Connecting to a wireless LAN

Guest elDeeJay

Guest elDeeJay

My Phone keeps prompting me for the WPA-PSk TKIP encryption key. I enter this on the device, and i know its correct, but it tries to connect for a minute or so then pops up telling me it was unable to connect.

All other devices (e.g. Laptops) are working fine, so its definitely not a network issue.

Any ideas how to diagnose the problem?

Thanks

Guest johnyysmith

PDA noob here and I have the same problem. My ATT does not hold connection to a netgear DG834Gv3 router. The router is being used as a hub on home network. Other pc's connect ok Any advice welcome. I have tried using all the different security settings. At the moment it is set to wpa2-psk and failing to connect with unavailable or connecting showing continually. Only time it remains connected for any time is if I use the less secure WEP setting. It says available until I try to connect and then it shows as unavailable

Could it be because the device as a US model but the router is setup for European?

Any advice please?

Edited by johnyysmith

Guest hotphil

I've had trouble with this in the past. I just locked the router down to accept only approved MAC addresses and ignored encryption. Both can be too easily broken anyway so I decided not to worry.

Guest elDeeJay

Hmm...not really an option to me, not least becuase I want the security set as high as possible, but also I will connect to another network or two where i dont have control over the encryyption etc.

Guest Lidberg

Have you tried WPA-PSK? My Tilt works fine when connecting to both my Linksys WRT54G (with DD-WRT firmware) and Cisco 871W. I think I remember seeing somewhere that some WM6 devices had troubles with WPA2.

@hotphil - MAC filtering is, by far, the weakest way to secure your wireless network. You might as well leave it wide open. Yes, WEP is easily crackable, but WPA and WPA2 are not. I use a combination of MAC filtering and WPA-PSK with no troubles at all.