Jump to content


Photo

Using a non T-Mobile HTTP proxy

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
276 replies to this topic

Poll: MoDaCo Plus Proxy (143 member(s) have cast votes)

Would you sign up to MoDaCo Plus for a dedicated proxy?

  1. Yes, I surely would! (74 votes [51.75%])

    Percentage of vote: 51.75%

  2. No, I surely wouldn't! (2 votes [1.40%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.40%

  3. I'm indecisive, so don't rely on me. (33 votes [23.08%])

    Percentage of vote: 23.08%

  4. I'm Plus already, I rock! (34 votes [23.78%])

    Percentage of vote: 23.78%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#21
julianmclean

julianmclean

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:Orange SPV C500

julianmclean, have you tried a soft reset? I had to do that to get it to pick up the settings fully i think.

Since you selected the GPRS Test in that drop down, it shouldn't even think about connecting to the other one (assuming you did it right of course!) :D


Yeah, did a reset, but didn't seem to help. I know what you mean - strange that it seems to have both going on at the same time. The bubble actually says:

---
T-Mobile
T-Mobile GPRS Test Connected
---

Does this mean that only the second is actually being used?

  • 0

#22
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Ahhh... THAT bubble.

T-Mobile is the network.

Click the 'G' (or 'U') instead of the signal meter :D

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#23
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
I've had a new idea... i'm going to hook up to T-Mo with my WnW Pro data card this afternoon, and see if I can work out what's going on proxy wise, and how we can improve things.

Damn I love my job :D

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#24
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Incidentally, the Planetlab CoDeeN Project used here doesn't allow form POSTs, so it's of slightly limited use!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#25
adchaffey

adchaffey

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Location:Birmingham
  • Devices:T-Mobile G1
Paul, or anybody....

Can you post a link to the thread about changing the DNS servers used by my Vario. I've heard it improves the time to locate sites, but can't find the thread for the life of me!!

  • 0
Anthony Chaffey
Ballyhoo Commerce

Phone History:
Philips Savvy (C12) - Nokia 3210 - Nokia 3310 - Samsung A300e - SPV E100 - SPV E200 - SPV C500 - MDA Vario - MDA Vario III

Posted Image

#26
gingerprince

gingerprince

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Devices:null
Has anyone actually contacted T-Mobile about their sh1t slow proxy's? They may not even be aware there is a user issue...

  • 0

#27
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Follow this thread:

http://www.modaco.co...33-t244497.html

but use the servers 4.2.2.1 and 4.2.2.2!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#28
adchaffey

adchaffey

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Location:Birmingham
  • Devices:T-Mobile G1

Follow this thread:

http://www.modaco.co...33-t244497.html


Thankyou!

  • 0
Anthony Chaffey
Ballyhoo Commerce

Phone History:
Philips Savvy (C12) - Nokia 3210 - Nokia 3310 - Samsung A300e - SPV E100 - SPV E200 - SPV C500 - MDA Vario - MDA Vario III

Posted Image

#29
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Anyone care to try:

195.221.155.57:3128?

Combined with the 4.2.2.1 and 4.2.2.2 DNS settings, makes the web faster than it's ever been for me (on GPRS at least).

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#30
robt

robt

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location:Southampton

Anyone care to try:

195.221.155.57:3128?

Combined with the 4.2.2.1 and 4.2.2.2 DNS settings, makes the web faster than it's ever been for me (on GPRS at least).

P


Are there any restrictions using this proxy?

  • 0
Now using a Vario 3 on Web 'n Walk Pro

Previously an MPX200, a C500 an SDA2, Imate Jam and a Tytn.

Vario 3 is the dogs!

[sigtracker]45166[/sigtracker]

#31
rpopo

rpopo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Devices:Vario II

Anyone care to try:

195.221.155.57:3128?

Combined with the 4.2.2.1 and 4.2.2.2 DNS settings, makes the web faster than it's ever been for me (on GPRS at least).

P


yep - nice and fast for me :-)
What's that proxy, Paul? - are we likely to get kicked off it?

  • 0

#32
adchaffey

adchaffey

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Location:Birmingham
  • Devices:T-Mobile G1

yep - nice and fast for me :-)
What's that proxy, Paul? - are we likely to get kicked off it?


Yeah works great for me too.

  • 0
Anthony Chaffey
Ballyhoo Commerce

Phone History:
Philips Savvy (C12) - Nokia 3210 - Nokia 3310 - Samsung A300e - SPV E100 - SPV E200 - SPV C500 - MDA Vario - MDA Vario III

Posted Image

#33
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
'Academie d'Amiens - Education Nationale'

Basically, a university in Amiens, France - so yeah, good chance of being kicked off.

The difference seems really noticeable to me... so maybe I should set up a HTTP proxy?

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#34
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Are there any restrictions using this proxy?

Other than the fact we probably shouldn't be, no, even directpush etc. seems to work!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#35
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
There's one at Brunel University in the UK too, at 134.83.144.3:80, but I fear as that is going over port 80, it'll still be mangled by T-Mo's system... not sure tho.

If anyone fancies trying that one, could be even better?

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#36
randomelements

randomelements

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 223 posts
As with the earlier proxy are there any restrictions on Direct Push? That's one of the main uses for my phone so losing that just ain't happening...


OK - posts crossed :D

Thanks Paul.

Edited by randomelements, 30 August 2006 - 03:20 PM.

  • 0
Colin Walker
Blog

#37
robt

robt

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location:Southampton

There's one at Brunel University in the UK too, at 134.83.144.3:80, but I fear as that is going over port 80, it'll still be mangled by T-Mo's system... not sure tho.

If anyone fancies trying that one, could be even better?

P


Well, if this proxy server business is the answer to our current problems, then I for one will certainly stump up for Plus membership for our own proxy to use.

Keep digging Paul . . . :D

  • 0
Now using a Vario 3 on Web 'n Walk Pro

Previously an MPX200, a C500 an SDA2, Imate Jam and a Tytn.

Vario 3 is the dogs!

[sigtracker]45166[/sigtracker]

#38
robt

robt

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location:Southampton
Paul

Can we not just add the proxy server details to the current connection by editing rather than create a whole new connection, and then edit it again to lose the proxy details if it goes belly up?

  • 0
Now using a Vario 3 on Web 'n Walk Pro

Previously an MPX200, a C500 an SDA2, Imate Jam and a Tytn.

Vario 3 is the dogs!

[sigtracker]45166[/sigtracker]

#39
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Keep testing and reporting back people!

Remember, use the custom DNS + the proxy server above, and let me know what performance boost you see (if any of course).

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#40
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Paul

Can we not just add the proxy server details to the current connection by editing rather than create a whole new connection, and then edit it again to lose the proxy details if it goes belly up?

No, for some bizarre reason the default connection doesn't allow you to add a proxy. :D

At least not on my device! :D

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users