Jump to content


Photo

Hurricane & WM2005-possible?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1
dublicator

dublicator

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade/Huawei IDEOS S7
  • Twitter:@dublicator
See subject.
Sorry for my English

  • 0

#2
The Doctor

The Doctor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,324 posts
  • Location:Clarendon Park, Leicester, UK
  • Interests:Karate, Mobile Phones, Hockey, Sailing, Kayaking, Watersports in general.<br /><br />Building My TARDIS :D
  • Devices:Acer M900, soon a HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@frillip1

See subject.
Sorry for my English


nope not as of yet. however as my bourbct is up for renewal soon i may try a custom rom i made to see if it works. don't reckon it'll work tin and i'll probably brick it. but hey i have insurance :D

phil

  • 0

Read my Blog!

Get 2.25GB of FREE online backup at https://mozy.com/?ref=5FQY80


#3
The Doctor

The Doctor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,324 posts
  • Location:Clarendon Park, Leicester, UK
  • Interests:Karate, Mobile Phones, Hockey, Sailing, Kayaking, Watersports in general.<br /><br />Building My TARDIS :D
  • Devices:Acer M900, soon a HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@frillip1

bourbct


i mean contract :D

silly predictive text

phil

  • 0

Read my Blog!

Get 2.25GB of FREE online backup at https://mozy.com/?ref=5FQY80


#4
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II
I'd be surprised if you succeeded The Doctor, not just because of this thread here but because no one has ever succeeded (be they SPV-Developers or XDA-Developers) in the lengthy time the Hurricane has been out.

Still, let us know how you get on if you decide to have a go...

  • 0

#5
The Doctor

The Doctor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,324 posts
  • Location:Clarendon Park, Leicester, UK
  • Interests:Karate, Mobile Phones, Hockey, Sailing, Kayaking, Watersports in general.<br /><br />Building My TARDIS :D
  • Devices:Acer M900, soon a HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@frillip1

I'd be surprised if you succeeded The Doctor, not just because of this thread here but because no one has ever succeeded (be they SPV-Developers or XDA-Developers) in the lengthy time the Hurricane has been out.

Still, let us know how you get on if you decide to have a go...


Tbh i'll be suprised if it works too.... if orange decide to accept my insurance claim then i will flash my custom rom tot he c550 when i recieve a replacement phone. however i dont think anybody has tried flashing JUST the OS section of the rom... the all did a complete rom update which changed the bootloaders as well so you never know....

But like i said im only going to do it when i recieve a new phone from orange via claiming on insurance beforehand.

Phil

  • 0

Read my Blog!

Get 2.25GB of FREE online backup at https://mozy.com/?ref=5FQY80


#6
verma

verma

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile SDA
Is there any hope to use i-mate SPL WM5 rom on c550? It has OMAP 730,QVGA and WM5.You can look here-"__tp://www.clubimate.com/t-DETAILS_SPL.aspx"

  • 0

#7
The Doctor

The Doctor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,324 posts
  • Location:Clarendon Park, Leicester, UK
  • Interests:Karate, Mobile Phones, Hockey, Sailing, Kayaking, Watersports in general.<br /><br />Building My TARDIS :D
  • Devices:Acer M900, soon a HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@frillip1

Is there any hope to use i-mate SPL WM5 rom on c550? It has OMAP 730,QVGA and WM5.You can look here-"__tp://www.clubimate.com/t-DETAILS_SPL.aspx"


Still not the same processor, the c550 has a OMAP 750 not a 730.

phil

  • 0

Read my Blog!

Get 2.25GB of FREE online backup at https://mozy.com/?ref=5FQY80


#8
verma

verma

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile SDA
Can you upload it somewhere please?

  • 0

#9
The Doctor

The Doctor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,324 posts
  • Location:Clarendon Park, Leicester, UK
  • Interests:Karate, Mobile Phones, Hockey, Sailing, Kayaking, Watersports in general.<br /><br />Building My TARDIS :D
  • Devices:Acer M900, soon a HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@frillip1

Can you upload it somewhere please?


Uploading of a ROM would be against the forum rules...... :rolleyes:

However the SPL ROM can be found on the club imate ftp

As for WM5 on the Hurricane... DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES FLASH A WM5 ROM TO THE HURRICANE!

Or even part of it for that matter.... even just the OS will brick it.

I'm a qualified idiot, and this was not my main phone - awarner (MVP)


Phil

Edited by The Doctor, 04 October 2006 - 11:39 PM.

  • 0

Read my Blog!

Get 2.25GB of FREE online backup at https://mozy.com/?ref=5FQY80


#10
verma

verma

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile SDA
Possible WM2005 for Hurricane?-__tp://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=283402.Is anybody try it?

  • 0

#11
Disco Stu

Disco Stu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,184 posts
  • Location:Coventry, UK
  • Interests:techno, Leeds United
  • Devices:HTC Touch Dual / SPV E650

As for WM5 on the Hurricane... DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES FLASH A WM5 ROM TO THE HURRICANE!

:)

  • 0

#12
RealUnrealwolf

RealUnrealwolf

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:null
I saw the photos with a HTC Hurricane WM5.0 on the chinese site ioicn.com.cn. I dont know, was that fake or not.

  • 0

#13
greenturtle

greenturtle

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,717 posts
  • Location:Guildford
  • Interests:Windows Mobile Devices. I love my music and wont go anywhere with out a pair of wireless headphones.
  • Devices:8gb Kaiser
Have you got a link to the photos as I couldnt seem to find it on that site.

Thanks

Sam

  • 0

#14
The Doctor

The Doctor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,324 posts
  • Location:Clarendon Park, Leicester, UK
  • Interests:Karate, Mobile Phones, Hockey, Sailing, Kayaking, Watersports in general.<br /><br />Building My TARDIS :D
  • Devices:Acer M900, soon a HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@frillip1

Have you got a link to the photos as I couldnt seem to find it on that site.

Thanks

Sam


That wasnt a hurricane, it was an Amadeus running the leaked typhoon WM5 ROM. Basically a typhoon with music buttons in an SDA II shell. So no QVGA or 1.3MP or TI OMAP 750 as you'll find inside a hurricane.

Phil

  • 0

Read my Blog!

Get 2.25GB of FREE online backup at https://mozy.com/?ref=5FQY80


#15
awarner

awarner

    Staff Team Leader

  • Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,511 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Interests:Life the universe and everything in it :)

    Lumia 925 one hell of a camera phone
  • Devices:Lumia 925 a real phone at last
  • Twitter:@ashwarner
Don't forget ROMs are CPU dependant so if you try flashing a ROM from one device onto another with a different CPU then it's welcome to brick city.

I miss my C550 but hopefully it stopped a few ppl trying to be silly and flash WM5, but you never know.

  • 0
Twitter me @ashwarner

Windows Phone 7 Expert.
Windows Phone Business Specialist



#16
The Doctor

The Doctor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,324 posts
  • Location:Clarendon Park, Leicester, UK
  • Interests:Karate, Mobile Phones, Hockey, Sailing, Kayaking, Watersports in general.<br /><br />Building My TARDIS :D
  • Devices:Acer M900, soon a HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@frillip1

Don't forget ROMs are CPU dependant so if you try flashing a ROM from one device onto another with a different CPU then it's welcome to brick city.

I miss my C550 but hopefully it stopped a few ppl trying to be silly and flash WM5, but you never know.


If i ever find the JTAG points on my bricked C600 I'll be able to fix it, and as the Faraday and Hurricane have similar board layouts, chances are they'll be in the same place so i'll be able to fix yours too Ash....

WHEN i find the JTAG points....

Phil

  • 0

Read my Blog!

Get 2.25GB of FREE online backup at https://mozy.com/?ref=5FQY80


#17
pierre

pierre

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 439 posts
  • Interests:Canary&gt; Tanager&gt; Typhoon&gt; Hurricane&gt; Magician&gt; Wizard&gt; Universal&gt; i600&gt; Hermes&gt; Samsung i600&gt; TouchPro
  • Devices:HTC TouchPro
Hi all,

Please check that: http://www.ioicn.com...01/t189232.html. I am myself very surprised...

Pictures here: http://www.ioicn.com...tid_186309.html

I don't understand Chinese, therefore can not make it out if a version exists in English. Can someone with this?

  • 0
Sun is shining, weather is sweet.

#18
The Doctor

The Doctor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,324 posts
  • Location:Clarendon Park, Leicester, UK
  • Interests:Karate, Mobile Phones, Hockey, Sailing, Kayaking, Watersports in general.<br /><br />Building My TARDIS :D
  • Devices:Acer M900, soon a HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@frillip1

Hi all,

Please check that: http://www.ioicn.com...01/t189232.html. I am myself very surprised...

Pictures here: http://www.ioicn.com...tid_186309.html

I don't understand Chinese, therefore can not make it out if a version exists in English. Can someone with this?


I tried flashing the OS part of this ROM and it promptly turned my c550 into a paperweight (went straight to bootloader as happens with WM5 on the c500 with a bootloader other than the 1.010.109 IU) :) however i still had a bootloader so i reflashed with the Qtek 8200 rom :D

I'm curious however as to whether this SPL will allow me to actually boot WM5 from that OS section i flashed...... May try later as my c550 is as good as a paperweight anyway (headset bug/dodgey joystick/generally 'well loved')

Phil

  • 0

Read my Blog!

Get 2.25GB of FREE online backup at https://mozy.com/?ref=5FQY80


#19
The Doctor

The Doctor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,324 posts
  • Location:Clarendon Park, Leicester, UK
  • Interests:Karate, Mobile Phones, Hockey, Sailing, Kayaking, Watersports in general.<br /><br />Building My TARDIS :D
  • Devices:Acer M900, soon a HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@frillip1
OK, I bit the bullet and flashed the SPL posted on the website... it actually flashed and sucessfully booted afterwards :)

Then i put my phone in IU bootloader mode and uploaded the BIN OS image to my phone and Viola! I have WM5 on my HTC Hurricane :D

It is however, VERY buggy. The joystick doesnt work, its obv been ripped from the leaked typhoon wm5 image as all the icons etc are sized for 176x220 rather than QVGA. Doesn't 'wake up' correctly (screen just stays dark) Oh, and it's in chinese :D

Still, i can say i have WM5 running on my hurricane :D Now i'm going to go about improving it (replacing icons, start menu, language, t9 etc etc :D)

Phil

[EDIT: Wonders if a dumped i-mate SPL ROM will work.....]

Edited by The Doctor, 03 February 2007 - 10:36 PM.

  • 0

Read my Blog!

Get 2.25GB of FREE online backup at https://mozy.com/?ref=5FQY80


#20
The Doctor

The Doctor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,324 posts
  • Location:Clarendon Park, Leicester, UK
  • Interests:Karate, Mobile Phones, Hockey, Sailing, Kayaking, Watersports in general.<br /><br />Building My TARDIS :D
  • Devices:Acer M900, soon a HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@frillip1
Actually, I can't upgrade/downgrade the ROM at all thanks to the IU bootloader i have on there..... I'll have to create an SD image from a shipped ROM or another SPL.

Put simpley.. upgrading your HTC hurricane is NOT a good idea, even for those of you who know what your doing :)

Phil

  • 0

Read my Blog!

Get 2.25GB of FREE online backup at https://mozy.com/?ref=5FQY80





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users