• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

jtheun

jtheun

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:Orange C600
I just started playing with Visual Studio 2005 and built a simple app (one form with an exit button) using C# and the Compact Framework 1. But when I deploy and run this app on my Orange C500, it takes 5-10 seconds to start up... Is this normal?

When I look at my other favorite apps like NewsBreak, they start up immediately. Should I assume that they are written in native code, using some other dev tool than Visual Studio 2005?

rogueqd

rogueqd

Regular

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Devices:Nokia 6500 Slide
Yeah, when you run a .NET program the phone has to load the .NET Framework before it can run the program. C++ programs run natively.

jtheun

jtheun

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:Orange C600
So if I want to code a faster app, what development tool would I use? This is for a smartphone running windows mobile 5

derek_k

derek_k

• Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Devices:i-mate SP5

So if I want to code a faster app, what development tool would I use? This is for a smartphone running windows mobile 5

C++

Tech

Tech

Hardcore

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,490 posts
  • Devices:E200 2xC500 SP5m Vario
make sure on the final deployment of the app to select release as it will speed up things.

http://www.spapps.co.uk

Visit the Spapps UK Forums!!!
Spapps UK Forums [new]
Spapps UK Forums alternative link
^^^ CLICK ME ^^^

Current Projects:

DAR~ling update tba*
WMP Remote** (need new ideas!!)

TV Remote codenamed meetu (postponed)
mini PC Controller codenamed mawk

Ben74

Ben74

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Motorola Q

I just started playing with Visual Studio 2005 and built a simple app (one form with an exit button) using C# and the Compact Framework 1. But when I deploy and run this app on my Orange C500, it takes 5-10 seconds to start up... Is this normal?