Jump to content


Photo

Homescreen guide for beginners

* * * * * 6 votes

  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#21
Cabana

Cabana

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
Is there a way to force plugins to go to the bottom of the screen, like a valign for the whole thing? I can't set exact positions because of some plugins that disappear when there is no event.

  • 0

#22
Cyprine

Cyprine

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:HTC S621
Looks like most of the info here is also available on the Microsoft Developer Network:
http://msdn2.microso...y/ms839391.aspx

The article on the MSDN site refers to Microsoft Smartphone 2002 but I guess it applies to later versions as well. There is some additional info on there also that could be applicable.

I have been able to change colors & do some minor changes on my home screen layout to suit my purposes with this tutorial but there is still one thing that really bothers me and I can't figure out or find anyone else wanting to change this. How the heck do I change the background color of the bar that says Smartphone when I press the CALL button? (I am using a Rogers-branded HTC S621/Dash/Excalibur). It's the only thing that doesn't match everything else now!!!

I'll try to take a picture at home tonight...

[quote name='w411y' date='Feb 18 2006, 18:10' post='716798']
This guide is aimed to teach beginners (maybe advanced users :) ) the general ground to creating a homescreen. For those who tend to rip out their hair and go mad.... no need for a parecetomal today Ill walk you through no problems :D ...(I hope :D )

Well heres the contents....



  • 0

#23
Arbeider

Arbeider

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:HTCS 710
Is there a way to get the menu buttons on your homescreen (start and contacts) to be transparent? I'm using a VOX

  • 0

#24
behole

behole

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
i have gone through this tutorial and it has been very helpful. but, i want to make a homescreen that is diffrent than most and i cannot really figure out how to do it or if its possible. any help would be greatly appreciated.
the homescreen i want is very simple but again may be hard to code or not possible.
i have a dash so its 320 by 240
i want a white back ground, white icon bar with black text, white "start/menu" bar with black text, both in their standard spots (top and bottom).
next i want three icons that i have designed to take up the screen and link to certain things
a "phone" icon to link to call log
a "message" icon to link to sms, mms
a "calendar" icon to link to the calendar.
simple as that.
is this possible and if so can someone help me with coding it?
thanks in advance

josh

after i think about it...it may be sort of a disembodied iphone esque set up but with 3 icons only and big like the attach image

Attached Files

  • Attached File  home.jpg   10.94KB   15 downloads

Edited by behole, 06 May 2008 - 06:24 PM.

  • 0

#25
Bluest Hue

Bluest Hue

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:MOTO Q9c
Excellent thread. I did want to know if there is a way to give the MRU a background image or if I have to apply a bg image to the whole background and position it on top. I have a bg image behind my iconbar and I'm looking to do something similar for the MRU.

  • 0

#26
Bluest Hue

Bluest Hue

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:MOTO Q9c

Excellent thread. I did want to know if there is a way to give the MRU a background image or if I have to apply a bg image to the whole background and position it on top. I have a bg image behind my iconbar and I'm looking to do something similar for the MRU.

Nvm. I decided just to use a bgimage and position the bar. I am trying to figure out now how to put a bg color behind the selected Message # thing... it would be in here.
it doesn't seem to want to put a bg color behind the individual labels. I can get it to all or nothing.
<!-- SMS Count Plugin --><plugin clsid="{2F930BF0-6FE9-4a53-9E17-88E9247BAB48}" name="SMScount" height="?"><background b-border-width="?"/>    <label y="?" x="?">        <format state="selected" halign="?" bgcolor="transparent" fgcolor="#???????" font-weight="?" font-size="?" />        <format state="unselected" halign="left" bgcolor="transparent" fgcolor="#??????" font-weight="?" font-size="?" />        <text>Email:<unreadEmail/></text>    </label>    <label y="?" x="?">        <format state="selected" halign="?" bgcolor="transparent" fgcolor="#??????" font-weight="?" font-size="?" />        <format state="unselected" halign="?" bgcolor="transparent" fgcolor="#??????" font-weight="?" font-size="?" />        <text>SMS:<unreadSMS/></text>    </label>    <label y="?" x="?">        <format state="selected" halign="?" bgcolor="transparent" fgcolor="#??????" font-weight="?" font-size="?" />        <format state="unselected" halign="?" bgcolor="transparent" fgcolor="#??????" font-weight="?" font-size="?" />        <text>MMS:<unreadMMS/></text>    </label></plugin>

  • 0

#27
69scorpion69

69scorpion69

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC S261
Hi guys
i have moto q9h bought it from fido ,and i did download BEIKS Arabic and Hebrew font for Windows Mobile in my pc the i did sycronize it with my moto then i turn off my moto then turn it back on , but i only see that the font on the screen changed a bit for a smaller font , but i cann't find any arabic letters in my moto also i have video files which named in arabic but still shows as small empty squares .....i am not sure how to make it work or if i did something wrong , and if i go to add/remove programs in my moto and delete the file will this screw up my moto or not .....

pls advise me with the right thing to do ,,,,,,thanks a lot

  • 0

#28
dboyer

dboyer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:TM Dash
Stupid question maybe- but didn't see it addressed here and couldn't find it elsewhere on the site. Where do you put the files? (xml and jpg) Thanks!

  • 0

#29
Bluest Hue

Bluest Hue

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:MOTO Q9c

Where do you put the files? (xml and jpg) Thanks!

put them in the \Windows directory. you could make a different location for the images and stuff if you want but make sure to specify an absolute path to them in you xml.hope that answers you Q.

  • 0

#30
hantumati

hantumati

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
i need help on this, i want the home screen to display long date format but i cant make any changes. i cant find the plugin file. im using WM6.1

i wonder where all these file -->

tks.

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<home>
	<author>Microsoft Corporation</author>
	<contacturl>http://www.microsoft.com/</contacturl>
	<title lang="0x0409">Sliding Panel</title>
	<title lang="0x0404">按選面板</title>
	<title lang="0x0411">スライド パネル</title>
	<title lang="0x0412">슬라이딩 패널</title>
	<title lang="0x0804">滑动面板</title>

	<version>1.0</version>
	<default target-width="240" target-height="320" font-face="Nina" font-size="19" font-

weight="normal" padding-left="5" padding-right="5" bgcolor="transparent" fgcolor="COLOR_HOMETEXT" 

padding-top="3" b-border-color="COLOR_HOMERULE" b-border-width="0">
	<format state="selected" fgcolor="COLOR_HOMEHIGHLIGHTTEXT"/>
	</default>

	<background bgimage="\windows\SlidingPanel_bkg_240x320.jpg" bgimage-

rotated="\windows\SlidingPanel_bkg_320x240.jpg" valign="bottom" bgcolor="COLOR_TRAYGRADLEFT" />

	<scheme>
		<color name="COLOR_TRAYGRADLEFT" value="#387f34" />
		<color name="COLOR_HOMEHIGHLIGHT" value="#084a00" />
		<color name="COLOR_HOMEHIGHLIGHTTEXT" value="#deff63" />
		<color name="COLOR_HOMETEXT" value="#FFFFFF" />
		<color name="COLOR_HOMERULE" value="#76d030" />
	</scheme>

	<plugin clsid="{837FC251-FE69-43ad-84E0-EBCEDEBA0884}" name="iconbar" height="27">
		<iconbar bgcolor="transparent" fgcolor="COLOR_HOMETEXT"/>
	</plugin>
	<plugin clsid="{E9267CAB-02EE-4f37-8216-6BF6A8FF5A71}" name="Bronze" height="266">
				<Plugins Order="CClock;CHome;CAppointments;CWindowsLive;Settings" />
	</plugin>

</home>

Edited by hantumati, 09 September 2008 - 12:01 PM.

  • 0

#31
JaredHilton

JaredHilton

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello, a newbie here, i just have a quick question...
I'm trying to put multiple plugins across the screen horizontally, but every plugin drops to the next line and is listed vertically. Can i change this?

Thanks, BTW...i have the AT&T Samsung BlackJack SGH-i607 (1st Generation).

  • 0
--UI Designer Wannabe--

#32
awarner

awarner

    Staff Team Leader

  • Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,511 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Interests:Life the universe and everything in it :)

    Lumia 925 one hell of a camera phone
  • Devices:Lumia 925 a real phone at last
  • Twitter:@ashwarner
I'm not a homescreen creator but from memory it is not possible (unless they have changed this in newer ROMs?)

  • 0
Twitter me @ashwarner

Windows Phone 7 Expert.
Windows Phone Business Specialist



#33
wildrazbarry

wildrazbarry

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Blackjack II
I was wondering how one would go about adding the date and time in the top iconbar area like this guy did.
http://forums.wirele...id=53142#M53142

I looks like he was able to make the iconbar think it was on a vertical phone so it was short enough to fit the time on the side. I tried just using x, y coordinate to put the carrier plugin in the corner, but the iconbar ends up covering it up even when there is no picture and it is transparent. Any thoughts on how to do this?

  • 0

#34
rom_omnia2

rom_omnia2

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Omnia
Hey dudes, sory for up this but i gt a question, is it a good tuto for winMo 6.5?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users