Jump to content


Photo

New Orange ROM

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1
matt1971

matt1971

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Samsung i780
Hi,

Under the thread Dade's Review, there are a few replies mentioning that Orange are now shipping the M2000's with a new ROM thats includes WMP10, updated BT and Radio versions.

I called Orange and they told me to check the website. I told them there is nothing on their website, so the chap went and checked with another dept, and told me that a new ROM will be coming shortly.

Think this is true or a bluff?

Matt

  • 0
Psion 3->M505->Ipaq 3660,3970,5555->E200,M2000,M5000,M3100->i780

#2
wheresalan

wheresalan

    Not sure where he is most of the time...

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Ultimate, Computers, Drinking.
  • Devices:HTC Touch Pro2

Hi,

Under the thread Dade's Review, there are a few replies mentioning that Orange are now shipping the M2000's with a new ROM thats includes WMP10, updated BT and Radio versions.

I called Orange and they told me to check the website. I told them there is nothing on their website, so the chap went and checked with another dept, and told me that a new ROM will be coming shortly.

Think this is true or a bluff?

Matt

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



I have received a replacement Orange SPV M2000 today and it is still running with WMP9 :|

But maybe new M2000's are coming out with WMP10, I hope so and I hope they release an update for us soon.

Al

Edited by wheresalan, 19 July 2005 - 12:04 PM.

  • 0
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
SPV>E100>E200>C500>M2000>HTC Kaiser>HTC Touch Pro2

#3
Dade

Dade

    Phone Edition Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 756 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:HTC TyTN

I have received a replacement Orange SPV M2000 today and it is still running with WM9  :|

But maybe new M2000's are coming out with WMP10, I hope so and I hope they release an update for us soon.

Al

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Just got a new M2000 from Orange. And its still WMP10 and the 'old' ROM on there.

I would be very surprised if O decided to update the ROM.

  • 0
Independent device reviews: Tracy And Matt's Blog

#4
wheresalan

wheresalan

    Not sure where he is most of the time...

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Ultimate, Computers, Drinking.
  • Devices:HTC Touch Pro2

Just got a new M2000 from Orange. And its still WMP10 and the 'old' ROM on there.

I would be very surprised if O decided to update the ROM.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Dade,

Just to clarify:

Do you mean your new m2000 is using Windows Media Player 10 instead of 9, but is running with an old operator ROM?

Al

  • 0
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
SPV>E100>E200>C500>M2000>HTC Kaiser>HTC Touch Pro2

#5
Dade

Dade

    Phone Edition Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 756 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:HTC TyTN

Dade,

Just to clarify:

Do you mean your new m2000 is using Windows Media Player 10 instead of 9, but is running with an old operator ROM?

Al

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


My bad! I meant to say that my new M2000 is WMP9 not 10. Sorry about that!

  • 0
Independent device reviews: Tracy And Matt's Blog

#6
motherfunk

motherfunk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
i got a new one today and it says rom 1.40 when it starts up

i think it wm10 how do i tell??

  • 0

#7
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II

i got a new one today and it says rom 1.40 when it starts up

i think it wm10 how do i tell??

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

In Windows Media Player (not the playlist/library but the player itself) choose Menu / About and tell us what it says...

  • 0

#8
motherfunk

motherfunk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
im pleased to report that is says "windows Media Player 10"

nice one, no problems so far apart from i cant lock the bugger and the intructions are wrong as to how to do it, nippy!

Edited by motherfunk, 20 July 2005 - 11:05 AM.

  • 0

#9
Porkspeare

Porkspeare

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
Just checked the Orange Partner site, they give the following link as the latest update for the M2000. Dunno what it includes but here's the link:

M2000 ROM Update

  • 0

#10
Wozbacca

Wozbacca

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 154 posts
who's gonna be daring enough to install this rom to let us know what its got on it?

just tried installing it,

ce image version: 1.31.00
ext image : 1.31.162
radio: 1.06.02

Edited by Wozbacca, 21 July 2005 - 11:26 AM.

  • 0

#11
dreamweavel

dreamweavel

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Staffs
  • Devices:HTC Hero

who's gonna be daring enough to install this rom to let us know what its got on it?

just tried installing it,

ce image version: 1.31.00
ext image : 1.31.162
radio: 1.06.02

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



I'm on the edge of my seat - is it OK then? Does it have WMP10??

  • 0
E200
C500
M2000
M5000
M3100
TyTNII

#12
dreamweavel

dreamweavel

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Staffs
  • Devices:HTC Hero
That's weird - according to wiki XDA Developers there are 1.40.nnn UK ROMS already available for different operators...

  • 0
E200
C500
M2000
M5000
M3100
TyTNII

#13
Wozbacca

Wozbacca

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 154 posts
well i've just put the o2 asia 1.40.923 rom on my m2000.

all is good but i havent properly tested anything...

i wonder when the new 1.40 orange uk rom will be released

  • 0

#14
motherfunk

motherfunk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
mine is deffo

1.40 / wmp10 out of the box,

is there a way for me to get the rom of the phone so we can share it

f

  • 0

#15
dreamweavel

dreamweavel

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Staffs
  • Devices:HTC Hero
1.40 on an orange M2000?

  • 0
E200
C500
M2000
M5000
M3100
TyTNII

#16
matt1971

matt1971

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Samsung i780
Hi,

Is this possibe.........

If someone used Sprite Backup from a clean i.e out of the box condition, then uploaded their backup file to a website - would another M2000 owner be able to upgrade their phone if they restored it?


Matt

  • 0
Psion 3->M505->Ipaq 3660,3970,5555->E200,M2000,M5000,M3100->i780

#17
motherfunk

motherfunk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
YES ORANGE M2000 UK RECIVED TUESDAY 19TH JUL

OPERATOR VERSION 4.40.1.179
ROM VERSION 1.40.00 WWE
ROM DATE 03/10/05
RADIO VERSION 1.06.02
PROTOCAL VERSION 1337.38
EXTROM VERSION 1.40.179 WWE

wmp 10

Edited by motherfunk, 21 July 2005 - 02:36 PM.

  • 0

#18
dreamweavel

dreamweavel

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Staffs
  • Devices:HTC Hero
I guess that's good news - maybe we'll see a 1.40 ROM upgrade eventually then. I wish Orange were a bit quicker off the mark though; they generally seem months behind other operators with their upgrades, even when like now they've obviously got the thing to release if they wanted to :|

Just checked the orange UK site again, not there yet...

  • 0
E200
C500
M2000
M5000
M3100
TyTNII

#19
Big_Dogg123

Big_Dogg123

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Location:ireland
  • Interests:Computers<br />Games<br />Fishing
  • Devices:O2 XDA IIs / SPV C500
I have an O2 XDA IIs for 6 days now. I'm hoping for an update to 1.4 from O2. I suppose I could try the O2 Asia ROM, but this would, no doubt, invalidate my insurance, if my phone should break etc. (Or would they find out?). By the looks of things only 1 person here has tried that ROM on their M2000. What are you guys doing? Upgrading to one of the other operator ROMs or waiting for an update from your own UK operator?

  • 0
Big Dogg
Two guys can keep a secret - as long as one of them is dead | My enemy's enemy is my friend
Posted Image

#20
dreamweavel

dreamweavel

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Staffs
  • Devices:HTC Hero
I'm waiting personally; my phone would make a v ugly and expensive paperweight if i got it wrong with an update a-la-xda developers, tho i haven't actually heard anyone say they irretrievable broke theirs yet.

  • 0
E200
C500
M2000
M5000
M3100
TyTNII




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users