Jump to content


Photo

Orange UK Discontinue M5000?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1
vampires

vampires

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:SPVM2000, SPVM3100
Hi all

I just tried to upgrade my m2000 to a m5000 and Orange UK told me I couldn't as they have discontinued it!!!!!!!

Anyone else come across this or are in the know as to why this is

Robbie

:) :)

  • 0

#2
The Doctor

The Doctor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,324 posts
  • Location:Clarendon Park, Leicester, UK
  • Interests:Karate, Mobile Phones, Hockey, Sailing, Kayaking, Watersports in general.<br /><br />Building My TARDIS :D
  • Devices:Acer M900, soon a HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@frillip1

Hi all

I just tried to upgrade my m2000 to a m5000 and Orange UK told me I couldn't as they have discontinued it!!!!!!!

Anyone else come across this or are in the know as to why this is

Robbie

;) :)


personally, as i think orange and their animal tariffs suck, you would be better off jumping ship to tmobile with the MDA Pro (M5000) on something like a flext tariff :)

  • 0

Read my Blog!

Get 2.25GB of FREE online backup at https://mozy.com/?ref=5FQY80


#3
jimbouk

jimbouk

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,721 posts
  • Location:London
  • Devices:HTC Diamond
Its showing as available on their website.

  • 0
Touch HD runnign Dutty's latest rom

#4
sporkguy

sporkguy

    iSpork

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • Location:Lichfield
  • Interests:Phone History:<br /><br />-Nokia 5110<br />-Nokia 8210<br />-Nokia 3510i<br />-Nokia 7210<br />-Sony Ericsson K700i<br />-Nokia 6630<br />-Nokia 7610<br />-Orange SPV M500<br />-Orange SPV C500<br />-Sony Ericsson W800i<br />-Nokia N90<br />-Samsung D600<br />-iMate SP5<br />-MDA Vario <br />-MoDaCo C600<br />-MDA Pro<br />-Sony Ericsson K800i<br />-Nokia E61<br />-Nokia N95<br />-LG Viewty<br />-Sony Ericsson W660<br />-Nokia 6500 Classic Black<br />-Sony Ericsson W910<br />-Sony Ericsson C902<br />-Blackberry Curve<br />-Blackberry Bold 9000<br />-iPhone 3GS<br />-HTC Desire<br />-iPhone 4
  • Devices:iPhone 4
  • Twitter:@Super_Nicktendo
Orange have not discontinued the M5000. I spoke with the Manager of my old store today about this and she said they're having stock problems but Orange assure stores that stock WILL be replenished!

Seems front line staff havn't the foggiest when it comes to SPVs & Stock. I remember back when I worked as a Phone Trainer, my collegues started saying the M500 was discontinued when the M5000 came out! talk about idiocy lol.

Maybe the person you spoke to thought you meant the M500, which would make sense as the M600 has effectively replaced it.

  • 0

#5
vampires

vampires

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:SPVM2000, SPVM3100

Orange have not discontinued the M5000. I spoke with the Manager of my old store today about this and she said they're having stock problems but Orange assure stores that stock WILL be replenished!

Seems front line staff havn't the foggiest when it comes to SPVs & Stock. I remember back when I worked as a Phone Trainer, my collegues started saying the M500 was discontinued when the M5000 came out! talk about idiocy lol.

Maybe the person you spoke to thought you meant the M500, which would make sense as the M600 has effectively replaced it.



I have spoken to Orange again and they say that is not available on upgrade, but my local Orange retailer is hopefully getting me one.

To jimbouk, you get what you pay for in this world and tmobiles unlimited data is so restricted it is not worth what they are charging for it plus I cannot get Tmob 3G in the areas where I live and work (South Wales) so I will stick with Orange who give me the service I need.

Robbie

Edited by vampires, 01 June 2006 - 12:27 PM.

  • 0

#6
matt1971

matt1971

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Samsung i780
On orange.co.uk if you go to Upgrade phones the M5000 is not listed, however if you go to pay as you go you can get it for 299!!


Wonder why they have taken it off upgrade.


Matt

  • 0
Psion 3->M505->Ipaq 3660,3970,5555->E200,M2000,M5000,M3100->i780

#7
vampires

vampires

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:SPVM2000, SPVM3100
Hi Again

Well I have been round several Orange retailers and have been told the same thing, they havent got any and they wont be getting anymore as they are now end of line, when Orange have sold all their current stocks (and it looks like there aren't many left) that will be it. Lets hope they bring the HTC Hermes out soon.

One very pee'd off Orange customer

Robbie

  • 0

#8
Dr Who

Dr Who

    Timelord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,987 posts
  • Location:Gallifrey
For 10 you get truly unlimited access though. Only no no is VoIP which seems fair enough. Not a lot you can do to get round the lack of 3G though. Move, maybe?

  • 0

#9
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,636 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil

To jimbouk, you get what you pay for in this world and tmobiles unlimited data is so restricted it is not worth what they are charging for it plus I cannot get Tmob 3G in the areas where I live and work (South Wales) so I will stick with Orange who give me the service I need.

Robbie


So restricted it is not worth it?

It might not be to you but the 85Mb I used las month (before I had push email) make it very worthwhile for me.
The restrictions are no use as a modem, no streaming and no VOIP - none of which are things I'd want to do. No reception is one excuse but to say it's not worth 7.50 a month sounds somewhat like sour grapes. T-Mob have proved far better than Orange were for me in almost every respect.

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#10
vampires

vampires

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:SPVM2000, SPVM3100

So restricted it is not worth it?

It might not be to you but the 85Mb I used las month (before I had push email) make it very worthwhile for me.
The restrictions are no use as a modem, no streaming and no VOIP - none of which are things I'd want to do. No reception is one excuse but to say it's not worth 7.50 a month sounds somewhat like sour grapes. T-Mob have proved far better than Orange were for me in almost every respect.


Hi Confuscious

I am glad that T-mob are good for you, iti s not sour grapes I us orb.com and stream a lot of stuff to my phone at the mo that would be a lot better with 3G. Orange and O2 both have 3G coverage where I live and O2 still have the Universal and cheaper data rates but I think I am gonna wait to see what develops on the Hermes front now, it just may be worth waiting a little longer. If O2 come out with it first then I may well change to them (They have as comig soon on their german site)

Robbie

  • 0

#11
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,636 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
The hermes is, I believe due on O2 Germany now so should hopefully follow soon in the UK, on T it's due out in Aug.
Streaming uses lots of data and on any network that's going to cost....
Is streaming banned on T-Mob's pro data package? I must sdmit I can't rememberf but asume it must be.
I suppose I would use Orb if it was allowed (I do to use home files at work) but I still find the 7.50 option so much better than anything else you won't hear many complaints from me!
I'm typing this on the train on the way to work and use my phone like I used to use my blackberry for push email - I couldn't afford to do that on any other network and I've fount T's coverage a lot better than O2 for 3G (almost as goodc as Orange) and there CS very good.
I am a very happy bunny!

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#12
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II
What are the O2 data rates/bundles like then? Anyone care to enlighten me as I'm at work at the mo and can't be botherd to trawl through the O2 site! :)

  • 0

#13
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,636 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil

Monthly Subscription 8 14.50 18.50
Inclusive Data 5MB 36MB 75MB
Rollover of unused inclusive data Yes, for 3 months Yes, for 3 months Yes, for 3 months
Price per additional megabyte (MB) 1.00 0.85 0.75
All prices are exclusive of VAT


Monthly Subscription 25 40 75
Inclusive Data 200MB 512MB Unlimited
Rollover of unused inclusive data Yes, for 3 months Yes, for 3 months Not Applicable
Price per additional megabyte (MB) 0.75 0.75 Not Applicable
All prices are exclusive of VAT


  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#14
Markee

Markee

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:T Mobile MDA Vario
Pretty obvious why Orange don't have any SPV M5000s;

Cos they are all on Ebay - Take a look! :)

Markee

  • 0

#15
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II
Thanks Confucious

Not bad deals but obviously not on a par with T-Mobile. Still, would be worth it for better phone signal where I live. T-Mobile is better then Orange were but still not great :)

  • 0

#16
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,636 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
I'm suprised T don't have a signal in S. Croydon - I presume you have actually tried and aren't relying on their seriously out of date coverage maps?

O2 have good coverage in cities and mainline rail routes (at least in this part of the country) but as soon as you get away from rhere the 3G coverage as very sketchy.

Good luck.

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#17
clive_j

clive_j

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Desire HD / Advent Vega
Hope this isn't deemed to be hijacking/off topic!

Is the prepay Orange 1/day for 'unlimited' 3G data still available? (I think it was enabled by texting ACCESS to 247.) Now that Buzz has cracked unlocking the Universal I can try out my Orange SIM on the 3G cell just down the road!

Many thanks
Clive

  • 0

#18
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II

I'm suprised T don't have a signal in S. Croydon - I presume you have actually tried and aren't relying on their seriously out of date coverage maps?

O2 have good coverage in cities and mainline rail routes (at least in this part of the country) but as soon as you get away from rhere the 3G coverage as very sketchy.

Good luck.

I live in a small town called Selsdon in South Croydon where Orange have almost no signal and T-Mobile are just a little better (1 to 2bars most the time but peeps often complain of the line cutting out). This as the local school's pta got a bee in their bonnet years back and ordered the removal of the mobile phonemast that was on their grounds... :)

  • 0

#19
Jon Parker

Jon Parker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Orange have not discontinued the M5000. I spoke with the Manager of my old store today about this and she said they're having stock problems but Orange assure stores that stock WILL be replenished!


The M5000 is now officialy "end of life" as far as retail goes, this means that there won't be any more coming out of Banbury and if a store wants one it's going to be a transfer from another shop (i.e. unlikely). There are a few left, but not many.

  • 0

#20
CodeDaemon

CodeDaemon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Surrey, UK
  • Devices:SPV M5000
I went to the two Orange shops in area I live and both guys told me I am able to upgrade me SPV C500 to a M5000, but I couldn't do it there and then since they had none in stock, so I tired the customer support line... and bang! It is turning up on Tuesday!

Edited by CodeDaemon, 01 July 2006 - 12:16 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users