Jump to content


Photo

Paul's HTC S710 de-Brand Pack

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
92 replies to this topic

#41
bitbank

bitbank

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 457 posts
  • Location:Rainy, Redmond, WA

Attached you'll find a CAB file that installs my HTC S710 de-brander :rolleyes:

It's tested ONLY on the HTC S710 at this time (i'll test on a SPV E650 when I get one!), and requires your device to be app unlocked using the 'Remove Security' CAB (also attached). A reboot is required after install.


Hi Paul,
Nice work on the removesecurity.cab. It worked perfectly on my S710. Does this CAB file work on other HTC devices or is it specific to the S710? Does it just tweak registry entries? If so, do you have documentation on which registry entries to tweak for various devices to be app unlocked?

Thanks,
Larry B.

  • 0
the fastest instructions are none at all :)

#42
Phoenix50

Phoenix50

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, UK
  • Devices:iPhone 4S
Hmmm.

I must be being a bit of a div here; but the "Remove Security" CAB installs but doesn't seem to do anything? I'm on an E650 so maybe that's why?

It breifly changes the theme to the Windows "blue" default, but then reverts back to whatever I've got set, and the installation of the second de-branding file fails with the usual "installation failed because the program has insufficient system permissions"...

any ideas? am I jsut being too impatient and need to hang fire for the Orange-de-brander?

Cheers all

  • 0

#43
Pr0sper

Pr0sper

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Germany

... and requires your device to be app unlocked using the 'Remove Security' CAB (also attached). A reboot is required after install.

I think your unlocker doesn't work right, Paul. For example, I can't change the following registry key using Smartione:
HKLM\Security\Phone\Skin\Progress\Portrait\Other\bmpNormal
It gives me an error "Data could not be written". I guess the unlock cab doesn't work right. :rolleyes:

  • 0

HTC S710



Posted Image


#44
snajafi

snajafi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:SPV E650
Pauls file doesn't work on the E650.
You need to get the application unlocker from Orange directly, at: http://spvunlock.rd.francetelecom.com
I got my unlock cab file within an hour so its easier to get that. You can then install all the other extras that have been posted for the phone to get the most out of it.

Edited by snajafi, 29 May 2007 - 12:46 PM.

  • 0

#45
chernalex

chernalex

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:-
How to switch to the original screens, themes, backgrounds if needed?

  • 0

#46
xbalsegur

xbalsegur

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
For SFR France, you need on top to launch the SDA_Application_unlock.exe file that you can find in this topic :
http://titourhea.fre...p?lng=fr&pg=674

Thanks to all of you, now I can enjoy my SMARTPHONE.

Attached Files


  • 0

#47
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
The E650 de-Brand + Fix Pack is here!

http://www.modaco.co...01-t255845.html

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#48
GuyAdams

GuyAdams

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nottingham, UK
  • Devices:HTC One / Nexus 7 3G
  • Twitter:@GuyOnTech

The E650 de-Brand + Fix Pack is here!

http://www.modaco.co...01-t255845.html

P


Hi Paul,

Any chance of a Vodafone version of this? I've changed the theme which corrects most of the menus, however theres still Vodafone logo when dialing a phone number and still their murky grey on the background of the start menu.

Thanks

  • 0
Guy

Check out my blog 'Guy Adams on Technology' here

#49
sgilder1

sgilder1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

How to switch to the original screens, themes, backgrounds if needed?


I too would like to know if this can be uninstalled before running?

  • 0

#50
rav1patel

rav1patel

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london
  • Devices:HTC Desire - MCR r3.1
  • Twitter:@ravmania
Thanks very much Paul. Truly useful little piece of code. Can't believe how much better my e650 looks now.

  • 0

Posted Image

#51
tormenta

tormenta

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Thanks a lot! Love it! A great refresh feeling after all the green , and besides, Comm Manager f.e. show up much faster !!

  • 0

#52
garfield77

garfield77

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:HTC S710

Hi Paul,

Any chance of a Vodafone version of this? I've changed the theme which corrects most of the menus, however theres still Vodafone logo when dialing a phone number and still their murky grey on the background of the start menu.

Thanks

Yes................ i hope so, we need help here in Holland (?)!!

  • 0

#53
Omnivore

Omnivore

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:HTC s710
Same here, I have a s710 from Vodafone NL. When i unpacked the box and started up the phone i was glad there weren't too many vodafone pics (it has a HTC logo on the front and back of the phone). But indeed the start menu has an ugly sand/brownish background colour and i can see the vodafone logo with the same background color when dialing a number. Oh and of course the huge red full display logo when starting up of shutting down the phone!

Btw, since vodafone has taken out the windows live stuff (customer support says because they can't guarantee it will work on their network), how do i get it back on? And does anyone know what else vodafone has removed?

Edited by Omnivore, 13 August 2007 - 07:20 AM.

  • 0

#54
Thumper Net

Thumper Net

    The artist formerly known as Peekie

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,888 posts
As i stated in another post on the subject of de branding a vodafone vox , this can be done within 10 minutes , sadly no cab file like paul has but easy for anyone who wants to do it now , this works on a vodafone nl and uk version ( originally done on a dutch vodafone s710 )
I will paste my solution to the vodafone debranding here so you wont have to look for it :)

All the standard icons are on the vodafone rom to get them there are 2 ways easy or registry changing

Now if you are really lazy and want to clear all your vodafone icons and change the start menu order then try the following app IBE tweaks ,
choose the image options in the menu
Now change the following for the icons
input phone number up .... windows\ms_mobile.gif , that gets rid of the grey vodafone icon and gives you the smartphone strip
for warnings ect ...
error promt ...windows\yell.gif
warning promt'...windows\yell.gif
information promt ... windows\info.gif
question promt ...windows\ques.gif
earphone volume ...windows\volume.gif

To get rid of the grey smartphone start menu background change start menu option to a photo you own , then choose save , after that go back and delete the startmenu option you just did and it will make the start menu go back to the original windows mobile colours
choose other options/menu startmenu sequence to change the start menu to what you want

The call screen has to be edited with a good reg editor go to ...
HKLM\security\phone\skin\PROGRESS\portrait\other and change the bmpnormal to cprogback.png
then go back and do the same in landscape and you will have the nice jet black calling backround but type cprogback_land.png
the application IBE tweaks comes with a 3 day trial so enough time to change your vodafone icons and start up screens if you want that changed as well just the reg needed for the calling screen

http://www.ibegroup....x?ProductID=104

You can also do the above through resco registry ( as i did ) or simular but it takes longer

dont forget when you have finished back up your phone with sprite so if you hard reset it then its quick to get it back to vodafone free mode


the application from ibe can also change the start up screen ( vodafone logo ) and shutdown screen .
if you follow the above you will be vodafone free in 10 minutes max :P

  • 0
gadget freek , rabbit mad english guy trapped in Holland

#55
sama1

sama1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Interests:Love cars, my life, my passion, my work!!!<br /><br />Just started with a smartphone phone, simply impressive!!
  • Devices:S710

Yes, originally I was going to include that, but it seems the mail / sms plugin from HTC doesn't use the colour settings correctly.

Try the attached and see what I mean (drop in 'Application Data/Home' then select from the Home Screen settings).

P

This worked perfectly!!!

  • 0

#56
dpb16

dpb16

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi Paul just started out in this whole smartphone stuff and was sick at the site of that green so gave your debrander a go.Anyway I am complete noob...How the hell do I install the files because I don't know what to do at all!Thanks for your work.

Regards

DPB16

  • 0

#57
JDRoss

JDRoss

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts

I too would like to know if this can be uninstalled before running?


Has there been an official answer to this question yet? I, too, want to de-brand, but want an exit strategy!

Thanks,
Jon

  • 0

#58
JDRoss

JDRoss

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts

I too would like to know if this can be uninstalled before running?


Has there been an official answer to this question yet? I, too, want to de-brand, but want an exit strategy!

Thanks,
Jon

Edited by JDRoss, 31 August 2007 - 04:13 AM.

  • 0

#59
psujordan

psujordan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC Vox S710

Hi Paul just started out in this whole smartphone stuff and was sick at the site of that green so gave your debrander a go.Anyway I am complete noob...How the hell do I install the files because I don't know what to do at all!Thanks for your work.

Regards

DPB16


I also need some help. Please explain!! I downloaded both folders but have no idea how to apply them to my phone. Thanks!!!

  • 0

#60
jameschatas

jameschatas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC S710
Great stuff Paul!
Could you please also make a cab to reset it to the original green stuff??? ;)

Thanks for your time

JAMES

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users