Jump to content


Photo

Have C550 owners been duped?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#21
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,636 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
Surely this won't be a problem when O release a free upgrade to WM5 for the C550.


GD&R

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#22
awarner

awarner

    Staff Team Leader

  • Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Interests:Life the universe and everything in it :)

    Lumia 925 one hell of a camera phone
  • Devices:Lumia 925 a real phone at last
  • Twitter:@ashwarner

Surely this won't be a problem when O release a free upgrade to WM5 for the C550.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


:o :( :lol: :P

  • 0
Twitter me @ashwarner

Windows Phone 7 Expert.
Windows Phone Business Specialist



#23
pd.ryder

pd.ryder

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,308 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gloucestershire, UK
  • Interests:Gadgets, gadgets, gadgets!!! Those aside, riding motorbikes, MotoGP & WSBK, clay pigeon shooting, martial arts - karate, aikido, Enshin Ryu iaido (sword), bo, battons etc, digital photography, Hi-Fi (currently Arcam/Linn setup), home cinema (Oh, and psychiatric nursing - but that's just work!)
  • Devices:HTC One (M8), Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@pdryder
Oh - my aching sides - :o :( :lol:

  • 0
HTC One (M8), big shiny sword...

"What happens to a politician if you give him Viagra?
He gets taller" - Jesse Duke, Hazzard County

#24
davejerome

davejerome

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Devices:SPV C550 (02 UK)
a free upgrade - yeah right! Will they send an orange phone trainer round to install it aswell? :-)

  • 0
The things you own end up owning you!
It seems crazy now but one day we will all have Apple smartphones!

#25
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II

a free upgrade - yeah right! Will they send an orange phone trainer round to install it aswell? :-)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

:( Oh God, I hope not. Then we'd have to talk them through it :o

  • 0

#26
kurtfhouse

kurtfhouse

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kingswood, Bristol
  • Devices:HTC Sensation

:D  Oh God, I hope not. Then we'd have to talk them through it :o

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


:( :lol: :P :D Thats funny................beacuse its true

Edited by kurtfhouse, 05 October 2005 - 02:58 PM.

  • 0
So I went to the Doctors yesterday. He said, "What appears to be the problem?". I said, "I keep having this dream, night after night, beautiful girls keep rushing towards me and I keep pushing them away." He said, "How can I help?" I said: "Break my arms."

#27
roma0803

roma0803

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 654 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II/Nokia N82
So is it correct to say there's hardly any software available for a QVGA Smartphone? I ordered an i-mate SP5m recently so am curious about what works and what doesn't work. Apart from the fact that my i-mate will be a WM5 phone...

  • 0
When I die, I want to die like my grandfather, who died peacefully in his sleep. Not screaming like all the passengers in his car.

#28
defect

defect

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Interests:pixelz
  • Devices:Orange SPV C550

:o
I love my C550... and i have tomtom working fine, except a little bit of funny text. me and ash (awarner) just had to mess around with the reg for an hour or so :/

such a shame about all the other apps that dont work properly :(

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I have mine 550 for a few months now and I'm quite dissapointed. I totally agree with TS.

Very few apps run normal on the phone, every app I run crashes often and the fact that I should 'downgrade' the phone to run TT5 just doesn't make sense. Why did I bought a QVGA in the first place then?

  • 0

#29
TigerNet

TigerNet

    TigerNet

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,155 posts
  • Location:London, UK
  • Interests:Rugby, Scuba Diving, Skiing
  • Devices:HTC Touch 2 and iPhone 3Gs
  • Twitter:@lsdscuba
...I have to say that before my K-Jam arrived, I had gone back to the QTEK 8100 from the C550...

Cheers
Nick

  • 0

#30
davejerome

davejerome

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Devices:SPV C550 (02 UK)
I was just wondering as somebody mentioned an upgrade for the C550, was it originally designed for WM5 then? As it has a QVGA screen and a silly ammount of memory?

Or is it just built by HTC as a WM5 compatible device?

Anybody know that one?

  • 0
The things you own end up owning you!
It seems crazy now but one day we will all have Apple smartphones!

#31
PPCPassion

PPCPassion

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 237 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wash.DC, USA
  • Devices:HTC M8, Nexus 5

I was just wondering as somebody mentioned an upgrade for the C550, was it originally designed for WM5 then? As it has a QVGA screen and a silly ammount of memory?

Or is it just built by HTC as a WM5 compatible device?

Anybody know that one?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I hope I am wrong but I very much doubt that WM5 upgrade will be offered by Orange since SPV C600 with WM5 is ready to be launched. I personally would not like to install WM5 for one main reason-Memory. Starting with WM5, all the programs can ONLY be loaded/installed in ROM. RAM will be strictly for running the program. Most of the devices will have more rom (128mb atleast) to accomodate more installable programs. With C550, considering 64MB ROM, after installing OS, you won't have much space left to install the programs unless of course you install them on Mini SD card. As you know, some programs have to be installed in the phone's memory that could be a disadvantage if you have limited space to begin with. Just my 2 cents.

  • 0

#32
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II

I hope I am wrong but I very much doubt that WM5 upgrade will be offered by Orange since SPV C600 with WM5 is ready to be launched. I personally would not like to install WM5 for one main reason-Memory. Starting with WM5, all the programs can ONLY be loaded/installed in ROM. RAM will be strictly for running the program. Most of the devices will have more rom (128mb atleast) to accomodate more installable programs. With C550, considering 64MB ROM, after installing OS, you won't have much space left to install the programs unless of course you install them on Mini SD card. As you know, some programs have to be installed in the phone's memory that could be a disadvantage if you have limited space to begin with. Just my 2 cents.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Good explanation. Had been wondering how the memory worked in WM5 to justify the doubling of ROM seen in upcoming Pocket PC Phone devices...

  • 0

#33
PPCPassion

PPCPassion

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 237 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wash.DC, USA
  • Devices:HTC M8, Nexus 5

Good explanation. Had been wondering how the memory worked in WM5 to justify the doubling of ROM seen in upcoming Pocket PC Phone devices...

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Thanks Pondrew for your kind words. Sometime we all (including myself) rush to get the "newer and updated" version without first trying to figure it if it would work on our device. I truly believe in saying," Newer is not always better" :o

  • 0

#34
mcwarre

mcwarre

    I've always wanted to explore the Pacific rim

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,329 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lincoln
  • Devices:Samsung: Galaxy S2 & Tab 10.1

" Newer is not always better" :o

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


It's invariably more expensive though :exclaim:

  • 0
"Success is not to be measured by the position someone has reached in life, but the obstacles he has overcome while trying to succeed."

Booker T. Washington

#35
tw

tw

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Devices:SGH-i600

I personally would not like to install WM5 for one main reason-Memory. Starting with WM5, all the programs can ONLY be loaded/installed in ROM. RAM will be strictly for running the program. Most of the devices will have more rom (128mb atleast) to accomodate more installable programs. With C550, considering 64MB ROM, after installing OS, you won't have much space left to install the programs unless of course you install them on Mini SD card. As you know, some programs have to be installed in the phone's memory that could be a disadvantage if you have limited space to begin with. Just my 2 cents.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

What you describe is only new for PPCs. On the Smartphone all programs are always installed in ROM and not RAM (since Smartphone 2002). With WM5 the PPC platform got the same memory configuration the Smartphone platform always had.

Edited by tw, 17 October 2005 - 01:43 AM.

  • 0

#36
PPCPassion

PPCPassion

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 237 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wash.DC, USA
  • Devices:HTC M8, Nexus 5

What you describe is only new for PPCs. On the Smartphone all programs are always installed in ROM and not RAM (since Smartphone 2002). With WM5 the PPC platform got the same memory configuration the Smartphone platform always had.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Correct. However, in PPC, regardless of RAM, you have an option to allocate amt of memory to run programs and to store date. In SP that option is not there. First of all I am not sure if SP has been storing data in ROM, if that was the case, why would all the programs get deleted (during hard reset)that were installed in the internal memory? Also, have you noticed the amt of available memory to run programs changes when you install any progrms to internal memory? What I know and have read, MS OS (until 2003 SE atleast) automatically adjust the memory for "optimal" stability of the device. This may change with WM5. I don't have WM5 device, so can't be 100% sure.

  • 0

#37
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
The option you describe on PPC has disappeared in Windows Mobile 5!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#38
tw

tw

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Devices:SGH-i600

Correct. However, in PPC, regardless of RAM, you have an option to allocate amt of memory to run programs and to store date.

That was before WM5. In WM5 you cannot control it anylonger.

In SP that option is not there.

Yes, as I said the SP platform had always the memory config the PPC platform got with WM5 now.

First of all I am not sure if SP has been storing data in ROM, if that was the case, why would all the programs get deleted (during hard reset)that were installed in the internal memory?

Because the hardreset procedure deletes the flash ROM on SP. BTW, the same happens now with WM5 on the PPC.

Also, have you noticed the amt of available memory to run programs changes when you install any progrms to internal memory? What I know and have read, MS OS (until 2003 SE atleast) automatically adjust the memory for "optimal" stability of the device.

As I wrote the automatically memory adjustment existed only on the PPC until 2003SE. On SP you install your programs always in the \Storage folder and \Storage is in flash.

If you still do not believe me you can either read the MSDN developer documentation ;) or you can take out the battery of your SP for a day. If you plug it back in all your data and installed programm still will be there --> because it is in Flash.

This may change with WM5. I don't have WM5 device, so can't be 100% sure.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I have WM5 PPC and SP devices and the PPC now has the same memory config the SP always had though there is no \Storage folder.

Edited by tw, 17 October 2005 - 04:31 PM.

  • 0

#39
MiG:uK

MiG:uK

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Devices:SPV C550
tbh, the c550 is a great phone, and its always been a while before developers can utilise the new feautres of phones.

the QVGA screen plays videos that are immense quality, and tbh i love the way the device is for the cheap price of £150.

i got a decent, skinnable interface and a good media player. i can also play gb roms, and a lot of other things.

yer so wat, its a bit smaller on the screen, but once the QVGA screen is utilised, its gonna be sweet.

WM5 is gonna be like vista to xp, a GUI upgrade and a few extras.

it wont stop the QVGA software from looking good. ;)

Edited by MiG:uK, 17 October 2005 - 04:21 PM.

  • 0
My RiG:
-------------------
DFI LanpartyUT nF4 SLI-DR (HTT: 260 * 10)
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester - 2.600Ghz - Akasa Ev0 33 Cooler.
2x 512mb OCZ Platinum Edition PC3200 (2-3-2-5 with 7:10 Divider)
PNY Geforce 7800GT 256mb PCI-E x16 (Stock Speeds)
SoundBlaster X-Fi Platinum Edition
Hitachi Deskstar SATA II Harddrive (250GB, 8mb Cache)
BenQ DW1655 Lightscribe DVD-RW
Hiper 580W Type-R PSU Blue.

#40
davejerome

davejerome

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Devices:SPV C550 (02 UK)

WM5 is gonna be like vista to xp, a GUI upgrade and a few extras.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Surely vista will be more than that. I heard it was heavily built around security.... ...give it 48 hours till cracks appear.

  • 0
The things you own end up owning you!
It seems crazy now but one day we will all have Apple smartphones!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users