Jump to content


Photo

Any news on a M600 software update from Orange?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
Mr_Man

Mr_Man

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Salisbury, Wiltshire
  • Interests:Mobile technology
  • Devices:MDA Vario III
I was wondering if anyone has heard anything on the grapevine about a M600 ROM update from Orange?

Edited by Mr_Man, 29 September 2006 - 11:52 AM.

  • 0
SPV 1, E200, C600, M2000, SP5m, M600, M3100, MDA Vario III, MDA Vario IV

#2
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@@paulobrien
No... what are you hoping for exactly?

I'd be surprised if there are any updates for the M600 in the future.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#3
Mr_Man

Mr_Man

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Salisbury, Wiltshire
  • Interests:Mobile technology
  • Devices:MDA Vario III

No... what are you hoping for exactly?

I'd be surprised if there are any updates for the M600 in the future.

P


Hi Paul, I had been having some problems with my M600 - firstly programs wouldn't uninstall cleanly (I had to manually remove the software before upgrading or re-installing), and the "my info" screen had become corrupted.

I was hoping for an excuse to hard reset - i.e. an update - as I have so many programs installed that it usually takes me several days to get everything re-installed and back to how it was! As it happens I hard reset anyway, and still have the problem where programs won't uninstall or upgrade properly. It's most annoying - I posted in the forum about this a short while ago but didn't get any answers.

Simon

  • 0
SPV 1, E200, C600, M2000, SP5m, M600, M3100, MDA Vario III, MDA Vario IV

#4
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@@paulobrien
SKTools (not free unfortunately) will fix your software uninstall woes. :rolleyes:

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#5
Mr_Man

Mr_Man

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Salisbury, Wiltshire
  • Interests:Mobile technology
  • Devices:MDA Vario III

SKTools (not free unfortunately) will fix your software uninstall woes. :rolleyes:

P


Thanks, is this a known issue with WM5 then?

Presumably SKTools will only help uninstall cleanly if I have used it to install the software in the first place? Or will it allow me to cleanly uninstall or upgrade previously installed programs?

Simon

  • 0
SPV 1, E200, C600, M2000, SP5m, M600, M3100, MDA Vario III, MDA Vario IV

#6
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@@paulobrien
SKTools uninstalls things installed normally.

Yes, this is a known issue with WM5 (well, kinda, MS told me they've 'never seen the problem') :rolleyes:

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#7
Mr_Man

Mr_Man

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Salisbury, Wiltshire
  • Interests:Mobile technology
  • Devices:MDA Vario III

SKTools uninstalls things installed normally.

Yes, this is a known issue with WM5 (well, kinda, MS told me they've 'never seen the problem') :rolleyes:

P


Thanks Paul, downloading as we speak!

  • 0
SPV 1, E200, C600, M2000, SP5m, M600, M3100, MDA Vario III, MDA Vario IV

#8
Lammypie

Lammypie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:M600 (HTC Prophet)
I bought a M600 when it first came out in the orange shops

It had the following version numbers on the boot up screen

IPL 2.10
SPL 2.10.0000
GSM 02.07.20
OS 2.10.1.22

my phone recently vanished, so a new M600 (orange care) arrived today. It has the following improvements

IPL 2.10.0001
SPL 2.10.0001
everything else is the same as far as I can tell

anybody know what the IPL and SPL is and what has changed with the new version release.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users