Jump to content


Photo

Questions about HP IPAQ 610

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
304 replies to this topic

#61
dirlan2001

dirlan2001

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamme
  • Devices:Blade+Tab+OT918D

Hi all!
I have been searching the net for a few weeks now about this phone.
This will be my first attempt to go into the PDA/SmartPhone world, and I must say I am little bit confused.
Right now, I am seriously considering the HP IPAQ 614c.
I am a "keyboard person" so I wouldn't go with a touch only phone (i.e. iPhone, HTC Touch etc).
The 614c specs look awesome, but the only thing that is not clear to me is the issue with the GPS.
How does this work on the 614c? Does it need some kind of third-party software to give you point-to-point directions, like a GPS navigation device? Does it have a GPS receiver built-in? Like the SIRFStar III ?
Could someone please explain the difference between the GPS and the A-GPS in regard to this specific phone?
In other words, can this phone work as a GPS navigation device out-of-the-box, without relying on being connected on a WiFi network?
Let's say you travel to a country in Europe, you don't have access to WiFi; how GPS will function on 614c?

I would appreciate any help, especially from peope who already have this phone.

Thank you so much.

Christos R.



Hi,

I'm using this phone now for 2 weeks (one of the first in Belgium if not the first). The built in GPS chipset is a 'normal' GPS with Assisted GPS included. A-GPS is used to enhance the speed of the first fix after booting. If you start up the phone (cold) you'll see a bleu led blinking for some minutes. That's the GPS looking around for 'his/her' location. That blinbking stops and the first impression is tored. As soon you open up you're navigationsoftware the GPS recalculates his/her position and gives almost 'at once' your current location.
There's NO navigationsoft included. You'll need to get TomTom 6 (the best IMHO) or Navigon 6.2 separatly and install it from you're computer via the USB connection.

As soon as you're software has a 'fix', A-GPS is not used anymore, unless you go through long tunnels (e.g the Swiss St. Gothard tunnel). The software relies on the built-in chip. I use TomTom, and AFAIK I've not been waiting for a fix more as 30 sec- 1 minute. Which is very fast, compared to my previous system with a BT-GPS SirF III, and means you'll have a fix before the software is up and running.

In all, I'm very pleased with this phone, except for the camera (see the posted pics). I don't have really tested the battery, because I use it mainly as navigational aid and have it plugged in the carcharger all day.

Cheers,

Dirk

  • 0


Alcatel OT918D Blaze (dual SIM)

Samsung Galaxy Tab (the original)

ZTE San Francisco Moldovan MHMP r6 + Solidchips Bootanimation


iPAQ
614c - WM 6.5_5.2.21501 AKU 5.0.70 WWE with minor tweaks (radio gone)

iPAQ hx4700 - WM 6.1_5.2.20764 AKU 1.1.1 WWE (layed to rest)


#62
Jacob B

Jacob B

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Ipaq 614

Hi ppl, is this device microSDHC (4-32 Gb) capable, or not?



Hi. 8 GB Sandisk tested. Working fine.

  • 0

#63
christosr

christosr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:D600

Hi,

I'm using this phone now for 2 weeks (one of the first in Belgium if not the first). The built in GPS chipset is a 'normal' GPS with Assisted GPS included. A-GPS is used to enhance the speed of the first fix after booting. If you start up the phone (cold) you'll see a bleu led blinking for some minutes. That's the GPS looking around for 'his/her' location. That blinbking stops and the first impression is tored. As soon you open up you're navigationsoftware the GPS recalculates his/her position and gives almost 'at once' your current location.
There's NO navigationsoft included. You'll need to get TomTom 6 (the best IMHO) or Navigon 6.2 separatly and install it from you're computer via the USB connection.

As soon as you're software has a 'fix', A-GPS is not used anymore, unless you go through long tunnels (e.g the Swiss St. Gothard tunnel). The software relies on the built-in chip. I use TomTom, and AFAIK I've not been waiting for a fix more as 30 sec- 1 minute. Which is very fast, compared to my previous system with a BT-GPS SirF III, and means you'll have a fix before the software is up and running.

In all, I'm very pleased with this phone, except for the camera (see the posted pics). I don't have really tested the battery, because I use it mainly as navigational aid and have it plugged in the carcharger all day.

Cheers,

Dirk



Hi Dirk
Thank you so much for this first-hand information.
It was very helpful!

In regard to the camera, I don't care much, since I barely take pics with a phone.

HP 614C has not yet arrived in Cyprus.... :-(
Do you recommend any reliable websites that I should start searching for?


Another Question to all (may sound naive...but I am a newbie...)
What kind of third-party software are available (for free - especially) for the Windows Mobile 6 Pro OS?
Any sites to recommend?

Thank you all

Christos R.

  • 0

#64
ROGUEx360

ROGUEx360

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reading, UK
  • Devices:iPAQ 614c
Now that these devices are out, and I have mine ordered from expansys (thanks to the MoDaCo voucher :D ), does anyone know where to buy and accessories specific to this phone?

I understand that it does not come with a case in the box, and I can't find any other cases apart from the 1 leather case offered at expansys.
In some HP documentation on the phone they mention a Silicone Skin case which I cannot find anywhere, and also their own Screen Protector.

If anyone knows where to buy those and other accessories in the UK that would be great.

Thanks for the great info here,
Darren.

  • 0

Current Phone: HP iPAQ 614c - latest HP ROM installed

Current Software: SPB Mobile Shell v2.0, SPB Pocket Plus v4.0.2, SPG GPRS Monitor v2.5.1, Apoxsoft Metrix v2.1.1, Immiersoft XCPUScalar v3.0.3, PHM Registry Editor v0.70, Corecodec Coreplayer Mobile v1.2.1, Opera Mobile 9.5, Picsel Browser 1.0.5, visualGPS CE v1.2, Vito Astronavigator v2.02, smart2go Maps, Tomtom Navigator 6, Google Maps.


Phone History:
Philips Diga, Philips Savvy, Nokia 3310, Panasonic GD67, Motorola MPx200, HTC Alpine (O2 XDA 2i), HP iPAQ 614c


#65
dirlan2001

dirlan2001

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamme
  • Devices:Blade+Tab+OT918D

Hi Dirk
Thank you so much for this first-hand information.
It was very helpful!

In regard to the camera, I don't care much, since I barely take pics with a phone.

HP 614C has not yet arrived in Cyprus.... :-(
Do you recommend any reliable websites that I should start searching for?


Another Question to all (may sound naive...but I am a newbie...)
What kind of third-party software are available (for free - especially) for the Windows Mobile 6 Pro OS?
Any sites to recommend?

Thank you all

Christos R.


Hi Christos,

I don't know any website in Cyprus. I got my information from http://www.pdashop.be and basic info also from http://pdadb.net/index.php?m=main ..... I also took a look at http://www.expansys.com

For the free apps I mostly look here : http://www.freewareppc.com/

Hope this helps you on the way.

Cheers,

Dirk

  • 0


Alcatel OT918D Blaze (dual SIM)

Samsung Galaxy Tab (the original)

ZTE San Francisco Moldovan MHMP r6 + Solidchips Bootanimation


iPAQ
614c - WM 6.5_5.2.21501 AKU 5.0.70 WWE with minor tweaks (radio gone)

iPAQ hx4700 - WM 6.1_5.2.20764 AKU 1.1.1 WWE (layed to rest)


#66
dirlan2001

dirlan2001

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamme
  • Devices:Blade+Tab+OT918D

Now that these devices are out, and I have mine ordered from expansys (thanks to the MoDaCo voucher :( ), does anyone know where to buy and accessories specific to this phone?

I understand that it does not come with a case in the box, and I can't find any other cases apart from the 1 leather case offered at expansys.
In some HP documentation on the phone they mention a Silicone Skin case which I cannot find anywhere, and also their own Screen Protector.

If anyone knows where to buy those and other accessories in the UK that would be great.

Thanks for the great info here,
Darren.


Hi Darren,

Maybe you should take a look at http://www.seidioonline.com/ . They have a special system for European customers. And if they don't have it, it doesn't exist :D


Cheers,

Dirk

  • 0


Alcatel OT918D Blaze (dual SIM)

Samsung Galaxy Tab (the original)

ZTE San Francisco Moldovan MHMP r6 + Solidchips Bootanimation


iPAQ
614c - WM 6.5_5.2.21501 AKU 5.0.70 WWE with minor tweaks (radio gone)

iPAQ hx4700 - WM 6.1_5.2.20764 AKU 1.1.1 WWE (layed to rest)


#67
ROGUEx360

ROGUEx360

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reading, UK
  • Devices:iPAQ 614c
Thanks for the link, unfortunately there is nothing there for the 614. Looks like apart from the two official HP cases, the leather and the silicone skin, there are no other cases for this phone yet. It's even more annoying as all the sites selling the HP official cases only seem to have them on pre-order, even though the phone itself has already been released.

Hopefully I'll find something soon,
cheers,
Darren

  • 0

Current Phone: HP iPAQ 614c - latest HP ROM installed

Current Software: SPB Mobile Shell v2.0, SPB Pocket Plus v4.0.2, SPG GPRS Monitor v2.5.1, Apoxsoft Metrix v2.1.1, Immiersoft XCPUScalar v3.0.3, PHM Registry Editor v0.70, Corecodec Coreplayer Mobile v1.2.1, Opera Mobile 9.5, Picsel Browser 1.0.5, visualGPS CE v1.2, Vito Astronavigator v2.02, smart2go Maps, Tomtom Navigator 6, Google Maps.


Phone History:
Philips Diga, Philips Savvy, Nokia 3310, Panasonic GD67, Motorola MPx200, HTC Alpine (O2 XDA 2i), HP iPAQ 614c


#68
theweasel68

theweasel68

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Vienna
  • Devices:HP iPaq 614c

GPS : first fix took some time, tested with VisualGPSce, Navio, TomTom 6 : rocksolid always 8-9 satelites in view and in use



Hi,
yesterday I downloaded the NAVIO software on my iPaq 614c, but I couldnt manage to run it. It simply doesnt work at all. Did you change something in the NAVIO settings, after you installed it? If I push "Start", I get an error message "Cannot open port!"

In the Hardware-settings, Com1 is set by default. I tried other Com settings, but either there comes the same error message, or nothing just happens after starting the application... :D

  • 0

#69
John_Silva

John_Silva

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:HP Ipaq 614c
Hello!

I have a Ipaq 614C and I have a problem. When i install the TomTom i can't conect to the GPS. In the HP asset's it appear GPS: Present but in the status appear disable.

Anyone can help me.

Thanks.

John

  • 0

#70
dirlan2001

dirlan2001

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamme
  • Devices:Blade+Tab+OT918D

Hi,
yesterday I downloaded the NAVIO software on my iPaq 614c, but I couldnt manage to run it. It simply doesnt work at all. Did you change something in the NAVIO settings, after you installed it? If I push "Start", I get an error message "Cannot open port!"

In the Hardware-settings, Com1 is set by default. I tried other Com settings, but either there comes the same error message, or nothing just happens after starting the application... :D



Hi,I hope this is readable. I'm writng from somewhere on the road onmy iPAQ. Check in Settings-System-GPS what com-port is asigned to software. Mine shows : software COM 6 ; hardware COM 8. Make shure your app connects to the softwareport (COM 6 ). Cheers,Dirk

  • 0


Alcatel OT918D Blaze (dual SIM)

Samsung Galaxy Tab (the original)

ZTE San Francisco Moldovan MHMP r6 + Solidchips Bootanimation


iPAQ
614c - WM 6.5_5.2.21501 AKU 5.0.70 WWE with minor tweaks (radio gone)

iPAQ hx4700 - WM 6.1_5.2.20764 AKU 1.1.1 WWE (layed to rest)


#71
dirlan2001

dirlan2001

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamme
  • Devices:Blade+Tab+OT918D

Hello!

I have a Ipaq 614C and I have a problem. When i install the TomTom i can't conect to the GPS. In the HP asset's it appear GPS: Present but in the status appear disable.

Anyone can help me.

Thanks.

John



Hi ,I guess it's the same issue as the previous post. Have you told TT to use the 'other NMEA GPS', and did you point it to the software port used by theGPS-applet in the system ?Cheers,Dirk

  • 0


Alcatel OT918D Blaze (dual SIM)

Samsung Galaxy Tab (the original)

ZTE San Francisco Moldovan MHMP r6 + Solidchips Bootanimation


iPAQ
614c - WM 6.5_5.2.21501 AKU 5.0.70 WWE with minor tweaks (radio gone)

iPAQ hx4700 - WM 6.1_5.2.20764 AKU 1.1.1 WWE (layed to rest)


#72
theweasel68

theweasel68

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Vienna
  • Devices:HP iPaq 614c

Hi,I hope this is readable. I'm writng from somewhere on the road onmy iPAQ. Check in Settings-System-GPS what com-port is asigned to software. Mine shows : software COM 6 ; hardware COM 8. Make shure your app connects to the softwareport (COM 6 ). Cheers,Dirk



Cheers mate, now it works! BTW, is your Google Maps working? Mine didnt work after I made the change in the settings, so I did following: in the settings: Software COM 8, Hardware COM 6 and in the NAVIO SW: COM 8 --> now my NAVIO as well as GOOGLE MAPS workd (Google Maps, seems to be using COM 8 but I couldnt find settings where to change this...

:D

  • 0

#73
unileeds

unileeds

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Anyone knows where I can find a indepth review of this phone. From all the websites I have seen (And their stock status), these are flying off the shelves (but you never know might be flying back as well). I am really inclined towards buying one, but I want to read a proper indepth review, things like batterylife, stability and performance!!! I know the info in this topic is quite good but anyone knows where a proper review (in English) is available??



Cheers

  • 0

#74
willyboy666

willyboy666

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
to unileeds i have been searching for 2 weeks for a in depth review from a guru for this device , at least couple of benchmark results .

the only thing i found these guys from http://www.tracyandmatt.co.uk/blogs/ promised a review.
they already made an unboxing video.


i wanna really upgrade from my asus p525 ,but as i see the 2 mpx camera of of asus p525 kills the 3 mpx camera of the hp (hope hp will fix there camera in some software update).battery life of asus p525 is the best in the ppc world ,so i dont expect hp will do better.
i like 128 mb ram and 256 rom and gps and the 2,8 inch screen ,the waw factor of the track wheel ipod style(i dunno how is it good in real functions).
i dont like camera,headset is usb no 2,5 or 3,5 ,micro sd in under the battery ,same size as p525(maximum size to carry around).

waiting and waiting for a good review....

PPC-DOC

  • 0

#75
unileeds

unileeds

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Tracey and Matt have a review on finallly!!! It seems very very very odd that the guys at HP didnt think of putting manual connectivity settings in the unit. Anyone know how bad this "once on 3g cannot return to GSM until soft reset" thing is...!! or if HP are working on a software mod for this.. I mean its gonna be a sinking rock if they dont!

  • 0

#76
Mark0824

Mark0824

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
I am not sure if someone has brought this up but a hrad reset can be done by turing the phone off. Then holding the voice command button and the power button.

I found this out not through HP but found a post on a HTC phone and gave it a try.

When you do this the words CLean Boot will appear in the upper righth corner of the HP start up screen. It takes about 1-2 minutes then the WMO screen pops up and it is time to calibrate the screen.

  • 0

#77
dirlan2001

dirlan2001

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamme
  • Devices:Blade+Tab+OT918D

Tracey and Matt have a review on finallly!!! It seems very very very odd that the guys at HP didnt think of putting manual connectivity settings in the unit. Anyone know how bad this "once on 3g cannot return to GSM until soft reset" thing is...!! or if HP are working on a software mod for this.. I mean its gonna be a sinking rock if they dont!



Never encountered this issue. AFAIK you can control the phone throughthe Connectionmanager : turn off the phone and then on again should do it. Cheers,Dirk

  • 0


Alcatel OT918D Blaze (dual SIM)

Samsung Galaxy Tab (the original)

ZTE San Francisco Moldovan MHMP r6 + Solidchips Bootanimation


iPAQ
614c - WM 6.5_5.2.21501 AKU 5.0.70 WWE with minor tweaks (radio gone)

iPAQ hx4700 - WM 6.1_5.2.20764 AKU 1.1.1 WWE (layed to rest)


#78
dirlan2001

dirlan2001

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamme
  • Devices:Blade+Tab+OT918D

Anyone knows where I can find a indepth review of this phone. From all the websites I have seen (And their stock status), these are flying off the shelves (but you never know might be flying back as well). I am really inclined towards buying one, but I want to read a proper indepth review, things like batterylife, stability and performance!!! I know the info in this topic is quite good but anyone knows where a proper review (in English) is available??



Cheers



Hi,Batterylife is good. Phone on and screen turned off, it uses about 2% of the power overnight. Surfing (this forum) via WiFi takes more power, say about 1% per minute. But the real powerdrain is the GPS. Noway to navigate for more then an hour, using TT6. System is very stable. In the three weeks I'm using this machine, I never had to softreset it due to malfunctioning. The few resets I did were needed after some reg-tweaking (pagefile etc...).Also on performance, I'm happy : GPS, GSM, SMS, AudioNotes, ...all systems functioning very well. No problem to make/receive a phonecall while navigating. TT6 resumes after hangup as if nothing happened.Only drawback I feel upset (i don't use strong language) about, is the camera. That's a real ********** (self-censored)...Cheers,Dirk

  • 0


Alcatel OT918D Blaze (dual SIM)

Samsung Galaxy Tab (the original)

ZTE San Francisco Moldovan MHMP r6 + Solidchips Bootanimation


iPAQ
614c - WM 6.5_5.2.21501 AKU 5.0.70 WWE with minor tweaks (radio gone)

iPAQ hx4700 - WM 6.1_5.2.20764 AKU 1.1.1 WWE (layed to rest)


#79
John_Silva

John_Silva

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:HP Ipaq 614c
Hello I solve the problem on my 614c with tomtom selecting other nema devices port 6.

Now if any one can help me I whant to now where can i find the Ipaq wireless program that apear in this image.

http://i.expansys.com/i/b/b156155.jpg

Thanks.

  • 0

#80
dirlan2001

dirlan2001

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamme
  • Devices:Blade+Tab+OT918D

Hello I solve the problem on my 614c with tomtom selecting other nema devices port 6.

Now if any one can help me I whant to now where can i find the Ipaq wireless program that apear in this image.

http://i.expansys.com/i/b/b156155.jpg

Thanks.



Dunno, guess it's some 'marketing enhanced pic' , just to show what the possibilities are...

Cheers,

Dirk

  • 0


Alcatel OT918D Blaze (dual SIM)

Samsung Galaxy Tab (the original)

ZTE San Francisco Moldovan MHMP r6 + Solidchips Bootanimation


iPAQ
614c - WM 6.5_5.2.21501 AKU 5.0.70 WWE with minor tweaks (radio gone)

iPAQ hx4700 - WM 6.1_5.2.20764 AKU 1.1.1 WWE (layed to rest)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users