Jump to content


Photo

GBA Emulator: Playable and Doable!

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
235 replies to this topic

#21
jameshpg

jameshpg

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts

To fully unlock your phone, follow the instructions in this site: http://spaces.msn.com/xpworld/Blog/cns!...A!198.entry.

Tell me your results.

Pedro

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


hey pedro

thanks for sticking with this!

so your saying that when I app unlock, i can copy/delete the short_poc file in the /windows directory? also, can you go into more detail about the button assaignments because i'm using a c600 so the arrangements are slightly different. i want to be able to assaing it to the internet browser button at the top (See attached)

thanks again,

jameshpg

Attached Files


  • 0

#22
pedroms1

pedroms1

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Location:Lisboa
  • Devices:SP5
Jameshpg,
If you app unlock, you can do evirything inside windows folder.
As I dont have a C600, you could send me all your short_*anything*.lnk in a zip folder here in the topic, or via PM, so I can see wich is the one that goes to internet explorer, and modify it. Dont forget that fakecursor must be in the windows folder.

Silent.knight,
Wich .exe are you talking about? To download the files, just click in the words like "HERE", "THIS TOPIC" or "THIS SITE".

C'mon, I want to see anyone getting this to work!!!


Thanx,
Pedro Santos

  • 0

#23
jameshpg

jameshpg

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
.

Edited by jameshpg, 28 February 2006 - 10:37 PM.

  • 0

#24
jameshpg

jameshpg

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts

Jameshpg,
you could send me all your short_*anything*.lnk in a zip folder here in the topic, or via PM, so I can see wich is the one that goes to internet explorer, and modify it.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


hey pedroms1,

I WILL GET THIS WORKING LOL!

i have app unlocked now. the short_poc contains:

23#"\Windows\iexplore.exe"

thanks again and i look forward to getting this working!

james

  • 0

#25
pedroms1

pedroms1

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Location:Lisboa
  • Devices:SP5
Ok, make sure you have FakeCursor.exe in your \Windows directory and paste the file in the zip file that i'm attaching to your windows directory.
Dont forget, your phone must be overclocked with no apps running on the background for it to play at decent speeds.
Hoping you will finally make it,
Pedro

Attached Files


  • 0

#26
Smartastic

Smartastic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
yea i got morphgear to work wich was easy but as for gba games it couldnt see any roms though (used the normal extensions) i was able to play NES games...speed and all is good but since u cant configure anything or at least leave the damn screen (it depends to much on the touchscreen) its very unusefull for me...(press * u get the configure pop up, cant leave it though)
what u should do is email the author and ask if he could port it to smartphone, ..

  • 0

#27
Matty.PW

Matty.PW

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
Am i the only one that is a little curious?

Can you not see the word "Unregistered" in the bottom left corner in red in all the shots of the emulator?! As in they might just be screen shots from a program running on a PC or the like?!

You can see the "Unregistered" in red on the pics called "Sem titulo.jpg", and you can also see this on the photos from the SP5 if you look close enough!!

Fake if you ask me!

  • 0

#28
Leddy

Leddy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:Sony Ericsson XPERIA X1

Am i the only one that is a little curious?

Can you not see the word "Unregistered" in the bottom left corner in red in all the shots of the emulator?! As in they might just be screen shots from a program running on a PC or the like?!

You can see the "Unregistered" in red on the pics called "Sem titulo.jpg", and you can also see this on the photos from the SP5 if you look close enough!!

Fake if you ask me!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


If they were shots from a PC, then they would be clean as the person could just use PrtScrn. However, this guy used a third party app to cap screenshots off their phone.

  • 0

#29
pedroms1

pedroms1

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Location:Lisboa
  • Devices:SP5
Man, this is why Tech gave up of this forum.
Why dont you try first, then say if it is a fake or not?? If you dont believe me, ask Smartastic if when he played the NES emulator on morph gear the "unregistered" word didnt appear too.
It just means that Im playing with an unregistered version of the emulator.

If you ask me, I also dont know why people do not post their results, but it doesnt mean that it is a fake, I think that if this was a fake, then people would have posted their results, but, as you can see by the number of downloads of the photos, people just seem to try it, and dont post anything, forgeting that this is just a community.

Before saying it is fake, try it.

Pedro

  • 0

#30
Silent.knight

Silent.knight

    Newbie

  • Validating
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Devices:(Soon to be) MDA Touch
talk to Parallax he is quite skilled with this kind of thing

  • 0

#31
Smartastic

Smartastic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
matthew p u are so off...try to think before making insults ok ?
i tried it too and got the same unregisterd version screen, he ask 15 dollar per module, this is shareware software, prolly has more limitations but as i said this program isnt handy and should be ported in the good way by the author..

Edited by Smartastic, 02 March 2006 - 11:01 AM.

  • 0

#32
djfuego

djfuego

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Devices:SPV M700
Nice, can you build a PPC version for 2003SE Intel as wel as Arm?

  • 0
Peace out!





Phone History

SPVE100 > SPVC500 > SPVM500
My Software

#33
Smartastic

Smartastic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts

Nice, can you build a PPC version for 2003SE Intel as wel as Arm?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



can you search the author site or ask him ?

  • 0

#34
jameshpg

jameshpg

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts

Im only sorry that this, probably, only works with WM 5 devices...

Later today I'm releasing a tutorial for those who couldn't believe it was possible to be made.

People, lets make it happen!!!! IT CAN BA MADE without those nasty bugs!!!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


hi pedroms,

I'VE DONE IT!!! I AM NOW OFFICIALLY PLAYING POKEMON SAPHIRE!!!

MY C600 WITH THE HELP OF AN APP UNLOCK AND SOME BUTTON REASSIGNMENTS PLAYS SAPHIRE!

i thought it cud be done! thanks for all ur hard work and as a thank you i will be posting pictures of how i did it.

should be up and running by the end of tonight!

check back at 9pm

jameshpg

  • 0

#35
jameshpg

jameshpg

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
hello all *again*,

this is the updated guide. i've got the pics from the phone and they attached! check it out for yourself and belive it. the game works well - tad slow but i haven't overclocked my c600 because i dont know how to lol! :roll:

here's a short step by step guide:

1. app unlock (if phone is already app unlocked, go to step 2):
a. unzip regedit.rar to your storage card via activesync
b. right click on regedit.exe and select copy
c. go to the /windows/Start Menu directory on your phone (you might need to go to folder options and select Show hidden files/folders)
d. right click anywhere and click Paste Shortcut. You now have a shortcut to the reg edit program for easy access
e. open the program and go down to select HKEY_LOCAL_MA‚€¶ by pressing the joystick in
f. then open Security
g. then Policies
h. then Policies again
i. then Values (left softkey)
j. then select 00001001 from the list. Change the Value Data to 1 and select Done
k. then choose 00001005 from the list. Change the Value Data to 40 and Done
PHONE DECERTED!!!

2. fakecursor:
a. download attached fakecursor.rar and unzip fakecursor.exe to your /windows directory

3. assaign IE button to Fakecursor.exe
a. download the attached shortpoc.rar file TO YOUR PC and unzip the Short_POC.Ink to your desktop
b. open the /windows directory on your phone via activesync
c. right click on Short_POC.Ink on the desktop and click Copy
d. right click in the /windows folder and select Paste
e. it will ask you to overrite the existing one, select Yes
FAKECURSOR WILL LAUNCH AND CLOSE EVERYTIME YOUR PRESS THE IE BUTTON NOW!

4. install morphgear

a. Go to HERE to download and install WinCE cab manager.

b. Being sure that your phone is not activesynced, download from THIS SITE the file:
"MorphGear for Pocket PC 2003 Version 2.3.0.2
MorphGear for Pocket PC 2003 devices with the Intel XScale processor running Windows Mobile 2003. This includes devices such as the Dell Axim X5 Advanced, Dell Axim X3, and HP iPAQ 2215."

c. WITHOUT THE PHONE ACTIVESYNCED, Install the file you've downloaded and, when it finishes installing on the computer, go to C:\Program Files\Microsoft ActiveSync\MorphGear\ and open the CAB file with WinCE Cab Manager. There, extract all the files in the files section to the folder you have created in step 1.

d. Go to THIS SITE and download the file:
"PocketPC 2003 running Windows Mobile 2003, such as Dell Axim X5 Advanced, Dell Axim X3, or HP iPAQ 2215."

e. WITHOUT THE PHONE ACTIVESYNCED, Install only on the computer and after you finish, go to C:\Program Files\Microsoft ActiveSync\Marat\ and open the cab file with WinCE Cab Manager. Here, extract the VGBA.dll to a folder on your desktop and copy it into the morphgear folder on your storage card

f. Now connect your device to activesync, and cancel the instalation of the aplications.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


g. go to directory where morphgear is on your phone (or storage card)
h. right click on morphgear.exe and select Copy
i. go to /windows/Start Menu/Games and right click Paste Shortcut
YOUR HAVE INSTALLED MORPHGEAR ON YOUR PHONE!

-----at this point you may like to put a rom in the morphgear directory ready------

5. combine!
a. launch morphgear (start>games>morphgear)
b. press the IE button above the volume buttons to launch Fakecursor
c. use joystick to navigate to the open icon at the top left (joy in=action/ok)
d. select a rom (dont ask where to get them in here - no rom talk!)
e. double click (i.e press joystick in twice(
WATCH THE MAGIC WORK!

Many thanks to mini_man (for the app unlock advice), pedroms1 (for starting this and giving me the modified Short_POc), fakecursor-kam_ (not sure who gets credit, maybe: kam_ from this post http://www.modaco.co...p;#entry696435), morphgear and WinCe cab manager!

Let me know if you have any problems,

James

Attached Files


Edited by jameshpg, 21 July 2006 - 09:05 AM.

  • 0

#36
w411y

w411y

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,516 posts
  • Location:Pontypridd, Wales
  • Devices:SPV M1500 & SPV C550
Well done James ;)
Now we wont have to worry about pedroms giving up on this forum ;)
If I get time tomorrow Ill try on my C550 and post results.. I hard reset yesterday so wont lose much if it goes wrong.

  • 0

#37
pedroms1

pedroms1

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Location:Lisboa
  • Devices:SP5
Djfuego, it is already a version for pocketpc, all you need to do is install it.

Jameshpg,
I wanted people to go to their website to download, so they could be sure that the emulator wasnt made by me. And about making your own rar files, I think that it is illegal, as it isnt a free distibution program, but as long as they dont know it...
By the way, thanks for the photos, lets hope that nobody else says it is a fake.

w4lly,
People that think that people should stay on the forum as long as they know something that nobody knows, arent also the people will be missed. By the way, fakecursor only works with WM 5, so you should try pen irazu (pirazu), and maybe you could post your results. (The emulator works in non QVGA and WM 5 devices)

  • 0

#38
jameshpg

jameshpg

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts

Jameshpg,
And about making your own rar files, I think that it is illegal, as it isnt a free distibution program, but as long as they dont know it...

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


hey,

i dont want to do anything illegal? wot should i do? can i edit my post and get rid of the attachment?

thanks

james

  • 0

#39
pedroms1

pedroms1

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Location:Lisboa
  • Devices:SP5
Men, maybe you can wait for someone to tell you if it is really illegal, as I cant be sure of it, but I really thing it is, as I havent posted the files, instead of it, I just gave people the links. But as this is happening in other topics, I think it shouldnt make any difference. (for example, look at the first post of THIS TOPIC.
You decide what you want to do...

Pedro

  • 0

#40
josh_lomas

josh_lomas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Devices:spv c550
bugger, When i press the ie button after installing fake cursor and following all of the instructions, it comes up with a message saying this program comes from an untrusted bla bla bla as normal, so i press yes, but it takes ages to register that ive pressed the button, then comes up with a screen saying that the program doesnt have a certified certificate or some crap like that!

please help

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users