Jump to content


Photo

WI-FI For Motorola MPX220

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1
bamsisgod

bamsisgod

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Devices:motorola mpx220
Anybody heard from spectec about their wi-fi card for smartphones (the min-sd one) and if it works yet or do they still have compatiblity issues. cheers sam

  • 0

#2
smeg36

smeg36

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Location:Miami Beach
  • Devices:Sprint Touch Pro
From what I hear, the MPx220 isn't SD/IO and thus won't work with the wifi card.

  • 0
Device: Sprint Touch Pro

#3
bamsisgod

bamsisgod

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Devices:motorola mpx220
so what is the point of putting on their site that it is compatable with all windows2003se smartphones

  • 0

#4
smeg36

smeg36

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Location:Miami Beach
  • Devices:Sprint Touch Pro
I don't know. So far, I don't know of any Smartphones it is compatable with. A member here, don't remember who, tried it with a C500 and MPx220 and said it won't work with either.

  • 0
Device: Sprint Touch Pro

#5
bamsisgod

bamsisgod

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Devices:motorola mpx220
ah well i will have to email them and find out. seems the only way i can get a straight answer

  • 0

#6
whutsoever

whutsoever

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:MPx220

ah well i will have to email them and find out. seems the only way i can get a straight answer

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



hey there. so any news back yet? if it's true, man will the mpx220 be so much more exciting!! 8)

  • 0

#7
bamsisgod

bamsisgod

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Devices:motorola mpx220
well i got an email back pretty quickly saying "we still having driver issues with the motorola mpx220 sir; please be patient and we will update you when we have further news". So this is good or bad news you decide!

  • 0

#8
whutsoever

whutsoever

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:MPx220
well, at least they're trying, and in time, we will have them. but then of course, by then i may not already own the mpx220... lol

  • 0

#9
tik

tik

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts
anyone got an update on this?

  • 0

#10
ticrab

ticrab

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Motorola MPX220

anyone got an update on this?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I just got the SDW-822 made by Spectec and tried to install it on a MPX220. The card works great on a PDA. According to Spectec's site it's supposed to work on Smartphones as well. Well, I tried to install it with their CD and manually with a CAB file. Both times my MPX said "wlan.cab failed to install on your device because the installation file is not intended for this device".

By the way, I hate all those names and labels for PDA and phones nowadays. What the hell does the MPX really runs on??? In the back of the phone it says Windows Mobile. When checking the resource manager within the phone, it's reporting Windows CE 4.210. Microsoft labels it as a Smartphone. There is Windows Mobile 2003, Windows Mobile 2003 Second Edition and Windows Mobile 5 out there. I even read some stuff about Windows Mobile 2005 which I assume is Windows Mobile 5. And Spectec is listing support for that SDW-822 for these following devices:
PPC 2003, Windows Mobile 2003 Second Edition for Pocket PC & Smartphone, Mobile 5.0 for PPC & Smartphone, WinCE 4.X
SDW-822

I emailed them to see if they have an answer and/or beta drivers I could play with. We'll see what happens.

  • 0

#11
ph363

ph363

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:samsung i730, mpx220

By the way, I hate all those names and labels for PDA and phones nowadays. What the hell does the MPX really runs on???


mpx220 = windows modile 2003 SE

  • 0

#12
ticrab

ticrab

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Motorola MPX220

mpx220 = windows modile 2003 SE

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Thanks. Spectec said few things. One that the slot on the MPX is straight SD. Not SDIO. Though many people say it's SDIO complian, not SDIO Now compliant. Spectec also said that it's only SD because SDIO would draw more power. And therefore the SD slot is not giving enough power to that card. I asked to confirm and they said they would check with Motorola again. I read in 2 different places that when the MPX was advertised it didn't have a SDIO slot. Only regular SD. And they were adding that the MPX200 had the SDIO slot and that it was weird that the 220 only had SD. I'm nt sure I'm making sense on that one.

Anyway, Spectec said that if the MPX was upgraded to Windows Mobile 5.0 the card might work. I don't understand that one though... if the slot is not compatible, how would that work??

Well, the HTC Wizard looks more appealing everyday... who wants to buy my MPX220 with 3.45 Asian ROM? :)

  • 0

#13
ticrab

ticrab

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Motorola MPX220
I contacted Motorola about getting the upgrade of Windows Mobile 5.0 at some point for the MPX220. The answer is no. We all need to move on.

Response (Andrea) 11/25/2005 08:41 AM
Dear <registered name>,

Thank you for contacting Motorola.

We appreciate your request and also we apologize for any inconvenience you may experience with your product.
Unfortunately the MPX220 can not be upgraded to Windows Mobile 2005, right now we are not having Windows Mobile 2005 for our smart phones, but it will certainly be an option for our future smart phones.

Thank you for contacting Motorola e-mail support. We really appreciate your interest in our brand and our products.
If you have further questions or need additional assistance, please contact our Mobile Devices Support Center at 1-800-331-6456.
Our business hours are Monday through Friday from 7am to 10pm CST and Saturday and Sunday from 9am to 6pm CST.
Thank you for allowing us to be of your assistance.

Best regards,

  • 0

#14
Paraklas

Paraklas

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 386 posts
  • Interests:Programing (C++, JAVA), Hardware, Software, getting latest mobile phones
  • Devices:Mpx220
Yeah move on but not with motorola

  • 0
Posted Image

Nokia 6110 -> Nokia 7250 -> Nokia 6600 -> SPV E200 -> Mpx200 ->SPV C550 & Mpx220

#15
rockthespot

rockthespot

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Location:Etiophia
  • Devices:MPx220
if we start a petition.. and enough ppl sign.. saying we will never buy a motorola again, unless they release wm5 for mpx220..

  • 0

#16
Paraklas

Paraklas

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 386 posts
  • Interests:Programing (C++, JAVA), Hardware, Software, getting latest mobile phones
  • Devices:Mpx220
Thought that this thread was about wi-fi.. I really wouldn't like to have WM5 on my mpx220, as it would probably be slower and act like the mpx200 with windows 2003 (freezing, lot of bugs etc).

Just imagine that it took motorola about 10 firmware revisions to fix the bugs of the mpx220. Now if they release a WM5 version, the bugs would be... uncountable IMHO

It would be nice though to be able to use wi-fi although it would drain the battery in an hour :)

  • 0
Posted Image

Nokia 6110 -> Nokia 7250 -> Nokia 6600 -> SPV E200 -> Mpx200 ->SPV C550 & Mpx220

#17
hotphil

hotphil

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Location:Pertth
  • Devices:Wildfire
  • Twitter:@hotphil

I contacted Motorola about getting the upgrade of Windows Mobile 5.0 at some point for the MPX220. The answer is no. We all need to move on.

Response (Andrea) 11/25/2005 08:41 AM
Dear <registered name>,

Thank you for contacting Motorola.

We appreciate your request and also we apologize for any inconvenience you may experience with your product.
Unfortunately the MPX220 can not be upgraded to Windows Mobile 2005, right now we are not having Windows Mobile 2005 for our smart phones, but it will certainly be an option for our future smart phones.

Thank you for contacting Motorola e-mail support. We really appreciate your interest in our brand and our products.
If you have further questions or need additional assistance, please contact our Mobile Devices Support Center at 1-800-331-6456.
Our business hours are Monday through Friday from 7am to 10pm CST and Saturday and Sunday from 9am to 6pm CST.
Thank you for allowing us to be of your assistance.

Best regards,


Is that really an email from Motorola? I'm surprised if it is - it's not very professionally written.

  • 0

#18
Alex (nedge2k)

Alex (nedge2k)

    Editor Dude

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,757 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leicester, UK
  • Devices:Too many!
  • Twitter:@nedge2k

I don't know.  So far, I don't know of any Smartphones it is compatable with.  A member here, don't remember who, tried it with a C500 and MPx220 and said it won't work with either.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Me :)

  • 0
Cab-O-Matic - The ONLY online .cab maker (now working again, mostly!)

Posted Image Posted Image


#19
smeg36

smeg36

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Location:Miami Beach
  • Devices:Sprint Touch Pro
Yeah, you. Thanks, couldn't remember who it was. I assume with the Tornado coming out and the MPx220 being discontinued the demand for this is getting less and less anyway. With each day that passes I get more and more certain it won't ever work. I've been wrong before though.

  • 0
Device: Sprint Touch Pro

#20
Alex (nedge2k)

Alex (nedge2k)

    Editor Dude

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,757 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leicester, UK
  • Devices:Too many!
  • Twitter:@nedge2k
Spectec keeping telling me SP drivers will be available "soon" and that MPx220 is not SDIO. Whether either is true is another matter...

  • 0
Cab-O-Matic - The ONLY online .cab maker (now working again, mostly!)

Posted Image Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users