Jump to content


Photo

Official new O2UK ROM v.1.40 XdaIIs

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
nforsans

nforsans

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Vario II On T-Mobile
I think no-one has picked it up yet as I can't find trace of it in the forum but O2 UK has released a new ROM for the BA, XdaIIs.

I installed it - seems to be all right. Big improvements:
O2 Active UI v3.6.024 -well, seems to be more stable than previous versions
Bluetooth build 3900
Radio build 1.12
Windows mobile CE version 1.40
BlackBerry Connect v2.0
Removal of Photo Contacts

AND AND AND.... are you ready?

WINDOWS MEDIA PLAYER 10! I am not joking. I've got it on my BA.
Strange O2 does not list WMP10 in the features of the new ROM.


Download it from http://www.my-xda.com/

You'll need your O2 number and IMEI to accessd the software upgarde section of the site.

Enjoy.

  • 0
Device history: Orange MPx 220 / Orange SE Z1010 / O2 XdaIIs / T-Mobile MDA Vario W'n'W / Orange MoDaCo SPV C600 / TMobile Vario II on Flext 25 + Web'n'Walk

#2
wheresalan

wheresalan

    Not sure where he is most of the time...

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Ultimate, Computers, Drinking.
  • Devices:HTC Touch Pro2
Woo hoo! that's great news for all you O2 customers.

Damn I hate you Orange, where is our update? ggrrrr :evil:

Al

  • 0
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
SPV>E100>E200>C500>M2000>HTC Kaiser>HTC Touch Pro2

#3
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II
Downsides are loss of Photo Contacts (Caller ID) and strange they're not using the latest radio stack version available (1.13). Still, kudos to O2 for being the first provider in the UK to provide the 1.40 update.

T-Mobile Netherlands has recently released the very latest rom ever seen on the Blue Angel, version 1.42. With Rom 1.40 Windows Mobile 2003 Second Edition was at version 4.21.1088 (Build 15045.2.6.0). The new T-Mobile Netherlands Rom 1.42 has Build 15159.2.6.4 though so they're still ahead. Wonder if the 1.42 rom (or even a 1.40 rom!) will ever see release from T-Mobile in the UK... :?:

  • 0

#4
nforsans

nforsans

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Vario II On T-Mobile
how do uk operators, in particular Orange, O2 and T-Mobile compare in terms of support for Windows Mobile handsets? How many upgrades did TMobile UK release for their MDAIII? I think this is the second upgrade O2 UK released at the end of October - the first upgrade was in April I believe.

is it worth going for O2 or TMobile, given they've got the same Windows Mobile handsets?

  • 0
Device history: Orange MPx 220 / Orange SE Z1010 / O2 XdaIIs / T-Mobile MDA Vario W'n'W / Orange MoDaCo SPV C600 / TMobile Vario II on Flext 25 + Web'n'Walk

#5
Wozbacca

Wozbacca

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 154 posts
hi pondrew,

i've just noticed the same 1.42 rom on xda dev..

any ideas what the differences are between that and the latest 1.40.923 o2 singapore rom?

Edited by Wozbacca, 04 November 2005 - 03:41 PM.

  • 0

#6
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II
Assuming the Singapore O2 rom you're talking about is the Asian O2 1.40 then apparently it has an older build of Windows Mobile 2003 SE then the new T-Mobile 1.42 rom (see the build number in my post above).

With regards the best support from a Mobile Provider for Windows Mobile devices in the UK, for Smartphones it'd be Orange by a long shot but for Pocket PC Phones it'd be O2, as for T-Mobile, even when they DO produce a rom they don't seem capable of making it openly available. Unfortunately the same could be said for Orange when it comes to Pocket PC Phones ;)

The best overall brand for updates has to be Imate by a mile. They get more cutting edge updates more often.

  • 0

#7
chrisj383

chrisj383

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:SPV M2000
Well i'm on the orange network and i wonder what would happen if i upgraded to that rom

  • 0

#8
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II

Well i'm on the orange network and i wonder what would happen if i upgraded to that rom

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Well, unless you've unlocked your device using www.imei-check.com which unlocks to any update for a device, you may not be able to. There is another way of doing it but it's not simple and not recommended as it may kill your device... if you did want more info though check out my posts here.

  • 0

#9
efjay

efjay

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts
you can unlock your M2000 for free here http://www.modaco.co...ck-t222711.html

  • 0

#10
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II

you can unlock your M2000 for free here http://www.modaco.co...ck-t222711.html

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Hmmm. Knew that tool would sim unlock the device (but read the disclaimer!) but didn't think it would set the CID to default. You sure we're talking about the same thing? I'm talking about setting the device ID to factory default which is completely different to sim unlocking it...

  • 0

#11
hunyango_uk

hunyango_uk

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 340 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:mda vario II :)
still the same rom for XDA IIs 1.40.402. (oooops) :oops:

my bad.

Edited by hunyango_uk, 12 March 2006 - 11:10 PM.

  • 0
"don't be deceived by the looks, try to look under the hood."

"I love my MDA Vario and glad i upgrade to Vario II. Don't You?!!!"

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image Posted Image

#12
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II
You sure hunyango_uk?

Because the webpage still says it's rom 1.40.242...

  • 0

#13
hunyango_uk

hunyango_uk

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 340 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:mda vario II :)

You sure hunyango_uk?

Because the webpage still says it's rom 1.40.242...

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


ei, i need a reading glass very badly :oops:

  • 0
"don't be deceived by the looks, try to look under the hood."

"I love my MDA Vario and glad i upgrade to Vario II. Don't You?!!!"

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users