Jump to content


Photo

HTC TyTN II Annoyances

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
421 replies to this topic

#21
dolbe666

dolbe666

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:Technology, Technology, Technology..... yes im a geek
  • Devices:HTC TYTN II, Qtek 9000
Has anyone noticed the battery getting hot while using HSDPA? mine got so hot it made my phone overheat and effect the screen to slow down and pixelate. it got so bad i ended up hard reseting it. even after a hard reset the pixelation continued. i had to leave it to cool down before it would work normally. ive put a support request in to HTC and waiting for a reply from a support agent. ive heard other reports of overheating batteries while using HSDPA but i dont think its got as bad as what happened to mine

  • 0

#22
evad

evad

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London (UK) / Zielona Góra (PL)
  • Devices:HTC Desire Z
  • Twitter:@adlorenz

Has anyone noticed the battery getting hot while using HSDPA? mine got so hot it made my phone overheat and effect the screen to slow down and pixelate. it got so bad i ended up hard reseting it. even after a hard reset the pixelation continued. i had to leave it to cool down before it would work normally. ive put a support request in to HTC and waiting for a reply from a support agent. ive heard other reports of overheating batteries while using HSDPA but i dont think its got as bad as what happened to mine


Yes, I've noticed quite hot battery while using 3G/HSDPA today. I was waiting for someone, and playing around on the internet for about 15-20 minutes, and battery got noticeably hot. I haven't, however, noticed 'pixelation' effect on the screen.

  • 0
Dawid 'evad' Lorenz

#23
AwJm

AwJm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Devices:D900 : HTC TyTN

Yes, I've noticed quite hot battery while using 3G/HSDPA today. I was waiting for someone, and playing around on the internet for about 15-20 minutes, and battery got noticeably hot. I haven't, however, noticed 'pixelation' effect on the screen.


Can yu say if it gets jsut as hott using Wi-Fi ?

  • 0

#24
Manni01

Manni01

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:MDA Vario III

I have never ever did such benchmark, so I'm not sure if it's good or bad, but guys on polish PDAclub.pl forum said these results are bad.


First of all, thank you so much Evad for running this ;) .

Re the results, they are pretty bad, especially for a recent QVGA device with a supposedly graphics coprocessor.

I'm coming from a 3 year old iPaq using an Intel Xscale at 624Mhz and an ATI chip (with a 3,8" VGA screen), which has been my faithful HQ video player over the last few years. I get around 300% at this resolution, and around 124% in full VGA. And that's with an HQ VGA file @ 1500k/s (the one you used is QVGA @ 650k/s).

For more comparisons with other devices, you can have a look here: http://blogs.shintak...cles/11359.aspx

I'm afraid that this (along with the QVGA 2.8" screen) confirms it's not really an option to watch proper VGA Divx on the Kaiser... That's what I expected (and one of the reasons why I bought a Sony TZ11!). I decided to go from PDA+Phone+Desktop replacement laptop+desktop to Kaiser+Ultraportable+desktop.

QVGA files should be almost ok though for those who are used to (and don't mind) lower resolution videos. I bit of stutter (95% of the required minimum speed), but probably watchable. I guess if you're happy to watch films in QVGA, you probably don't mind a bit of stutter.

Thanks again!

  • 0
MDA Vario III + Sandisc 8Gb SDHC

#25
kapot

kapot

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
My take:

The camera is super slow ;) From the moment you press the take shot button, the photo will be saved about 2 seconds later!

So, it is difficult (impossible) to capture moving object.

When you pan the camera, it will be jumpy and blurry, a lot.

However, it is good to take stand still object.

  • 0

#26
kathryncheng

kathryncheng

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:hw6915
to all,

has anyone notice that when you change position or sudden movement of tytn II the device seems to have a noticeable flicker or lines especially from ; -- the start taskbar is... can everyone look closely so i could find out if its normal or maybe i have a faulty unit.

thanks to all

  • 0

#27
Kagenryu

Kagenryu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Florida, USA
  • Devices:HP iPAQ 2215
My friend has a Sprint Mogul and his email, sms, etc. notification gets cut off when it goes into standby (ie the majority of the time the phone is in). For example, he uses the Super Mario One Up sound as his notification, and instead of sounding like "ba da ding!" it goes "ba da..." and then it does the "ding!" when you turn it on to look at the message. Anyone else have this problem with the TyTN II? I would think they would have worked this bug out but you never know...

--
Kage

  • 0

#28
Phil_UK

Phil_UK

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
Hi

to all,

has anyone notice that when you change position or sudden movement of tytn II the device seems to have a noticeable flicker or lines especially from ; -- the start taskbar is... can everyone look closely so i could find out if its normal or maybe i have a faulty unit.

thanks to all



This is normal and just the way the TFT display is refreshing, I see the same thing on my Tytn and see the same effect on my mobile phone as well, it is less/not noticable from front on I find. It's not an issue for me and is only there if look for it.

My friend has a Sprint Mogul and his email, sms, etc. notification gets cut off when it goes into standby (ie the majority of the time the phone is in). For example, he uses the Super Mario One Up sound as his notification, and instead of sounding like "ba da ding!" it goes "ba da..." and then it does the "ding!" when you turn it on to look at the message. Anyone else have this problem with the TyTN II? I would think they would have worked this bug out but you never know...


Seems to work fine with any sound file. I just tried it, sending a text message while it is standby sees it come to life and play the tune.

Regards

Phil

  • 0

#29
Kagenryu

Kagenryu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Florida, USA
  • Devices:HP iPAQ 2215

Hi

This is normal and just the way the TFT display is refreshing, I see the same thing on my Tytn and see the same effect on my mobile phone as well, it is less/not noticable from front on I find. It's not an issue for me and is only there if look for it.

Seems to work fine with any sound file. I just tried it, sending a text message while it is standby sees it come to life and play the tune.

Regards

Phil


Thanks Phil, that is good to know. :wub: Is there a delay in the OS when switching from Portrait to Landscape mode. On the Mogul it is significant, a second or two before it would rotate the display. ;)

--
Kage

  • 0

#30
Phil_UK

Phil_UK

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
Hi

Yes I would say it takes around a second to change around from portrait to landscape and vice versa.

Regards

Phil

  • 0

#31
Sonicr360

Sonicr360

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 459 posts
Cannot find Terminal Services installed - found a .cab file to use.... but thought it would have been there by default (Windows Mobile REmote Desktop).

Also, very concerned that I found GPRS/3G was continually connected..... even though I was not using it !!

Not sure if this can be turned off after some idle timeout ?

  • 0

#32
Tones@

Tones@

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts

First of all, thank you so much Evad for running this ;) .

Re the results, they are pretty bad, especially for a recent QVGA device with a supposedly graphics coprocessor.

I'm coming from a 3 year old iPaq using an Intel Xscale at 624Mhz and an ATI chip (with a 3,8" VGA screen), which has been my faithful HQ video player over the last few years. I get around 300% at this resolution, and around 124% in full VGA. And that's with an HQ VGA file @ 1500k/s (the one you used is QVGA @ 650k/s).

For more comparisons with other devices, you can have a look here: http://blogs.shintak...cles/11359.aspx

I'm afraid that this (along with the QVGA 2.8" screen) confirms it's not really an option to watch proper VGA Divx on the Kaiser... That's what I expected (and one of the reasons why I bought a Sony TZ11!). I decided to go from PDA+Phone+Desktop replacement laptop+desktop to Kaiser+Ultraportable+desktop.

QVGA files should be almost ok though for those who are used to (and don't mind) lower resolution videos. I bit of stutter (95% of the required minimum speed), but probably watchable. I guess if you're happy to watch films in QVGA, you probably don't mind a bit of stutter.

Thanks again!


I'm planning to watch a lot of video on the device, so this is a concern for me.

Hiw signifcant is this problem? Could it be the speed of the microSD card that the video is on that is affecting this?

Tony

  • 0

#33
MiniOrganMorgan

MiniOrganMorgan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Location:Dallas, Tx and Aberdeen, UK
  • Devices:HTC Tytn II
After a weekend with my new Tytn II, I've noted that the screen is very hard to read in direct sunlight compared with my old iPaq hw6515 and also the camera delay is extremely slow.

  • 0

#34
jjimenezjj

jjimenezjj

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:HTC Tytn II
Two major things:

1. Phone call ends and the screen goes into locked mode and is dimmed. Only way to get out of it is a reset.

2. When I slide open the device, the keyboard backlight comes on ;)... BUT if I dont use the keyboard for a while the backlight goes off. Normally, I would just press a button and it would "relight" again. After the second day, it wouldn't "relight" again when a button was pressed so I have to close and open again to "relight" :wub:

John J:)

  • 0

#35
AwJm

AwJm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Devices:D900 : HTC TyTN

Two major things:

1. Phone call ends and the screen goes into locked mode and is dimmed. Only way to get out of it is a reset.

2. When I slide open the device, the keyboard backlight comes on ;) ... BUT if I dont use the keyboard for a while the backlight goes off. Normally, I would just press a button and it would "relight" again. After the second day, it wouldn't "relight" again when a button was pressed so I have to close and open again to "relight" :D

John J:)


This sound like a defective uni t :wub:

  • 0

#36
Manni01

Manni01

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:MDA Vario III

I'm planning to watch a lot of video on the device, so this is a concern for me.

Hiw signifcant is this problem? Could it be the speed of the microSD card that the video is on that is affecting this?

Tony


It is quite significant if you plan to watch HQ encoded DivX (ie VGA @ 1500kb/s) and/or if, like me, you have a collection of hundreds of such files and can't be asked to re-encode them to fit the device, especially because you plan to watch them on a device with a proper resolution/screen size (ie VGA PDA, laptop, etc)...

It is less of a problem if you plan to encode files to fit the resolution/power of the device, as you can make them in such a way that they will conform to the power of the Kaiser in order to deliver smooth playback (ie around 600kb/s in QVGA). This can still provide a decent quality, especially on a qvga 2,8" screen (which wouldn't use a VGA resolution anyway). But don't expect to watch them on a laptop!

To get back to the poor video perf of the Kaiser, it could be SD related, which is why I was cheekily asking in another thread for a benchmark of the microSD card (r/w). There could be a bottleneck in the way the device reads/write to the card, or the card itself could be slow (although I don't think a microSD could be THAT slow, as it has to be recent and less than 650bk/s for data would be appalling). More likely it is the CPU/GPU, which is too slow to decode the video stream fast enough to keep up.

Edited by Manni01, 10 September 2007 - 06:33 AM.

  • 0
MDA Vario III + Sandisc 8Gb SDHC

#37
Phil_UK

Phil_UK

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
Hi

After a weekend with my new Tytn II, I've noted that the screen is very hard to read in direct sunlight compared with my old iPaq hw6515 and also the camera delay is extremely slow.


The Tytn 2 does not have a transreflective display (despite sites like Clove and Expensys saying it has), which means the brighter the daylight, the harder it will be to read. Transreflective displays which is what your iPaq has, will take bright external light and reflect it back to you through the display. With these displays you tend to find they look a bit metalic in bright light/sunlight because of this reflection but it is completely usable.

A pros/cons of these displays is here: http://www.pcworld.c...45/article.html

Regards

Phil

Edited by Phil_UK, 10 September 2007 - 08:40 AM.

  • 0

#38
SierraDelta

SierraDelta

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Brussels
  • Devices:HTC TyTN II

Two major things:

1. Phone call ends and the screen goes into locked mode and is dimmed. Only way to get out of it is a reset.

2. When I slide open the device, the keyboard backlight comes on ;) ... BUT if I dont use the keyboard for a while the backlight goes off. Normally, I would just press a button and it would "relight" again. After the second day, it wouldn't "relight" again when a button was pressed so I have to close and open again to "relight" :wub:

John J:)


1. Not correct - Off/On will do as well, but you know that already (saw your post in the other thread)

2. Go to Settings -> Buttons -> Backlight Tab and untick the auto backlight sensor optin, that'll do it.

Cheers,
Søren

  • 0
Cheers,
Søren

#39
Phil_UK

Phil_UK

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
Hi

Go to Settings -> Buttons -> Backlight Tab and untick the auto backlight sensor optin, that'll do it.


It's really odd and a shame they don't move the sensor upfront some; -- and also use it for adjusting the TFT brightness for ambient like conditions.

Regards

Phil

  • 0

#40
NuShrike

NuShrike

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 291 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:T-Mobile HD2/G2, Nexus 7

The Tytn 2 does not have a transreflective display (despite sites like Clove and Expensys saying it has), which means the brighter the daylight, the harder it will be to read.

Well this is a certainly a HUGE step down from the TyTN since that does have a transreflective display, albeit not a LED backlit display. Maybe we can do a screen swap with the TyTN?

Are you sure? Even the HTC literature says TFT LCD with LED backlight.

Edited by NuShrike, 10 September 2007 - 10:30 AM.

  • 0
KaiserSimFix: soft-reset-safe sim contacts hiding
CamerAware Buddy | HTCClassAction.org | KaiserGL SDK | LevelSight | FusionGPSFix
Support what I do and buy me a drink.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users