Quick guide to GPS on Wizard

Guest nforsans

Guest nforsans

Hi all

I am interested in the gps thing, but I am new to all this - can anyone give me a quick guide to what I should know about and what I should need to make my Wizard (and my Hermes/TyTN when it is released) GPS-enabled?

I am confused by all the various softs tom tom, route 66, etc. and all the GPS receivers. I suppose I need both a receiver and maps as the wizard does not include a GPS receiver. Which are the best hardware and software? And then, how does it work? via GPRS? In which case, an all-u-can eat data plan is necessary.

Please help / point me to the right place.

Cheers

Edited by nforsans

Guest CaptainZok

Hi

firstly you need a GPS receiver, bluetooth is probably the easiest, then you need the navigation software.

GPRS isnt necessary unless you want to use the traffic/weather service with tomtom. Ive never tried it myself but I think its subscription based.

Bluetooth receivers are plentiful and cheap try a search on ebay.

Software is a matter of choice, I use tomtom myself and it does what I need it to quite well.

Then its just a matter of paring the bluetooth receiver, installing tomtom and getting the two talking to each other and you'll find a few threads on doing that if you have any problems.

Hope that helps you.

Guest nforsans
Hi

firstly you need a GPS receiver, bluetooth is probably the easiest, then you need the navigation software.

GPRS isnt necessary unless you want to use the traffic/weather service with tomtom. Ive never tried it myself but I think its subscription based.

Bluetooth receivers are plentiful and cheap try a search on ebay.

Software is a matter of choice, I use tomtom myself and it does what I need it to quite well.

Then its just a matter of paring the bluetooth receiver, installing tomtom and getting the two talking to each other and you'll find a few threads on doing that if you have any problems.

Hope that helps you.