Jump to content


Photo

2GB Mini SD in MPx220

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#1
popanot

popanot

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
Has anyone tried one in the MPx220? I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work, but was curious if anyone actually tested or was using one...???

  • 0

#2
lokmeup

lokmeup

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:mpX220

Has anyone tried one in the MPx220? I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work, but was curious if anyone actually tested or was using one...???

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I have ordered a SanDisk 2gb MiniSD card for my MPx220. I will let you know how it works out. If it does not, I'll just use it in my camera with the adaptor.

Ron

  • 0

#3
chaderbox

chaderbox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Devices:Cingular 8525

Has anyone tried one in the MPx220? I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work, but was curious if anyone actually tested or was using one...???

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


From everything that I have read it will only take up to 512mb.
But if it works for you guys let me know, i'll be getting a 1 or 2gb if it works for you guys.

  • 0

#4
rubenr

rubenr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Interests:Started to play Battlefront 2, still learning but on the look for teamates willing to train and learn as a group.<br /><br />Based on Tijuana Mexico, ADSL 512/128, P4 3.2, 1Gb DDR2, GF6800GT, SB Audigy2, Raid0 300Gb
  • Devices:MPx220

From everything that I have read it will only take up to 512mb.
But if it works for you guys let me know, i'll be getting a 1 or 2gb if it works for you guys.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


1Gb Works Ok. Using one for about a year by now.

  • 0

#5
popanot

popanot

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
I saw a post on MGN where a person is using a 2GB. I assume you can use any size since it's basically a cardreader. The 512 limit is just a manufacturer listed limit since that's all that was available at the time they released the phone. There are numerous people using the 1GB cards.

  • 0

#6
hferdina

hferdina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Motorola MPX 220
got my 2gb minisd this weekend. Works like a charm with my mpx220. Only problem my cardreader only supports up to 1 gb

  • 0

#7
lokmeup

lokmeup

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:mpX220
I just got my 2GB SanDisk MiniSD card today(SDSDM-2048). It works perfectly!!!

Ron

EDIT: Smart Explorer only sees 1gig. I cannot save more to the card using the phone.

Edited by lokmeup, 11 February 2006 - 11:13 PM.

  • 0

#8
hferdina

hferdina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Motorola MPX 220
:) Happy to soon!!!! :D :) :D :D My MPX 220 only sees the first 1Gb in the explorer. The rest is ignored. When I use the minisd in a pocketpc or cardreader it sees the full 2 Gb.

Resource manager shows 2 Gb however

  • 0

#9
kingraf01

kingraf01

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

:) Happy to soon!!!! :D  :)  :D  :D  My MPX 220 only sees the first 1Gb in the explorer. The rest is ignored. When I use the minisd in a pocketpc or cardreader it sees the full 2 Gb.

Resource manager shows 2 Gb however

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



Are you also using a SanDisk? I wonder if that makes a difference in reading the full 2GB in explorer?

  • 0
Raf-

#10
lokmeup

lokmeup

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:mpX220

:) Happy to soon!!!! :D  :)  :D  :D  My MPX 220 only sees the first 1Gb in the explorer. The rest is ignored. When I use the minisd in a pocketpc or cardreader it sees the full 2 Gb.

Resource manager shows 2 Gb however

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



ME TOOOOOOO......

The phone see the the full 2gig in Resource Manager, but only 1gig in Smart Explorer. When I get close to 1gig of storage used I get the following error when I try to copy any more files from my computer:

"The drive cannot find the sector requested"

I think it is time to return the 2gig card and get two 1gig cards!
Ron

PS: I have tried ATT1.43ROM, Asian3.53ROM and Asian3.51ROM. What ROM are you using?
PSS: I have also tried editing the registry value:
HKLM/Software/Microsoft/Shell/Lowmem/Storagelimit
From: 512000 To: 2048000
But without any luck.

Edited by lokmeup, 12 February 2006 - 12:45 AM.

  • 0

#11
hferdina

hferdina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Motorola MPX 220

ME TOOOOOOO......

The phone see the the full 2gig in Resource Manager, but only 1gig in Smart Explorer.  When I get close to 1gig of storage used I get the following error when I try to copy any more files from my computer:

"The drive cannot find the sector requested"

I think it is time to return the 2gig card and get two 1gig cards!
Ron

PS:  I have tried ATT1.43ROM, Asian3.53ROM and Asian3.51ROM.  What ROM are you using?
PSS: I have also tried editing the registry value:
HKLM/Software/Microsoft/Shell/Lowmem/Storagelimit
From:  512000  To:  2048000
But without any luck.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



At HowardForums someone is using up tp 97% of his 2Gb minisd: http://www.howardfor...ad.php?t=851274

Maybe he uses a late mpx 220 or does formatting matter (fat fat16 or fat 32)

Still curious

  • 0

#12
imisim

imisim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
The Adata 2GB miniSD from NewEgg will work with the MPx220. If you need to format the card, format using the factory default setting which is FAT. When I used FAT32, the phone can't access the My Music folder which has more than 1GB. It will probably work if I delete some mp3 and bring the size down, but with FAT, I can keep every mp3 I want in it.

The Topram 2GB miniSD didn't work with my MPx220. It seems like the Adata will work with a lot of phones according to various forum.

  • 0

#13
hferdina

hferdina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Motorola MPX 220

The Adata 2GB miniSD from NewEgg will work with the MPx220.  If you need to format the card, format using the factory default setting which is FAT.  When I used FAT32, the phone can't access the My Music folder which has more than 1GB.  It will probably work if I delete some mp3 and bring the size down, but with FAT, I can keep every mp3 I want in it.

The Topram 2GB miniSD didn't work with my MPx220.  It seems like the Adata will work with a lot of phones according to various forum.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



How did you format the minisd? Under windows XP?

  • 0

#14
imisim

imisim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Yes, I am using XP Pro SP2 and formatted the card using the SD card reader. If you need to format the card using the MPx220, SP Task Manager will do that for you.

  • 0

#15
Kll

Kll

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:mpx200

Yes, I am using XP Pro SP2 and formatted the card using the SD card reader.  If you need to format the card using the MPx220, SP Task Manager will do that for you.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I also tried to use 2 GB mini SD, but Sandisk. I format it in FAT but the result was the same, only 1 GB is accesable. My ROM version is 1.47. What is your ROM version?

  • 0

#16
Leddy

Leddy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:Sony Ericsson XPERIA X1
I'd imagine that most of us are using the Asian GoTone ROM.

My (Asian GoTone) ROM is marked as follows:
Operator: 3.570.7002.0
Manufacturer: 3.510.0.0
Microsoft: 4.21.15102.0
Language: 3.510.18.0
File System: 4.21.15102.0

  • 0

#17
Kll

Kll

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:mpx200

I'd imagine that most of us are using the Asian GoTone ROM.

My (Asian GoTone) ROM is marked as follows:
Operator: 3.570.7002.0
Manufacturer: 3.510.0.0
Microsoft: 4.21.15102.0
Language: 3.510.18.0
File System: 4.21.15102.0

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Can you use 2GB or not?

  • 0

#18
hferdina

hferdina

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Motorola MPX 220

Can you use 2GB or not?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



I don't think so. Mailed several times with Motorola. In the last mail they stated only 256mb is supported and that they will change the specification on the sites.

Some are able to use a 1GB. When I onlhy use 1Gb of my 2Gb, it works fine. The only thing I did not test is a minisd from another brand.

I used several roms and registry tweaks. Neither of them worked. I am afraid it is hardware related

  • 0

#19
imisim

imisim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Well, as stated in the earlier post. 2GB Adata will work, no matter what Motorola tells you. BTW, I am using Asian Rom 3.46.

  • 0

#20
Kll

Kll

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:mpx200

Well, as stated in the earlier post.  2GB Adata will work, no matter what Motorola tells you.  BTW, I am using Asian Rom 3.46.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Well, i tried 3.46 and FAT, but no luck. May be because of Sandisk. But it is known as a good producer, interesting :|

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users