Jump to content


Photo

Paul's guide to... changing the HTC Touch / T-Mobile Wing PagePool size

* * * * * 5 votes

  • Please log in to reply
297 replies to this topic

#21
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
There are a few things you can do to increase program memory, i'll post some tweaks when I get back from holiday!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#22
madds

madds

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
gee, i'm with my fingers crossed, uploading the rom back to the device :)


my touch is alive and kicking... great!!!
thank's Paul :P

Edited by madds, 26 June 2007 - 04:07 PM.

  • 0

#23
wayne2

wayne2

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile Wing

Talk about a freaking nail biter. Thanks Paul. This worked out perfect. Great instructions.

26+ megs free after reboot. That is with Voice Command disabled and other mild tweaks to the Today screen and startup services. Awesome.


dario69, can you recommend, or provide tips on disabling Voice comand and your other tweaks to the Today screen and start up services? Thanks - Wayne

  • 0

#24
MrEBean

MrEBean

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC Wing

dario69, can you recommend, or provide tips on disabling Voice comand and your other tweaks to the Today screen and start up services? Thanks - Wayne

i'm pretty sure you can just move the file ( voice command.lnk ) from the startup folder to anywhere else ...like a storage card, or other folder.

Edited by MrEBean, 26 June 2007 - 11:50 PM.

  • 0

#25
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Here's a new idea for the Wing users... rather than doing the HexEdit thing, you can apply one of these patchers below to your part02.raw file - to do the edit for you - then just flash back. To use, copy to the same directory as your raw file and run!

So, THESE PATCHERS REPLACE STEP 4, note that they overwrite the part02.raw rather than creating a new file, so when you flash back you flash the part02.raw filename.

Let me know how it works out :)

P

PS These patchers have CRC checking enabled, so should be very safe!

Attached Files


  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#26
jefe

jefe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
paul, that patcher works great. used the 4mb patcher and now i have 24.05 free space... ur da man

  • 0

#27
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Great :)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#28
lamagdalena

lamagdalena

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:tmobile wing

Here's a new idea for the Wing users... rather than doing the HexEdit thing, you can apply one of these patchers below to your part02.raw file - to do the edit for you - then just flash back. To use, copy to the same directory as your raw file and run!

So, THESE PATCHERS REPLACE STEP 4, note that they overwrite the part02.raw rather than creating a new file, so when you flash back you flash the part02.raw filename.

Let me know how it works out :)

P

PS These patchers have CRC checking enabled, so should be very safe!


Hi,

New here and a total noob. I really think running this would make the Wing a hella lot better but I don't want to brick it.

with this patch that danger is gone right? And if for some reason something goes wrong what should I do to start over again?

ty,
malena

ps. if someone doing this would make a video of it it would be sooooo appreaciated. just a suggestions :P

Edited by lamagdalena, 27 June 2007 - 04:08 PM.

  • 0

#29
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
No, it's still dangerous.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#30
bimori

bimori

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
Hi, can anyone woalk me through using teh cmd prompt. i have my working directory saved on my desktop, but for some reason, i cant pull it up from cmd prompt!!

  • 0

#31
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
If you can't use the command prompt, I strongly suggest you don't do this tweak.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#32
eskasi

eskasi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Here's a new idea for the Wing users... rather than doing the HexEdit thing, you can apply one of these patchers below to your part02.raw file - to do the edit for you - then just flash back. To use, copy to the same directory as your raw file and run!

So, THESE PATCHERS REPLACE STEP 4, note that they overwrite the part02.raw rather than creating a new file, so when you flash back you flash the part02.raw filename.

Let me know how it works out :)

P

PS These patchers have CRC checking enabled, so should be very safe!

Hi Paul.....will this patch work with the Touch too?

  • 0

#33
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
No, this patch is ONLY for the Wing... I could make a Touch one tho :)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#34
genaldar

genaldar

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 429 posts
  • Location:Minneapolis, MN
  • Devices:T-Mobile Wing, Cingular 3125
  • Twitter:@genaldar

Eek, so I assume it won't boot?

This is exactly why it's risky before a RUU is released. If there was a RUU, you could now put it in bootloader and reflash to revive it.

:)

P

It booted initially but I kept getting errors and it was slow as hell. So I did another soft reset. It never made it past the Windows Mobile loading screen again. Thats when I checked the dump and realized my error. If anyone else makes my mistake, and they get it to boot once, hopefully they can correct it then.

I got my replacement already though so all is well, this wing even has less play in the slide and overall just seems to have a higher build quality. At least it will be once I get my replacement invisible shield, hopefully that'll come in Friday or Saturday.

Edited by genaldar, 27 June 2007 - 07:19 PM.

  • 0
"Oh, you're a loon aren't you? Where have you escaped from, I'll take you back." Lord Bravery
Sceptical Rocket.

#35
eskasi

eskasi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

No, this patch is ONLY for the Wing... I could make a Touch one tho :)

P


Please please please make one for us!.....Sigh...everytime I get the courage to even think of trying out this trick...its when I have had 3-4 stiff drinks....bad idea

  • 0

#36
machaco

machaco

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:HTC Touch

There are a few things you can do to increase program memory, i'll post some tweaks when I get back from holiday!

P


for touch or for wing?? or for both?? :)

  • 0

#37
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Prolly both, we'll see :)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#38
ivanmmj

ivanmmj

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Devices:TMobile MDA USA
When I run the patcher, I get an error that the file that it's meant to patch isn't the same as the file that I have. Tells me that maybe the file has been patched already, but I know for a fact that it hasn't since I even made an extra copy of it. Do some wings come with slighly different firmware? I edited the file by hand, too, but that message that the patcher gave me scared me out of using it....


ROM Version: 4.10.531.3 WWE
ROM Date: 03/15/07
Radio version: 02.83.90
Protocol version: 4.1.13.37
ExtROM version: 4.10.531.103

  • 0

#39
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
That's the same version as mine, so that's a bit odd :)

The manual edit should be fine.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#40
Raphael on Elf

Raphael on Elf

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:HTC Touch
Great Jobs Paul!
After testing for several days. My Elf still no problem anymore! :)

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users