Jump to content


Photo

Watching iPlayer tv from BBC

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1
farkah

farkah

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:tytn II
Hi there,

recently they announced that you can view bbc content on linux, mac etc as they have a flash based streaming solution now in place.

I can't seem to get this to work on my kaiser.

Is there a trick to getting flash to work under pocket IE?

Cheers.

  • 0

#2
andrewkeith5

andrewkeith5

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Location:Oxfordshire
  • Devices:Vario III, Nokia 5300

Hi there,

recently they announced that you can view bbc content on linux, mac etc as they have a flash based streaming solution now in place.

I can't seem to get this to work on my kaiser.

Is there a trick to getting flash to work under pocket IE?

Cheers.



iPlayer, like 4od, does not use flash. It uses windows media, and is only available for use on full computers. You will not be able to view iPlayer or 4od content on a mobile device unless you illegally remove the digital rights management.

So basically you can only run it on Windows XP, Windows Vista, Mac OS X, or Linux and NOT mobile versions of these unless you craftily break the law

This is a limitation placed by the program producers, not the BBC/other network themselves.

Oh, and you still need a TV licence too afaik

Edited by andrewkeith5, 19 December 2007 - 02:55 PM.

  • 0
Aston University 2008/9 - Marketing - WOO :D

HTC Kaiser (T-Mo MDA V3 branded) - TLR 6.1 ROM, 2GB MicroSD, iGo 8 on a 515MB MicroSD, T-Mobile FlexT 25 + Web 'n' Walk Standard
Acer Aspire Gemstone Blue 6920G - Intel Core 2 Duo T5750 2GHz, 3GB PC2-6400, 200GB HDD, ATi Radeon HD3650 512MB, Dolby Virtual Surround + True5.1 Output, Blu-Ray, HDMI, Fingerprint Recognition, Windows Vista Ultimate SP1, Office 2007 Pro Plus with Onenote 2007

I know what I'm doing, I'm just not doing it :)

#3
nuttyphilt

nuttyphilt

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Devices:iPhone 3GS 32GB, T-Mo Pulse

iPlayer, like 4od, does not use flash. It uses windows media, and is only available for use on full computers. You will not be able to view iPlayer or 4od content no a mobile device unless you illegally remove the digital rights management.

This is a limitation placed by the program producers, not the BBC/other network themselves.

Oh, and you still need a TV licence too afaik


I think you'll find that if you go on to the BBC iPlayer website now, they've put up a streaming solution which uses an in-browser Flash player.

  • 0

#4
andrewkeith5

andrewkeith5

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Location:Oxfordshire
  • Devices:Vario III, Nokia 5300
point taken

about friggin time. their crummy library software never EVER worked for me so its nice to see them use something useful

in taht case shouldnt the youtube hack thing work?

  • 0
Aston University 2008/9 - Marketing - WOO :D

HTC Kaiser (T-Mo MDA V3 branded) - TLR 6.1 ROM, 2GB MicroSD, iGo 8 on a 515MB MicroSD, T-Mobile FlexT 25 + Web 'n' Walk Standard
Acer Aspire Gemstone Blue 6920G - Intel Core 2 Duo T5750 2GHz, 3GB PC2-6400, 200GB HDD, ATi Radeon HD3650 512MB, Dolby Virtual Surround + True5.1 Output, Blu-Ray, HDMI, Fingerprint Recognition, Windows Vista Ultimate SP1, Office 2007 Pro Plus with Onenote 2007

I know what I'm doing, I'm just not doing it :)

#5
Boinng

Boinng

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Devices:Iphone 3G, Tytn II
Did anyone ever figure this out? Is there a way to (legitimately) watch Iplayer shows on our kaisers? I'm sure it's technically possible, and Iphone users have their own special version, so what about us?

  • 0

#6
~Rob

~Rob

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Devices:M3100
There's iPlayer on the wii now (Wii has Flash 7 IIRC) and iPlayer on PC's is not browser specific. Therefore I think there must be a way as youtube works on the Diamond so flash must be present

  • 0

#7
jimbouk

jimbouk

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,721 posts
  • Location:London
  • Devices:HTC Diamond
They are working on a WM client.

  • 0
Touch HD runnign Dutty's latest rom

#8
MikeWard1701

MikeWard1701

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Location:Kingston upon Hull
  • Devices:HTC Touch HD

Oh, and you still need a TV licence too afaik


You don't actually. You only need a TV licence if you are watching or recording a program whilst it is being broadcast. Since iPlayer (in its current form) is an on-demaind service, it's not broadcast, you request the data (this applies to both downloads and in-browser). The exception to this are items such as the BBC News channels which stream LIVE as it is (near)simultaniously broadcast over terrestrial/cable/satellite.

http://iplayerhelp.e...layer/tvlicence
http://iplayerhelp.e...r/simul_license

Also of interest;
http://en.wikipedia...._United_Kingdom
http://www.tvlicensing.co.uk/

Hope that helps, as a lot of people are confused about when you do and do not need a TV licence.

Edited by MikeWard1701, 08 November 2008 - 05:26 AM.

  • 0

M I K E  W A R D
1 7 0 1

Current: iPhone 4
Previous; HTC Touch HD | T-Mobile MDA Vario II (HTC TyTN/Hermes) | T-Mobile MDA Compact (HTC Magician) | HP iPAQ 2210 | Psion 5mx | 3com Palm IIIe | Psion 3c | Psion Siena | SonyEricsson T610 | Samsung SGH-T1000 | Ericsson T10 | Motorola StarTAC | Motorola ?


#9
WearTheFoxHat

WearTheFoxHat

    I've gone all droid!

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Right Here, Right Now!
  • Devices:Nexus 5, Moto XOOM 3G
  • Twitter:@TomJJarvis
Interestingly though Mike, the terms and conditions on the new TV licenses cover you for "mobile devices capable of receiving TV programmes via broadcast or broadband" ... or words to that effect.

Seems they are expanding the coverage of the TV license.

  • 0
Orange regrets to inform you that their network will be going down in 1 hours time for all users apart from yourself. This is because nothing would go down on you, not even a network!

#10
theboxman

theboxman

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Herm,Diamond,Desire,Sensation
Doubt it.

If you read the appropriate act of parliament a device which is powered 'soley by it's own means' is perfectly entitled to watch live tv without a license PROVIDED your home address or parental home has a license (that's to say a student can use his parents license. They're probably simply making this explicit rather than requiring you to go and look at the underlying law. (probably with eventual view to misleading and intimidating which is something the TV licensing folks are very keen to do to poor Joe Public - for example you DON'T need to let the TV license people in to inspect your home. They have no power to do so. If you let them in you're doing it VOLINTARILY. Furthermore, they can't get a warrent unless hey have grounds to suspect you have a tv running in there *and* not letting them in is usually not enough for a court to let them in. Also ever bought a TV from asda? They try to get you to register your purchase with the DVLA and WILL NOT SELL YOU IT otherwise. They tell you this is a legal requirement. It's not. Read the small print (or just know the relevant laws) Trying to talk asda out of this is impossible. I'd reccomend just writing a fake address. It's not illegal. They've got no right to demand this information from you and are just trying to make their job easier re having 'reason to suspect you have a tv in there')....The bullies at the TV licensing people who send those of us who don't have TVs (from time to time I don't) threatening letters, pester us, and treat us like criminals really irritate me.

So students you can happily stream from a mobile device with impunity (provided you're NOT charging it at the same time as it's nolonger powered 'soley by it's own means'). Same applies to hand-held tvs.

Hope that clarifies matters.

  • 0

#11
hateus

hateus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Kaiser/ Tytn 2

Hi there,

recently they announced that you can view bbc content on linux, mac etc as they have a flash based streaming solution now in place.

I can't seem to get this to work on my kaiser.

Is there a trick to getting flash to work under pocket IE?

Cheers.


I watch BBC Iplayer with my kaiser using skyfire. http://get.skyfire.com/

  • 0

#12
FryWalker

FryWalker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
If you want to try another approach - the myPlayer app provides quick and easy access to the BBC iPlayer content (designed specifically for the Kaiser, but works on any QVGA or wide QVGA windows mobile device).

http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=501131

-Fry

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users