prove otherwise.

Orange have decided to offer me the m500 p910i or the palm trio I have refused as not got similar features. they also offered to upgrade to the m5000 for £200
I am just keep getting them to replace with new m2000. I think its been about 10 now. ho hum just have to keep sending them back till I get something that works.

I am thinking about trying the sale of goods act in that the device is not up to advertised standad ie you can use it as a PDA but not a phone. anybody else tried this?

  • 0

#32
travisb

travisb

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 363 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Wales
  • Devices:Galaxy Note 2, Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@marksou
I have the silent call issue as well. However since getting ActiveSync 4.1, if I get a call when the phone's in the cradle, I consistently get it when I take the phone out to answer it.

Not happy

  • 0
[sigtracker]9444[/sigtracker]




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users