Jump to content


Photo

Paul's guide to... changing the HTC Touch / T-Mobile Wing PagePool size

* * * * * 5 votes

  • Please log in to reply
297 replies to this topic

#81
machaco

machaco

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:HTC Touch

Yes, but I'm still hoping a Wing RUU surfaces to take the risk away from going the full monty :P

P


Theres a Touch RUU out there if u plan to post them for the elf :)

cheers:D

  • 0

#82
TrueKnight

TrueKnight

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile Wing

Yes, but I'm still hoping a Wing RUU surfaces to take the risk away from going the full monty :P

P


Oh. I assumed you meant non extreme tips like editing startup, services, etc. :)

Let's hope that Wing RUU comes soon (if at all?).

  • 0

#83
urban95901

urban95901

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Devices:T-Mobile Wing
Hey Paul Thanks for the great tutorial i enjoy my new t-mobile wing better now and i am able to run more programs at a time, you rock man i appreciate your help.

  • 0

#84
bullevon

bullevon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Devices:T-Mobile Wing
I followed the guide and everything went perfectly. :)

I used the 6mb Wing patch and have noticed a huge increase in speed.
Thanks for the guide Paul! Any other tweaks would be greatly appreciated.

  • 0

#85
thricemin

thricemin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:tmobile wing
I i saw this post a few weeks ago and i was scared to try it so then after while i got tired of haveing no memory on my wing so i saw your second direction and i followed them word for word and it worked it was actualy realy easy concidering i am a newb at this.PAUL YOUR THE MAN lol i dont hate my phone anymore :) thank you again 24 + memory thats right

  • 0

#86
raymondpun

raymondpun

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

There is a (official Touch ROM) RUU available at pdamobiz:

RUU_Elf_DOPODASIA_WWE_1.11.707.1B_4.1.13.42_02.93.90_Ship.exe

I think this would help to get the Touch back to life if you damaged it with a wrong flash.


Did anyone tried to use this RUU to fix the phone? I want to do the pagepool hack, but I really afraid that I would mess it up.

Is this RUU for any versino of the phone? I got a english version from HK, is it ok to use this RUU?

Thanks.

  • 0

#87
msbutterfli

msbutterfli

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Wing, MDA
omg...paul u are the greatest :) and paul m, thanks for breaking down that section for me it helped a lot.. now i have 19.46mb free last i checked before doing this it was at 6.56mb this is crazy!!! and uh...am I the first female on here to do this?? lol

  • 0

#88
zwmg

zwmg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak
ok, i changed pagepool size of my htc touch to 4MB and have about 5MB more space than before.
but there's f.e. a program (which is very important to me) which is soo big, it needs about 19MB to run. ok, on other devices with 20MB memory left it runs perfectly but on the touch with about 22MB left it only starts but you can't work with it, the startup screen appers but i can't make it work (before changing pagepool it couldn't even start the program because of low memory with about 15-17MB left). after trying to type in something (german program most of you don't know about) and searching for something it shows the memory warning and stops working.

how is that? it runs perfect on devices with 20MB memory (but no change in pagepool size) but only starts, and then stops working on htc touch with 22MB (pagepool size changed to 4MB) free program memory.

  • 0

#89
kwues1

kwues1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
@ Paul, first of all thank you for one of your many awesome contributions.....just curious to know if I would be able to restore a complete backup successfully with no adverse affects after I do the "pagepool" mod and would you recommend it, in your honest opinion? (since it will still be the same ROM)....as always greatly appreciate your time and help/advice, thank you.

regards........ :)

  • 0

#90
kwues

kwues

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Location:Southern, California
  • Devices:HTC Touch
good question, I hope the answer is yes!

  • 0

#91
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
You mean using Sprite Backup or similar?

Yes, that'd work fine :)

P

@ Paul, first of all thank you for one of your many awesome contributions.....just curious to know if I would be able to restore a complete backup successfully with no adverse affects after I do the "pagepool" mod and would you recommend it, in your honest opinion? (since it will still be the same ROM)....as always greatly appreciate your time and help/advice, thank you.

regards........ :P


  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#92
kwues

kwues

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Location:Southern, California
  • Devices:HTC Touch

You mean using Sprite Backup or similar?

Yes, that'd work fine :)

P


yes!...thanks for making my day, Paul...by the way which pagepool size would you recommend for the Touch (4 or 6 mb)? thanks....

  • 0

#93
c0v0c

c0v0c

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Location:Sidcup
  • Devices:SPV E200, SPV M2000, MDA-EXEC
Paul your a genius...

Just did both the Orange HTC Touch devices i picked up today!

Must ask a poll to be raised perhaps as a seperate thread if you can?

We have the touch and have changed the page file to 4mb.

What have others done for the touch as most people posting to this thread seem to be talking about the wing, so i ask what other touch users are using 4mb or 6mb and how is it working for them?

Again, thanks Paul.

Regards,

Chris

  • 0
Common sense isn't common...

#94
Gentmab

Gentmab

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:TMobile Wing
as of now, I still have no way to do this on Windows but do you have any idea if I could do this on a Mac??? I really need this pagepool change, and any other mem tweaks you got

  • 0

#95
kokoko2000

kokoko2000

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

[teaser]Welcome to another edition of 'Paul's Guide to...' :)

Press F3 to find the second instance


It says there is no second instance

BTW - the patcher also mention that it is not designed for my file


any help please.. or people with similar problems on T-Mobile Wing


thanks

  • 0

#96
kokoko2000

kokoko2000

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

When I run the patcher, I get an error that the file that it's meant to patch isn't the same as the file that I have. Tells me that maybe the file has been patched already, but I know for a fact that it hasn't since I even made an extra copy of it. Do some wings come with slighly different firmware? I edited the file by hand, too, but that message that the patcher gave me scared me out of using it....


ROM Version: 4.10.531.3 WWE
ROM Date: 03/15/07
Radio version: 02.83.90
Protocol version: 4.1.13.37
ExtROM version: 4.10.531.103


Same here

  • 0

#97
nvgear

nvgear

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:tmobile wing
just did PAUL's Amazing guide, followed step by step and used the patcher to replace step #4, happy to report my t-mobile wing is now functioning 110% :)

Good job man! you are a genius! this pagepool was a critical flaw in the wing...

i did everything under windows xp.... so i think it would be safer to not to do it in vista since everything worked flawlessly for me in xp, lol if someone can write a small program that automates this process, i believe many people would pay $10-$30 for it, earn a quick buck lol


ANYWAYS, THANKS PAUL!

Edited by nvgear, 27 July 2007 - 05:47 AM.

  • 0

#98
nvgear

nvgear

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:tmobile wing
you guys are such geniuses here, maybe you can help me with this:

has anyone notice that on the TMOBILE WING, if you TURN OFF ALL RADIOS (phone, bluetooth, wifi) at night when you goto sleep, battery at 100%, the next morning when you wake up the battery will be around 50-70%? ironically, if i leave my cellular radio on, the next morning the battery will be at 98% or 99% even 100%... does anyone know what is wrong? I've heard a few other users complain about this issue, if you don't believe me, give it a try tonight!

THANKS

  • 0

#99
carlosp_uk

carlosp_uk

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
Thank you Paul and everybody else - have just got myself an HTC touch (from an orange shop; their only one!) and my very first step was to decrease the Pagepool to 4Mb. Worked perfectly and now I have 51Mb of total Program RAM.

Incidentally, the models arriving at Orange Shops have:

ROM: 1.14.61.1 WWE


C

  • 0

#100
stinkeymole

stinkeymole

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Harrogate
  • Devices:MDA Vario
Hi Guys,

I have a HTC Touch in the post on the way to me as I type. I really wanted to try this trick on my new device as soon as it came through the door but I was scared I was going to brick it within the first 10mins of it's life! Soooo.............Ithought i'd have a little practice..........on my MDA Vario (Original T-mob WM5 rom) :P I wasn't to worried about it going wrong as I kinda new I could reflash back to the original rom again. Anyway guess what......? It worked! The default pagepool size on the vario is 12MB so I decided to change it to 6MB and after a succesful reflash and reset my program mem has now jumped from 25MB to 31MB! Testing for misbehaviour is underway but it seems OK!

Its amazing how much confidence a few beers can give you! Yes I did this half cut! :) I'll be sober when I try this with my new Touch though.

What a great trick Paul and thankyou for sharing it with us ;)

Much Love

C x

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users