Jump to content


Photo

HSDPA

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1
TDK

TDK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:HTC S710
Before I bought the MTeoR it was my understanding from the various reviews that I've read that the phone doesn't support HSDPA. However, after a couple of weeks using it I've realised that it must support it as I'm regularly getting 1.2Mbit/s with T-Mobile W&W?

Simon.

Edited by TDK, 07 September 2006 - 09:11 AM.

  • 0

#2
Pagemakers

Pagemakers

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,288 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:HTC S620
You must be dreaming. It does not support it and anyway, you need to have your Sim HSDPA enabled before the service is activated for you.

More details here http://msmobiles.com...s.php/5536.html

  • 0
Phone History: 7110 > T68 > T68i > 7650 > SPV > E100 > 6600 > P900 > Treo 600 > E200 > C500 > Jam > SDA > C550 > QTEK8100 > iMate SP5 & JasJar > HTC MTeoR > Samsung i600 > HTC S620 > Dash

#3
TDK

TDK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:HTC S710
Well, all I can say is that when I performed a few speed tests on the phone yesterday it came back with results between 1.1 and 1.2Mbit/s, the same as when I ran the test on MDA Vario II!

My SIM is HSDPA enabled as I specifically requested it when I joined T-Mobile two weeks ago and purchased my MDA Vario II. The telesales person I was dealing with knew what I was talking about, which makes a nice change coming from Orange!

Simon.

  • 0

#4
Pagemakers

Pagemakers

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,288 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:HTC S620
What speed test software do you use and I will test it on my MteoR?

If you have a laptop you could connect it via your phone and use this: http://www.adslguide...s/speedtest.asp When I used this I was getting about 384 up and down when tested in London this week.

Edited by Pagemakers, 08 September 2006 - 08:37 AM.

  • 0
Phone History: 7110 > T68 > T68i > 7650 > SPV > E100 > 6600 > P900 > Treo 600 > E200 > C500 > Jam > SDA > C550 > QTEK8100 > iMate SP5 & JasJar > HTC MTeoR > Samsung i600 > HTC S620 > Dash

#5
TDK

TDK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:HTC S710

  • 0

#6
Pagemakers

Pagemakers

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,288 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:HTC S620
Interesting. I just connected my laptop to my phone and just tried your test and I get 1.2Mbit/s and I am on W&W too.

On the other speed test I gave you above I get 215 & 331 which does appear more realistic (the test even looks more comprehensive whn you run it).


Nice try :D

  • 0
Phone History: 7110 > T68 > T68i > 7650 > SPV > E100 > 6600 > P900 > Treo 600 > E200 > C500 > Jam > SDA > C550 > QTEK8100 > iMate SP5 & JasJar > HTC MTeoR > Samsung i600 > HTC S620 > Dash

#7
TDK

TDK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:HTC S710
Hmm, I wasn't trying to pull the wool over anyones eyes - I was just running the speedtest that others were running and was supprised to find I was getting the same speeds as my MDA Vario II. I guess the bandwidthplace speedtest isn't that reliable after all?! I'll have to do some more testing when I'm back in the London next week as I don't have 3G coverage here at home.

Simon.

  • 0

#8
Pagemakers

Pagemakers

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,288 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:HTC S620
Sorry I didn't mean to insinuate you were pulling the wool over our eyes.

Yes I guess the tests are unreliable.

  • 0
Phone History: 7110 > T68 > T68i > 7650 > SPV > E100 > 6600 > P900 > Treo 600 > E200 > C500 > Jam > SDA > C550 > QTEK8100 > iMate SP5 & JasJar > HTC MTeoR > Samsung i600 > HTC S620 > Dash

#9
alexnvidia

alexnvidia

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Dopod 577W
i don't know about you guys but dopod 595 that is sold in Asia has HSDPA support!! even has video call. for more info, log on to www.dopodasia.com

  • 0

#10
Pagemakers

Pagemakers

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,288 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:HTC S620
Where does it mention HSDPA

  • 0
Phone History: 7110 > T68 > T68i > 7650 > SPV > E100 > 6600 > P900 > Treo 600 > E200 > C500 > Jam > SDA > C550 > QTEK8100 > iMate SP5 & JasJar > HTC MTeoR > Samsung i600 > HTC S620 > Dash

#11
SecureGSM

SecureGSM

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Devices:/StrTrk/MTeoR/Oxygen/++++
DOPOD 595 ROM:

in \windows dir i have found:

SetHSDPA.exe
SetHSDPA_Disable.lnk ( 99#"SetHSDPA.exe" /Disable )
SetHSDPA_Enable.lnk ( 99#"SetHSDPA.exe" /Enable )

Now, after seeing these files in DOPOD 595 ROM I am not so sure about HTC Breeze does not support HSDPA anymore. I can not verify HSDPA status of my device since i do not have HSDPA available where I live yet.

UPDATE:

just noticed that SetHSDPA_Enable.lnk is also located in \windows\startup by default.

To me it is clear now that HTC Breeze supports HSDPA

Edited by SecureGSM, 12 September 2006 - 03:29 PM.

  • 0

#12
Pagemakers

Pagemakers

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,288 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:HTC S620
Interesting. Those files are not on the MTeoR.

If you are prepared to upload them here I will give them a try on the MTeoR. I have HSDPA enabled on my account.

  • 0
Phone History: 7110 > T68 > T68i > 7650 > SPV > E100 > 6600 > P900 > Treo 600 > E200 > C500 > Jam > SDA > C550 > QTEK8100 > iMate SP5 & JasJar > HTC MTeoR > Samsung i600 > HTC S620 > Dash

#13
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II
Come on Pagemakers, you know the rules with regard copyrighted files and rom sharing (for those who don't, it's not allowed to occur on MoDaCo)...

...besides which, TDK got the high speed with the MTeoR and doesn't mention installing any extra files and even you got a high speed returned by one of the test pages. If it works without why would you need the files?

  • 0

#14
sporkguy

sporkguy

    iSpork

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • Location:Lichfield
  • Interests:Phone History:<br /><br />-Nokia 5110<br />-Nokia 8210<br />-Nokia 3510i<br />-Nokia 7210<br />-Sony Ericsson K700i<br />-Nokia 6630<br />-Nokia 7610<br />-Orange SPV M500<br />-Orange SPV C500<br />-Sony Ericsson W800i<br />-Nokia N90<br />-Samsung D600<br />-iMate SP5<br />-MDA Vario <br />-MoDaCo C600<br />-MDA Pro<br />-Sony Ericsson K800i<br />-Nokia E61<br />-Nokia N95<br />-LG Viewty<br />-Sony Ericsson W660<br />-Nokia 6500 Classic Black<br />-Sony Ericsson W910<br />-Sony Ericsson C902<br />-Blackberry Curve<br />-Blackberry Bold 9000<br />-iPhone 3GS<br />-HTC Desire<br />-iPhone 4
  • Devices:iPhone 4
  • Twitter:@Super_Nicktendo

DOPOD 595 ROM:

in \windows dir i have found:

SetHSDPA.exe
SetHSDPA_Disable.lnk ( 99#"SetHSDPA.exe" /Disable )
SetHSDPA_Enable.lnk ( 99#"SetHSDPA.exe" /Enable )

Now, after seeing these files in DOPOD 595 ROM I am not so sure about HTC Breeze does not support HSDPA anymore. I can not verify HSDPA status of my device since i do not have HSDPA available where I live yet.

UPDATE:

just noticed that SetHSDPA_Enable.lnk is also located in \windows\startup by default.

To me it is clear now that HTC Breeze supports HSDPA

oh. my. god. :D


If this works, it could indeed add a lot of value to the devices people have already purchased, as I can see the 'patch' being leaked rather freely over at xda-devs.

Hmmm gonna keep my eye on this one, would be interesting to see what the result is for Tmob HSDPA customers.

oh and TDK: what result do you get at http://dslreports.com/mspeed ?

  • 0

#15
Pagemakers

Pagemakers

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,288 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:HTC S620
Currently the MTeoR is not giving HSDPA speeds. It is giving 3G speeds.

Tested here http://www.adslguide...s/speedtest.asp

Sadly, if you are not allowed to post these files here (didn't realise that), there is nothing more I can do to help.

  • 0
Phone History: 7110 > T68 > T68i > 7650 > SPV > E100 > 6600 > P900 > Treo 600 > E200 > C500 > Jam > SDA > C550 > QTEK8100 > iMate SP5 & JasJar > HTC MTeoR > Samsung i600 > HTC S620 > Dash

#16
SecureGSM

SecureGSM

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Devices:/StrTrk/MTeoR/Oxygen/++++
ok.. here it is:

http://forum.xda-dev...p=358852#358852







Currently the MTeoR is not giving HSDPA speeds. It is giving 3G speeds.

Tested here http://www.adslguide...s/speedtest.asp

Sadly, if you are not allowed to post these files here (didn't realise that), there is nothing more I can do to help.


  • 0

#17
Pagemakers

Pagemakers

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,288 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:HTC S620
How do you know if you are in a HSDPA area?

  • 0
Phone History: 7110 > T68 > T68i > 7650 > SPV > E100 > 6600 > P900 > Treo 600 > E200 > C500 > Jam > SDA > C550 > QTEK8100 > iMate SP5 & JasJar > HTC MTeoR > Samsung i600 > HTC S620 > Dash

#18
TDK

TDK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:HTC S710

oh and TDK: what result do you get at http://dslreports.com/mspeed ?

I'll give it a try tomorrow when I'm back in central London with HSDPA 3G coverage and let you know.

Simon.

  • 0

#19
Pagemakers

Pagemakers

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,288 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:HTC S620
I've installed the files, but I'm not sure if they are running or not. 3G connection speed is as it was before (how do I know if I am in an HSDPA area)?

BYW, I think files installed in the /windows folder will auto-delete on re-boot.

  • 0
Phone History: 7110 > T68 > T68i > 7650 > SPV > E100 > 6600 > P900 > Treo 600 > E200 > C500 > Jam > SDA > C550 > QTEK8100 > iMate SP5 & JasJar > HTC MTeoR > Samsung i600 > HTC S620 > Dash

#20
Thetechnogeek

Thetechnogeek

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Devices:Nexus one, HTC HD2

I've installed the files, but I'm not sure if they are running or not. 3G connection speed is as it was before (how do I know if I am in an HSDPA area)?

BYW, I think files installed in the /windows folder will auto-delete on re-boot.


I installed the files too- I needed to remove the HSR attributes before I could see them on the phone. Like you, I could not tell if they were running, and I am not getting higher speed on T-mob 3G, but also have no idea how to tell i'm in a coverage area. Needless to say Tmob CS could not help- it took me long enough to get HSDPA enabled!

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users