Jump to content


Photo

HTC TyTN II Annoyances

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
421 replies to this topic

#401
RayBanUK

RayBanUK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location:London
  • Devices:T-Mobile MDA Vario III
Couldn't be bothered to trawl through all the other pages but anyone find the 'automatic' slider (when in left hand) can clip/trap the skin on your palm? (bit under the thumb). Hahaha not much of an annoyance to be honest, just getting some use to as I hada Vario 1 before which slide out to the left and the Vario 3 slides to the right.

If there is one gripe I have with it, its the battery weighs the phone down somewhat, shame given its slimmer. I also have a problem with the speed but that might be due to the TMobile rom ;)

  • 0

#402
sameerabedi

sameerabedi

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Interests:HTC WM7 TomTom
  • Devices:HTC Touch HD
Hi all
Just upgraded to the HTC TyTn II on Orange, but can't get TomTom to work.
I've installed TTN6 from my SPV M3100 and set it to baud rate 4800, COM4 but it still doesn't pick up a signal.
Anyone able to help?

  • 0
Nokia 6110i / Nokia 6210i / Nokia 8310i / SPV Classic / SPV E200 / SPV C500 / SPV C600 / SPV M3100 / HTC Tytn II

Check out my blog

#403
pdaphonemaster

pdaphonemaster

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts

dunno if its just my unit? but external speaker is unusable, even on lowest setting its really crackly and vibrates, internal (ear) speaker is fine tho, bu ttrying to make a loudspeaker call is horrible!

also getting more lag switching to lanscape than my old vario!



I have exactly the same issue with mine. Whenever I use the speaker phone function, nearlly every sound comes out of it is crackly even at the lowest volume (although it cracks less at the lower volumes). However, I play a music on the speaker it sound OK even at the loudest volume. So, it may not be a hardware fault with the speker???

Is anyone having the same issue?

  • 0

#404
thejollyboys

thejollyboys

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
I have had this device for about two weeks now but cannot get exchange push email to work properly. The device is on Orange.

When the device is on it works fine I send email and it arrives in about 5 seconds.

However if the device is in standby the mail does not always arrive. I make sure the device has network coverage. Let the device go into standby, send a mail but it does not arrive.

I have spoken to HTC who say this is an issue they have had lots of calls over and to write to head office.

Does anyone have a work around or experienced this issue for themselves

  • 0

#405
hotphil

hotphil

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Location:Pertth
  • Devices:Wildfire
  • Twitter:@hotphil
Yep. I'd had my suspicions but have just tested it for myself - push emails don't come through if device is in standby. Oh dear. Didn't have this issue with my Wizard. And it's especially poor as all the Vodafone packaging for my Kaiser says "Mobile Email" in big letters on it - kind of a big bug if it doesn't receive DirectPush correctly!
I'm not even sure how I go about reporting it as it's a company-issued phone.
edit - i've just woken the device up and the mail is there, but it kinda defeats the point if it receives it but issues no notification...

Edited by hotphil, 07 November 2007 - 11:41 AM.

  • 0

#406
Phil Lee

Phil Lee

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sale, UK
  • Devices:iPhone 4S, iPad 3
  • Twitter:@philrlee
I have just tested it on my VIII. With the phone in standby I am notified with a sound when I receive a Push email sent to the inbox. No message is disaplayed on screen and the device does not come out of standby. I have some rules configured to direct messages from a mailing list to a sub-folder. I am not notified when I receive these emails.

  • 0

#407
jimbouk

jimbouk

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,721 posts
  • Location:London
  • Devices:HTC Diamond
Mine makes a sound or vibrates depending on profile when in standby and an email arrives. The screen doesn't wake up - but thats good as the device is usually in my pocket and I dont want it to be active.

  • 0
Touch HD runnign Dutty's latest rom

#408
Neil5459

Neil5459

    NeilM

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,485 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saffron Walden, Essex
  • Devices:HTC Titan, iPad 2 3G
  • Twitter:@Neilmell

edit - i've just woken the device up and the mail is there, but it kinda defeats the point if it receives it but issues no notification...


Probably stating the obvious but have you got the Sounds & Notifications/Notifications setting for Messaging: New Email Message set to play a sound, or flash the LED for a set time?

  • 0
NeilM: Site Moderator and Reviewer on SmartphoneGurus

Posted ImagePosted Image

Windows Mobile Specialist Certification


#409
dkindred

dkindred

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Location:Lowestoft
  • Devices:HTC TYTN II
Is there a way to stop the big clock opening the 'Clocks & Alarms' Settings menu? It drives me crazy! If it did nothing when tapped that would be good!

  • 0
Posted Image

#410
stigdu

stigdu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:Orange HTC Tytn II
Whenever I send an SMS message, I get a 'message sent' pop-up which is great, but then 1 second later, I get a text sent to my inbox from System Administrator saying "The message you sent to *********** has been delivered" which I don't like! Wish there was some way to disable this function... :D

  • 0

#411
hotphil

hotphil

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Location:Pertth
  • Devices:Wildfire
  • Twitter:@hotphil
You can turn that off.....

Go into your SMS inbox, Menu>Tools>Options>Tap SMS/MMS and uncheck "Request delivery notifications"

I think it's off by default, so you must've turned it on at some point....?

For me I far prefer it the other way round, I've removed the "Message Sent" pop-up via the registry tweak from the Wiki, and have the delivery notifications on. For me, I'd rather know a message has reached the intended handset(s) rather than simply made it into the networks.

Edited by hotphil, 21 April 2008 - 08:40 AM.

  • 0

#412
stigdu

stigdu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:Orange HTC Tytn II

You can turn that off.....

Go into your SMS inbox, Menu>Tools>Options>Tap SMS/MMS and uncheck "Request delivery notifications"

I think it's off by default, so you must've turned it on at some point....?

For me I far prefer it the other way round, I've removed the "Message Sent" pop-up via the registry tweak from the Wiki, and have the delivery notifications on. For me, I'd rather know a message has reached the intended handset(s) rather than simply made it into the networks.


Thanks mate!

  • 0

#413
Paulplex

Paulplex

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Location:Lyndhurst, Hampshire
  • Devices:Orange SPV M3100

Hi all
Just upgraded to the HTC TyTn II on Orange, but can't get TomTom to work.
I've installed TTN6 from my SPV M3100 and set it to baud rate 4800, COM4 but it still doesn't pick up a signal.
Anyone able to help?


COM4 is correct for the internal GPS but the baud rate you have specified isn't. When configuring TomTom, choose 'Other NMEA GPS Receiver', set the GPS baud rate to 19200 and select COM4 - should work just fine for you :D

  • 0

#414
stigdu

stigdu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:Orange HTC Tytn II

COM4 is correct for the internal GPS but the baud rate you have specified isn't. When configuring TomTom, choose 'Other NMEA GPS Receiver', set the GPS baud rate to 19200 and select COM4 - should work just fine for you :D


That's odd, because I've got it set to exactly how sameerabedi has, ie with baud rate set to 4800, and it works fine...

  • 0

#415
PK_

PK_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:Palm T2, SE K790a

That's odd, because I've got it set to exactly how sameerabedi has, ie with baud rate set to 4800, and it works fine...


My tomtom works with COM4/4800 too. I have been using this setting for months now.

  • 0

#416
Paulplex

Paulplex

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Location:Lyndhurst, Hampshire
  • Devices:Orange SPV M3100

My tomtom works with COM4/4800 too. I have been using this setting for months now.

I assume it works with both baud rates then :D

  • 0

#417
stigdu

stigdu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:Orange HTC Tytn II
Another annoying SMS thing....

Whenever I send an SMS message, the sent message goes to my 'inbox' rather than my 'sent items' box. Weird AND annoying!

  • 0

#418
VAs Hachi Roku

VAs Hachi Roku

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC TyTn II
Annoyances..

After sending a sms, I get a popup that says message has been sent, i can hit dismiss in the bottom left corner. I know its sent, I hit send... which that wouldnt happen.

Second annoyance is when recieving a new SMS, if I have a sound (which mine is semi long) I wish i could hit a button to chance it and also cancel the it when vibrating as well. Right now I dont have vibrating on because it vibrates as long as my sound which is damn annoying, most cell phone you can hit the End Call button to make it cancel the incoming call, vibrating, or sms sound.

Nice Feature to have:
When in the phone screen and the dialpad, it would be nice to be able to send an SMS, say it was the last person that called you and your in a meeting, a one click sms button would be nice from that screen.

  • 0

#419
hotphil

hotphil

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Location:Pertth
  • Devices:Wildfire
  • Twitter:@hotphil

After sending a sms, I get a popup that says message has been sent, i can hit dismiss in the bottom left corner. I know its sent, I hit send... which that wouldnt happen.

A fix for this (and some other bits are in the Kaiser Wiki (link at the top of this forum). It is indeed the most annoyingly pointless thing ever. It's not even as if "sent" means anything, it's no guarantee of delivery.

Nice Feature to have:
When in the phone screen and the dialpad, it would be nice to be able to send an SMS, say it was the last person that called you and your in a meeting, a one click sms button would be nice from that screen.

With you on that. I'd sacrifice the Video call button for that - I still don't know anyone who has actually ever made a video call other than to test the functionality.

  • 0

#420
scudo

scudo

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris
  • Devices:HTC TyTN II

With you on that. I'd sacrifice the Video call button for that - I still don't know anyone who has actually ever made a video call other than to test the functionality.


as a workaround, in call history if you long click to a caller, the context menu allow to send him a SMS. it is just 2 cicks more...

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users