Jump to content


Photo

Blackjack II Tips - POST HERE!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#21
kdar

kdar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Blackjack II
I would really like to figure out a way to get to the text message option quicker. As for right now I have to hit the message button, go to messages, hit menu, new, then down to text message. Is there any way to make those five steps into one?

In a completely unrelated topic, can I rearrange the main menu? I know you can change it from preset to preset but I'd like to be able to change the order.

  • 0

#22
YellowLTD

YellowLTD

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:BlackjackII

I would really like to figure out a way to get to the text message option quicker. As for right now I have to hit the message button, go to messages, hit menu, new, then down to text message. Is there any way to make those five steps into one?

In a completely unrelated topic, can I rearrange the main menu? I know you can change it from preset to preset but I'd like to be able to change the order.


If I want to create a new text message, I go to contacts, find the contact I want to send the message to, press right or left on the D-pad until it says "txt" to the right of the contact (it will scroll through all available numbers, "h", "w", "m", etc. then "txt"), then I press the center button on the D-pad. If that person is in your list of recently called #s, you can do the same thing from that list instead of the contacts list. Either way, you save two steps.

I got nothin' for your other question. I would like to do the same, but I'll probably just end up changing the theme.

  • 0

#23
Nottach

Nottach

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Devices:i617

In a completely unrelated topic, can I rearrange the main menu? I know you can change it from preset to preset but I'd like to be able to change the order.


Not difficult to reorder the start menu. Simple registry edit HKLM>Software>Microsoft>Shell>Start Menu .

  • 0

#24
neckutter1

neckutter1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern CA USA
  • Interests:Computers, Phones, computerphones, scary movies and scary music.<br /><br />Oh yeah and I like Seinfeld.
  • Devices:Blackjack II

Hi, I went through this and it worked, too well. Can someone post the path to the Bluetooth on/off toggle? I deleted that one as well, and would like to add it back. Thanks!

Victor



fn + B toggles bluetooth

Edited by neckutter1, 16 March 2008 - 03:45 AM.

  • 0

#25
Chad B.

Chad B.

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Devices:BlackJack 2

In a completely unrelated topic, can I rearrange the main menu? I know you can change it from preset to preset but I'd like to be able to change the order.


The easiest way I found to customize the Start Menu is the use this...no registry editing here!
Attached File  JeyoPersonalizer.1.0.cab   164KB   463 downloads
Cheers!
Chad

  • 0

#26
jf1020

jf1020

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
download a program called "SMS Bubbles" It will show u the incoming txt message on the screen without having to push any buttons.

try it out - i love it.

I would really like to figure out a way to get to the text message option quicker. As for right now I have to hit the message button, go to messages, hit menu, new, then down to text message. Is there any way to make those five steps into one?

In a completely unrelated topic, can I rearrange the main menu? I know you can change it from preset to preset but I'd like to be able to change the order.


  • 0

#27
kdar

kdar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Blackjack II

Not difficult to reorder the start menu. Simple registry edit HKLM>Software>Microsoft>Shell>Start Menu .



I know how to adjust the start menu, I need help with the desktop menu. I'd like to be able to save icons on the top and maybe get rid of some of the options that I don't need.

  • 0

#28
kdar

kdar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Blackjack II
Thanks for your help everyone. I'm now using SMS Bubbles and I found a few sources that you might find useful for editing your home screen. It's actually pretty easy to move things around and change the colors. It will take me a while to perfect it though.

http://i607.org/wiki...id=home_screens

http://www.modaco.co...-for-beginners/

  • 0

#29
Nottach

Nottach

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Devices:i617

I know how to adjust the start menu, I need help with the desktop menu. I'd like to be able to save icons on the top and maybe get rid of some of the options that I don't need.


Do you mean the HomeScreen? A good HomeScreen editor is Ruttensoft Homescreen Designer 2007.

  • 0

#30
pPCp

pPCp

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts

It seems that you can't record phone calls on the BJ2...anyone know of any programs?


If you don't use any applications from resco.net yet you will. http://www.resco.net...one/default.asp They have one you are looking for called Audio Recorder that does more than just record your phone calls.

I would recommend you do what I did which is to get the Resco Media SmartPack. The Explorer 2007 is awesome and includes a great registry editor for making enabling these tips and tricks.

  • 0

#31
pPCp

pPCp

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts

Hi, I went through this and it worked, too well. Can someone post the path to the Bluetooth on/off toggle? I deleted that one as well, and would like to add it back. Thanks!

Victor

\Windows\BlueToothOnOff.exe

If you have Resco file explorer on your phone it finds stuff like that no matter where it might be hidden. In this case it was a snap.

  • 0

#32
thelostsoul

thelostsoul

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Devices:Samsung i617

If you don't use any applications from resco.net yet you will. http://www.resco.net...one/default.asp They have one you are looking for called Audio Recorder that does more than just record your phone calls.

I would recommend you do what I did which is to get the Resco Media SmartPack. The Explorer 2007 is awesome and includes a great registry editor for making enabling these tips and tricks.


Are you sure this works for you? Whenever I try to record phone calls on my phone, no matter which program I've used, they've been unable to record the other side of the conversation. It only records what I say.

  • 0

#33
JeepinCalifornia

JeepinCalifornia

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Location:California
  • Devices:i1617 (BJII)
The "tips" below are not terribly ground breaking, but I've read different posts and reviews on the net suggesting that the BJII doesn't have T9 text input; and, that they can't listen to music via WMP while also using other applications. I'm not a guy who reads the manual unless he has to, so when I found these options I was pleased... :D This also, especially because I read "professional reviews" that also suggest that there is no T9 on the BJII.

-For T9 text (now that I've gotten used to the Qwerty, as opposed to the T9 on the ol' Razr!): Settings, More, Key Settings, Text Input...there we go.

-Windows Media Player: open the player, Menu, Options, Playback...uncheck the box "Pause Playback while using another program."

-Also (possibly old new-news?): there is now an offical Calendar Patch that takes care of the Samung Calendar Homescreen - which fixes the Leap Year (extra day) issue. I've seen a few different patches on various forums but member feedback has been touchy, suggesting that different patches out there have different bugs. So...I checked the Samsung site and they have an offical patch which seems to be working for me without the side effects of other patches out there: http://www.samsung.c.....II (SGH-i617)

Edited by JeepinCalifornia, 22 March 2008 - 04:45 PM.

  • 0

#34
Chris LT250R

Chris LT250R

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:BlackJack II

The "tips" below are not terribly ground breaking, but I've read different posts and reviews on the net suggesting that the BJII doesn't have T9 text input; and, that they can't listen to music via WMP while also using other applications. I'm not a guy who reads the manual unless he has to, so when I found these options I was pleased... :D This also, especially because I read "professional reviews" that also suggest that there is no T9 on the BJII.

-For T9 text (now that I've gotten used to the Qwerty, as opposed to the T9 on the ol' Razr!): Settings, More, Key Settings, Text Input...there we go.

-Windows Media Player: open the player, Menu, Options, Playback...uncheck the box "Pause Playback while using another program."

-Also (possibly old new-news?): there is now an offical Calendar Patch that takes care of the Samung Calendar Homescreen - which fixes the Leap Year (extra day) issue. I've seen a few different patches on various forums but member feedback has been touchy, suggesting that different patches out there have different bugs. So...I checked the Samsung site and they have an offical patch which seems to be working for me without the side effects of other patches out there: http://www.samsung.c.....II (SGH-i617)


I have something new for someone to figure out... The Caller ID picture that comes up with the contact info when recieving phone calls is very SMALL.. Does anyone know how to make this bigger like the iphones caller id (takes up most of the screen).

  • 0

#35
pakigurl321

pakigurl321

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:black jack 2

Just copy them into the ApplicationData\Sounds folder.




are u sure putting it in the applicationdata works?

  • 0

#36
z_phantm

z_phantm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

I have something new for someone to figure out... The Caller ID picture that comes up with the contact info when recieving phone calls is very SMALL.. Does anyone know how to make this bigger like the iphones caller id (takes up most of the screen).


i agree. i want to enlarge the caller id photo also. another thing is there a way to use animated gif or video caller id?

  • 0

#37
z_phantm

z_phantm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

are u sure putting it in the applicationdata works?


yes copying mp3 files to ApplicationData\Sounds folder makes it available to use for alarms, text messaging, and other tones.

  • 0

#38
wingslayer

wingslayer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:blackjack2
I am looking for fizz weather, could anyone hook me up i would appreciate it. Second i bought Garmin xt on sd card and was wanting to copy it for my wife but it appears its locked, is there a thread on a way to get around this? thanks for any help

  • 0

#39
Montais

Montais

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:dopod c720w
Some more tips. :D
To make right soft key on Home screen dynamic- example when get new SMS will change to Message-Miss call receive will change to call history
Delete this reg key at
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Home
DisableMRE = 1

Change cleartype of IE
HKLM/software/microsoft/windows/currentversion/Internet Setting
ClearTypeText = 1

  • 0

#40
zalooa

zalooa

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

I would really like to figure out a way to get to the text message option quicker. As for right now I have to hit the message button, go to messages, hit menu, new, then down to text message. Is there any way to make those five steps into one?

In a completely unrelated topic, can I rearrange the main menu? I know you can change it from preset to preset but I'd like to be able to change the order.


Hey kdar
If you know how to edit XML code for your homescreen. I am aware of making it just one click away where you click on the SMS button and it takes you to your inbox if you dont want to use sms bubbles which seems cooler than this.









this one is different then the code you have if you look for the code for the unread sms area you will notice differences.Right now because in your code the plugin is for name="smscount" and the code above is name="msgcount2"

This is the annoying problem that causes you to go to the Mail folder rather than the SMS folder immediately.


...

As for customizing the SMS ringtones for free as a tip youll need a Registry editor i use (http://www.breaksoft...try_Editor.aspx)

its free and easy to use.
The first place you need to navigate to is
HKCU\ControlPanel\Sounds
In this area double click the ALLSOUNDS name
Its going to open up a multiword editor here is the tricky part
add the name of the file you want to add
so if you want a song to be your ringtone change the name of the song to 1.mp3 or 1.wav depending on the type of file you want inside it also supports wma file extensions
Anyway once you change the name of the song, then add the exact same name to that area in the registry editor above. Put it at the end to be safe and of course backup your registry first just to be safe too. Once this is done you need to add the file to the windows directory
Open activesync and press the explore button
navigate to \Windows and just drop the 1.wav or 1.mp3 file there
Now to use the actual sound
Go to Start menut -> settings -> Sounds
now for all the sound notifications there you can add your 1.wav or 1.mp3 file its going to be name "1" only in this example tutorial
I recommend using smaller files the better for these devices. But I have tried full mp3s and no problems. I am sure there are programs that do this whole thing too...Or an easier method but I fiddled with this until i got my sms sounds to go off in a certain way. So let me know if it didnt work. Laters :D

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users