Jump to content


Photo

HTC TyTN II Annoyances

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
421 replies to this topic

#41
SilentMike

SilentMike

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

It is quite significant if you plan to watch HQ encoded DivX (ie VGA @ 1500kb/s) and/or if, like me, you have a collection of hundreds of such files and can't be asked to re-encode them to fit the device, especially because you plan to watch them on a device with a proper resolution/screen size (ie VGA PDA, laptop, etc)...

It is less of a problem if you plan to encode files to fit the resolution/power of the device, as you can make them in such a way that they will conform to the power of the Kaiser in order to deliver smooth playback (ie around 600kb/s in QVGA). This can still provide a decent quality, especially on a qvga 2,8" screen (which wouldn't use a VGA resolution anyway). But don't expect to watch them on a laptop!


Has anyone benchmarked other video formats? While naturally most people would prefer to use DivX, I personally wouldn't mind recoding to MPEG (I'm not an expert with video formats but isn't MPEG compressed lighter than DivX - therefore less work for the processor + GPU?)

  • 0

#42
jjimenezjj

jjimenezjj

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:HTC Tytn II

1. Not correct - Off/On will do as well, but you know that already (saw your post in the other thread)

2. Go to Settings -> Buttons -> Backlight Tab and untick the auto backlight sensor optin, that'll do it.

Cheers,
Søren


1. Maybe im confused, isnt a "reset" turning the power completely off and then turning it back on again? That was the only way to solve my problem the FIRST time it happened... actually even that wouldn't work so I had to unlock the sim card door and then it shut off. After than, anytime it happened again, all I had to do was hit the power button until the screen went off and then hit it again to come back on and it was fixed :|

2. Thanks, that did it perfectly... im still kinda new at this (as you can tell). YAY!!!

John J:)

  • 0

#43
dolbe666

dolbe666

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:Technology, Technology, Technology..... yes im a geek
  • Devices:HTC TYTN II, Qtek 9000
Well mine is going back tomorrow as an RMA exchange as it was a faulty device, I'll be getting a new one sent out. the good people at devicewire.co.uk where very helpfull and very quick to issue my RMA. they even promiced a 3 day turnaround on the exchange so ill have a new TNTN II back in my hands thursay morning

Edited by dolbe666, 11 September 2007 - 03:45 AM.

  • 0

#44
AwJm

AwJm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Devices:D900 : HTC TyTN

Well mine is going back tomorrow as an RMA exchange as it was a faulty device, I'll be getting a new one sent out. the good people at devicewire.co.uk where very helpfull and very quick to issue my RMA. they even promiced a 3 day turnaround on the exchange so ill have a new TNTN II back in my hands thursay morning


What problems you had with it ?

  • 0

#45
Neil5459

Neil5459

    NeilM

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,485 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saffron Walden, Essex
  • Devices:HTC Titan, iPad 2 3G
  • Twitter:@Neilmell

Well this is a certainly a HUGE step down from the TyTN since that does have a transreflective display, albeit not a LED backlit display. Maybe we can do a screen swap with the TyTN?

Are you sure? Even the HTC literature says TFT LCD with LED backlight.


Transreflective and TFT are not the same thing- TFT means Thin Film Transistor.

Quote HTC: What type of screen do the devices have? Liquid Crystal Display (LCD) is the technology used for flat-panel displays on computers, Pocket PCs, and other devices. Thin Film Transistor (TFT) is an LCD panel that uses one transistor for each pixel (picture element). This design allows all Pocket PCs to offer a bright colour display that responds quickly and is energy efficient. Some models also have backlit "transflective" TFT displays for maximum visibility in low light.

But they don't specify which ones are transreflective!

  • 0
NeilM: Site Moderator and Reviewer on SmartphoneGurus

Posted ImagePosted Image

Windows Mobile Specialist Certification


#46
NuShrike

NuShrike

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 291 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:T-Mobile HD2/G2, Nexus 7

What problems you had with it ?

http://www.modaco.co...464#entry841464

  • 0
KaiserSimFix: soft-reset-safe sim contacts hiding
CamerAware Buddy | HTCClassAction.org | KaiserGL SDK | LevelSight | FusionGPSFix
Support what I do and buy me a drink.

#47
SierraDelta

SierraDelta

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Brussels
  • Devices:HTC TyTN II

1. Maybe im confused, isnt a "reset" turning the power completely off and then turning it back on again? .....


Sorry, I thought you meant a soft reset in the original post ;)

Nevertheless - this one definitely needs fixing!

Cheers,
Søren

  • 0
Cheers,
Søren

#48
NuShrike

NuShrike

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 291 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:T-Mobile HD2/G2, Nexus 7

Transreflective and TFT are not the same thing- TFT means Thin Film Transistor.

You're right. I got that confused, and partially only because the 8525 in my local Cingular store IS transreflective so I expected the same from the successor.

  • 0
KaiserSimFix: soft-reset-safe sim contacts hiding
CamerAware Buddy | HTCClassAction.org | KaiserGL SDK | LevelSight | FusionGPSFix
Support what I do and buy me a drink.

#49
evad

evad

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London (UK) / Zielona Góra (PL)
  • Devices:HTC Desire Z
  • Twitter:@adlorenz
I did another TCPMP benchmark, using GDI display driver:

TCPMP Version
Subtitle Edition
0.81RC1 Beta Benchmark Results

Average Speed				  134.88%
Video Frames				   3635
Audio Samples				  6703595
Amount of Data				 12020 KB

Bench. Time					1:52.293
Bench. Frame Rate			  32.37
Bench. Sample Rate			 59698
Bench. Data Rate			   877 kbit/s

Original Time				  2:31.459
Original Frame Rate			24.00
Original Sample Rate		   44100
Original Data Rate			 650 kbit/s

URL							\My Documents\RL_MQB_320x240_512_128.avi
Size						   12308480
Platform					   PocketPC
OS Version					 5.02
OEM Info					   Kaiser
Clock speed					395 Mhz
Video output				   GDI 240x320 16bits Lookup
Video zoom					 320x240 -> 240x320
Audio output				   Wave Output 44100Hz 16Bits 2Ch.

  • 0
Dawid 'evad' Lorenz

#50
david_g

david_g

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Nokia E90, HTC S710
I really like it especially the GPS sensitivity and more usable battery life (both poor on my otherwise excellent Nokia E90).
Annoyances:

- Keyboard slides out from the opposite side to the TyTN so the d-pad is now on the left rather than the right. I was so used to using my right thumb on the tyTn so now have to get used to it. This is minor though.
- Very hard to see the screen in daylight especially trying to see the unlock function. this is the biggest problem for me.
- Keyboard not quite as tactile as the TyTn but again, just a case of getting used to it.
- Still a bit big and heavy for jeans and a t-shirt but just bought a Nokia 6120 (slim S60) and installed Roadsync push email as my weekend or evening phone.

Overall, I really like the TyTN II and its my main device.

  • 0

#51
evad

evad

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London (UK) / Zielona Góra (PL)
  • Devices:HTC Desire Z
  • Twitter:@adlorenz

- Keyboard slides out from the opposite side to the TyTN so the d-pad is now on the left rather than the right. I was so used to using my right thumb on the tyTn so now have to get used to it. This is minor though.


Other issue with different keyboard slide is stylus - getting it out while keyboard opened is complete nightmare for right-handed people! :)

  • 0
Dawid 'evad' Lorenz

#52
dolbe666

dolbe666

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:Technology, Technology, Technology..... yes im a geek
  • Devices:HTC TYTN II, Qtek 9000

What problems you had with it ?



The phone was having problems when in IE it was turning the screen white then when I came out of IE it made the screen pixelated even after reboot and finally hard reset. The phone finally gave up the ghost yesterday and when I turn it on all I get is a white screen. I'm just waiting for citylink to pick it up now

  • 0

#53
Nick Le Lievre

Nick Le Lievre

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Jersey, Channel Islands
  • Devices:Tytn II
I have an annoyance with the phone, on 2 occasions now the phone has not responded when I pressed the power button and it requires a reset to get it back on again. Its happened twice so far since last Wednesday namely on Friday morning and then again yesterday afternoon. It can work fine for hours it appears to be an intermittent fault I don't think there is anything wrong with the phone its just the nature of PPCs. It annoys me becuase what if the phone rings while it is in this state will it turn on then? I don't think so - so I will miss calls. Has anyone else had this happen to them?

Edit: Make that 3 times it has happened as it just happened again... I let it switch itself off at my place no apps running and when I got to my mothers I tried to turn it on and nothing happened I had to reset. This is a major fault IMO and its bloody annoying.

Edited by Nick Le Lievre, 11 September 2007 - 11:41 AM.

  • 0

#54
Harry3GTech

Harry3GTech

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Greece
  • Devices:imate-JAMin,TyTN II

I did another TCPMP benchmark, using GDI display driver:

TCPMP Version
Subtitle Edition
0.81RC1 Beta Benchmark Results

Average Speed				  134.88%
Video Frames				   3635
Audio Samples				  6703595
Amount of Data				 12020 KB

Bench. Time					1:52.293
Bench. Frame Rate			  32.37
Bench. Sample Rate			 59698
Bench. Data Rate			   877 kbit/s

Original Time				  2:31.459
Original Frame Rate			24.00
Original Sample Rate		   44100
Original Data Rate			 650 kbit/s

URL							\My Documents\RL_MQB_320x240_512_128.avi
Size						   12308480
Platform					   PocketPC
OS Version					 5.02
OEM Info					   Kaiser
Clock speed					395 Mhz
Video output				   GDI 240x320 16bits Lookup
Video zoom					 320x240 -> 240x320
Audio output				   Wave Output 44100Hz 16Bits 2Ch.

Hi Evad,

Can you please share the link for the latest (beta) TCPMP?
The one I have (0.72 RC1) does not even get close to your benchmark!
Any chance of sharing with us the settings for this benchmark?

Thanks in advance

  • 0
** GSM - UMTS - LTE ** All Wireless World **

#55
dolbe666

dolbe666

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:Technology, Technology, Technology..... yes im a geek
  • Devices:HTC TYTN II, Qtek 9000

Hi Evad,

Can you please share the link for the latest (beta) TCPMP?
The one I have (0.72 RC1) does not even get close to your benchmark!
Any chance of sharing with us the settings for this benchmark?

Thanks in advance


I couldnt find the official download link but i had it on my pc so i uploaded it for you
http://rapidshare.co...WAVPack.AAC.rar

  • 0

#56
evad

evad

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London (UK) / Zielona Góra (PL)
  • Devices:HTC Desire Z
  • Twitter:@adlorenz

Any chance of sharing with us the settings for this benchmark?


Settings were quite default, just fired up TCPMP, loaded file and Benchmark. The only change I've made was choosing GDI driver instead of DirectDraw. That's it.

  • 0
Dawid 'evad' Lorenz

#57
jim.mason

jim.mason

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Location:Norwich
  • Interests:Snowboarding, Beer, Girlfriend and cats and dog
  • Devices:Omnia 7

Other issue with different keyboard slide is stylus - getting it out while keyboard opened is complete nightmare for right-handed people! ;)


Such a shame for you all, us lefties have had to put up with it for ages - now its your turn :wub:

  • 0
Jim
Omnia 7, HTC Hero, Touch HD, Kaiser, MDA Vario II with Black Satin,XDA Mini S, Qtek S110, C500, Motorla MPX 200, SPV Classic, Nokia 7210, 3210, 5110....


#58
mortenandersen

mortenandersen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts

Such a shame for you all, us lefties have had to put up with it for ages - now its your turn ;)


Another way of overcoming this "annoyance" is to make it habit to pull out the stylus BEFORE one slides the phone open, holding the phone in one's left hand, and then it is natural to use one's right hand. So in these ways, both lefties and righties can be satisfied?

Edited by mortenandersen, 11 September 2007 - 01:40 PM.

  • 0

#59
Reload65

Reload65

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
When I finish a call on the Kaiser the backlight goes off and stays off I cannot access the Start menu. I can access all other functions but backlight stays off and still cant get into the Start menu from anywhere. I have to press the power off button quickly once and then wait a second, press it again to be able to access the start button or the light to come on. This is definitely a bug in the tytn two and I hope HTC is doing something about this as it is very annoying.

  • 0

#60
evad

evad

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London (UK) / Zielona Góra (PL)
  • Devices:HTC Desire Z
  • Twitter:@adlorenz

When I finish a call on the Kaiser the backlight goes off and stays off I cannot access the Start menu. I can access all other functions but backlight stays off and still cant get into the Start menu from anywhere. I have to press the power off button quickly once and then wait a second, press it again to be able to access the start button or the light to come on. This is definitely a bug in the tytn two and I hope HTC is doing something about this as it is very annoying.


No such problems with my Kaiser. Maybe some specific application is causing such behavior? Try uninstalling some of them, and check - but the best test would be hard reset and check on 'clean' ROM. If problem still persists - get the warranty replacement.

  • 0
Dawid 'evad' Lorenz




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users