Jump to content


Photo

Quickmark QR Code Software for your Smartphone - your phone as QR Code scanner

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
117 replies to this topic

#1
Unic0der

Unic0der

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Devices:i-Mate SP5
You know how nearly everything in Japan is tagged with QR Codes these days? OK, so you probably don't, and chances are you know QR Codes as 2D barcodes (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/QR_Code for more info).
http://qrcode.kaywa.com/img.php?s=5&d=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.MoDaCo.com


Now every Windows Mobile phone owner (not to mention Symbian, UIQ etc) can also read these codes with the free Quickmark QR Code Reader you can get available
here! Downloads are in CAB format, but that's cool with CABviaActiveSync right? :)

You can create your own QR Codes here.

Paul (MVP): I've given it a go (see pic), and it works amazingly well... see pic below!

Edit: If you find you have Chinese rather than English, track down the install directory and rename QuickMark.0409.dll to QuickMark.0809.dll (assuming you are using a UK English device - US English devices should be fine out of the box)


Posted Image


  • 0

#2
G1LIW

G1LIW

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:HTC Touch Pro 2 (Rhodium)
OK, the next question is this: Which of those links on the Quickmart download page would relate to an Orange SPV C600?

Edited by G1LIW, 25 July 2006 - 10:50 AM.

  • 0
Best Regards,
Roger Stenning

Posted Image

#3
Wombleuk

Wombleuk

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Devices:V1415
My phone doesn't have a scanner...or am I missing something here (apart from a scanner, that is) ?

  • 0

#4
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
[Editing and moving to News...]

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#5
Alex (nedge2k)

Alex (nedge2k)

    Editor Dude

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,757 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leicester, UK
  • Devices:Too many!
  • Twitter:@nedge2k
Posted Image

VERY cool! :)

  • 0
Cab-O-Matic - The ONLY online .cab maker (now working again, mostly!)

Posted Image Posted Image


#6
Syphon Filter

Syphon Filter

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 819 posts
  • Location:London - UK
  • Devices:HTC TyTN II

My phone doesn't have a scanner...or am I missing something here (apart from a scanner, that is) ?


It uses the camera in your phone to "read in" the code, basically take a picture.

I am betting it then uses a neural network of some kind to carry out recognition on the image to decipher the information in the code image.

Very cool...

  • 0

#7
barfoo

barfoo

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Gender:Male
Anyone else having problems with text not showing? I'm just getting boxes for menu options, seems like I have a japanese version or something.

  • 0

#8
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
CTRL-Refresh this page for my new avatar :)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#9
chucky.egg

chucky.egg

    Did I say that out loud?

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,724 posts
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Interests:Sleeping
  • Devices:Desire S
  • Twitter:@chucky_egg
This is cooool!

The only downside is that the URL for the image includes the text/SMS/URL that it "holds", otherwise you could use it for semi-secure storage of information

Email links would be handy too

  • 0

#10
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Just save the picture locally chucky.egg, problem solved.

Email links can be done too... see http://nfggames.com/...m/qrcodegen.php (cheers Nedge2k)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#11
niacin65

niacin65

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Location:Philippines
  • Devices:HTC Hero, O2 XDA Graphite
Cool!!!

Posted Image

Edited by niacin65, 25 July 2006 - 02:16 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#12
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Add instructions for getting English if you find the app is in Chinese:

'If you find you have Chinese rather than English, track down the install directory and rename QuickMark.0409.dll to QuickMark.0809.dll (assuming you are using a UK English device - US English devices should be fine out of the box)'

:)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#13
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
On my JAMin I have to enable Macro mode with the lil switch to get the avatars working.

I am in 1600x1200 on a 15" screen which is probably not helpful tho :)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#14
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Right, now where to get a QR code on a t-shirt, lol! ;)

P

PS Nedge's idea :)

Attached File  qrtee.gif   36.07KB   71 downloads


  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#15
tsutton

tsutton

    Need answers? Use the search feature. :)

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Near Norwich, UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S2/HD2 (Andriod)
  • Twitter:@tony_sutton
Hmm which version for the MDA Vario... ?

Thanks

  • 0
- Tony Sutton
- My Ford Focus ST170 car | My Car's Dashcam Video

#16
Alex (nedge2k)

Alex (nedge2k)

    Editor Dude

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,757 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leicester, UK
  • Devices:Too many!
  • Twitter:@nedge2k

PS Nedge's idea :)


;)

  • 0
Cab-O-Matic - The ONLY online .cab maker (now working again, mostly!)

Posted Image Posted Image


#17
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Give the 818 Pro one a go?

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#18
chucky.egg

chucky.egg

    Did I say that out loud?

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,724 posts
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Interests:Sleeping
  • Devices:Desire S
  • Twitter:@chucky_egg
I put the 818 Pro version on my Wizard and the image is inverted (not a HUGE problem, but it makes it harder to line up the barcode)

Edited by chucky.egg, 25 July 2006 - 02:29 PM.

  • 0

#19
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Odd!

Trial and error with the other versions then perhaps!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#20
chucky.egg

chucky.egg

    Did I say that out loud?

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,724 posts
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Interests:Sleeping
  • Devices:Desire S
  • Twitter:@chucky_egg
...same with the 818 version

In fact the menu on the 818 version is corrupt on my Wizard too (818 Pro is the better of the two so far!).

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users